Junior Rugby Focus: Clonmel and Bandon celebrate

Clonmel and Bandon were last night celebrating memorable Munster club title successes.

Clonmel claimed the Provincial Junior Clubs Cup for the first time after a 28-15 win over Cobh Pirates at Fermoy. The winners led 13-7 at half-time with tries from Ronan Crosse, Luke Hogan and Alex Sheehan. Conor Cooney kicked three penalties and two conversions. Eoin Geary and Conor Farrell replied with tries for Cobh and Greg Higgins kicked a conversion and a penalty.

Bandon defeated Mallow 20-5 in the Shield decider at Tanner Park. Tries from Sean Óg Murphy and Conor Pullan along with two conversions and a penalty by Richard Walsh had Bandon 17-0 ahead at half-time. Jack Murphy extended Bandon’s advantage with a penalty while Michael Flynn replied with a try for Mallow.

In the Munster Junior Cup, Garryowen defeated last year’s runners up Clanwilliam 13-8 at Dooradoyle. A John Richardson try and a penalty by Niall Leahy had Clan 8-6 ahead at the interval. Fionn McGibney kicked two penalties for the hosts. An Alex Griffin try converted by McGibney saw Garryowen advance.

Two late tries — a penalty try and one from Michael Vaughan — helped Young Munster secure a 24-13 home win over Newcastle West. David O’Mahony and Kolio Hifo were Munster’s other try scorers and Hifo added two conversions. James Kelly replied with a try for the visitors. Sean Herlihy kicked a conversion and two penalties.

Highfield survived a scare as they led Waterpark 22-0 before the home side rallied in the second half. Highfield held on 27-24. Niall O’Brien, Tim Clifford, Mark Cunningham and David O’Sullivan were try scorers for Highfield and Clifford hit two conversions and a penalty. David Pierce, Richard Halley and John Lillis replied with tries for Waterpark and Lillis added three conversions and a penalty.

Cashel edged Thomond 13-9 with a try from Andrew Wallace and a conversion and two penalties by Brian Silke. Dean Cronin replied with three penalties for the home side.

Presentation defeated Midleton at Rathuard 23-6 with tries from Shane O’Brien, Alan Daly and Dave Clancy. O’Brien hit two penalties and a conversion. St Mary’s were the biggest winners of the day defeating Killarney 44-5. Paul Loughran scored two tries for the Saints and John McNamara, Matthew Hickey, Sean Markham, Sean Lyons, Robin Gallagher and Devlin Price got one each. Lyons kicked two conversions and Brian O’Sullivan replied with a try for the Kerry side. Kinsale were pushed all the way by a gallant Fethard side before emerging 5-0 winners thanks to a try by Pat O’Regan.

In the Munster Junior Plate, Charleville beat Douglas 20-14 with tries from Shane Corkery, Sean O’Connor and Willy O’Sullivan. Corker kicked a conversion and a penalty. Eoin Philpott and Rob O’Donovan replied with tries for Douglas, Philpott converting. Youghal beat Fermoy 21-10 with two Joey Lawlor tries and one by Sean Brosnan. Keith McCarthy converted all three, Peter Skuse replied with a try and conversion for Fermoy and Michael Sweeney a penalty.

More in this section

CourtsRugbyPlace: FermoyPlace: Tanner ParkPlace: DooradoylePlace: RathuardPerson: ClonmelPerson: BandonPerson: Ronan CrossePerson: Luke HoganPerson: Alex SheehanPerson: Conor CooneyPerson: Eoin GearyPerson: Conor FarrellPerson: Greg HigginsPerson: Sean Óg MurphyPerson: Conor PullanPerson: Richard WalshPerson: Jack MurphyPerson: Michael FlynnPerson: MallowPerson: GarryowenPerson: John RichardsonPerson: Niall LeahyPerson: Fionn McGibneyPerson: Alex GriffinPerson: McGibneyPerson: Michael VaughanPerson: David O’MahonyPerson: Kolio HifoPerson: HifoPerson: James KellyPerson: Sean HerlihyPerson: Niall O’BrienPerson: Tim CliffordPerson: Mark CunninghamPerson: David O’SullivanPerson: CliffordPerson: David PiercePerson: Richard HalleyPerson: John LillisPerson: LillisPerson: Andrew WallacePerson: Brian SilkePerson: Dean CroninPerson: Shane O’BrienPerson: Alan DalyPerson: Dave ClancyPerson: O’BrienPerson: KillarneyPerson: Paul loughranPerson: John McNamaraPerson: Matthew HickeyPerson: Sean MarkhamPerson: Seán LyonsPerson: Robin GallagherPerson: Devlin PricePerson: LyonsPerson: Brian O’SullivanPerson: Pat O’ReganPerson: Shane CorkeryPerson: Seán O’ConnorPerson: Willy O’SullivanPerson: CorkerPerson: Eoin PhilpottPerson: Rob O’DonovanPerson: DouglasPerson: PhilpottPerson: YoughalPerson: FermoyPerson: Joey LawlorPerson: Sean BrosnanPerson: Keith McCarthyPerson: Peter SkusePerson: Michael SweeneyEvent: MunsterEvent: Provincial Junior Clubs CupEvent: Munster Junior CupEvent: Munster Junior PlateOrganisation: ClonmelOrganisation: Cobh PiratesOrganisation: CobhOrganisation: ClanwilliamOrganisation: Young MunsterOrganisation: Newcastle WestOrganisation: MunsterOrganisation: HighfieldOrganisation: WaterparkOrganisation: CashelOrganisation: ThomondOrganisation: MidletonOrganisation: St Mary’sOrganisation: SaintsOrganisation: KerryOrganisation: FethardOrganisation: CharlevilleOrganisation: Douglas

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up

Select your favourite newsletters and get the best of Irish Examiner delivered to your inbox