Uncapped Jack Coonan and Nathan White get the nod from Joe Schmidt

Jack Coonan, the highly-promising Leinster back-row forward and Connacht prop Nathan White, are the only uncapped players in the extended 46-strong Ireland squad announced yesterday by head coach Joe Schmidt. 

Uncapped Jack Coonan and Nathan White get the nod from Joe Schmidt

Schmidt has opted for such a large group so as to cover the requirements of both the Ireland Wolfhounds-England Saxons game at Musgrave Park on Friday next, January 30, and the RBS Six Nations Championship which opens with the visit to Rome on February 7.

One of the most encouraging aspects of the squad is the inclusion after a long period of inactivity through injury of leading players like Sean O’Brien, Cian Healy, Fergus McFadden, Iain Henderson, Marty Moore, Rhys Ruddock, Keith Earls, Dave Kearney and Jonny Sexton. Some of these players, most notably Sexton and also O’Brien, Healy, Henderson and Ruddock, are unlikely to be considered for the Italian game before hopefully becoming available for the clash with France at the Aviva Stadium on February 14.

On the debit side, several others are staying with their provinces to continue rehabilitation from various knocks. They include Munster’s Rob Copeland and David Kilcoyne; Luke Marshall and Andrew Trimble of Ulster and Leinster flanker Dominic Ryan.

Schmidt doesn’t foresee any likelihood of seeing Ulster quartet Chris Henry, Paddy Jackson, Stuart Olding and Dan Tuohy any time soon. While there are no obvious omissions from the squad, Tadhg Furlong, the promising Leinster tight head prop from Wexford, and Andrew Conway and Duncan Casey, who have enjoyed a good season on the wing and at hooker for Munster, have grounds for a reasonable degree of disappointment.


Forwards (25): M Bent (Leinster), R Best (Banbridge/Ulster), J Conan (Old Belvedere/Leinster),* S Cronin (St. Mary’s College/Leinster), J Cronin (Dolphin/Munster) R Diack (Malone/Ulster) D Foley (UL Bohemians/Munster) C Healy (Clontarf/Leinster), J Heaslip (Dublin University/Leinster), I Henderson (Ballynahinch/Ulster), R Herring (Ballynahinch/Ulster), M McCarthy (Leinster), J McGrath (St. Mary’s College/Leinster), M Moore (Lansdowne/Leinster), J Murphy (Lansdowne/Leinster), S O’Brien (UCD/Leinster), P O’Connell (Young Munster/Munster), T O’Donnell (UL Bohemians/Munster), P O’Mahony (Cork Constitution/Munster), M Ross (Clontarf/Leinster), R Ruddock (St Mary’s College/Leinster), D Ryan (Lansdowne/Leinster), R Strauss (Old Wesley/Leinster), D Toner (Lansdowne/Leinster), N White (Galwegians/Connacht).*

Backs (21): I Boss (Terenure/Leinster), T Bowe (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster), D Cave (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster), G D’Arcy (Lansdowne/Leinster), K Earls (Young Munster/Munster), L Fitzgerald (Blackrock College/Leinster), C Gilroy (Dungannon/Ulster), R Henshaw (Buccaneers/Connacht), F Jones (Shannon/Munster), D Kearney (Lansdowne/Leinster), R Kearney (UCD/Leinster), I Keatley (Young Munster/Munster), I Madigan (Blackrock College/Leinster), K Marmion (Corinthians/Connacht), F McFadden (Old Belvedere/Leinster), C Murray (Garryowen/Munster), J Payne (Ulster), E Reddan (Lansdowne/Leinster), N Reid (Clontarf/Leinster), J Sexton (Racing Metro 92), S Zebo (Cork Con/Munster).

*Denotes uncapped player

More in this section

CourtsRugbyPlace: Musgrave ParkPlace: RomePlace: Aviva StadiumPerson: Jack CoonanPerson: Nathan WhitePerson: Joe SchmidtPerson: SchmidtPerson: Sean O’BrienPerson: Cian HealyPerson: Fergus McFaddenPerson: Iain HendersonPerson: Marty MoorePerson: Rhys RuddockPerson: Keith EarlsPerson: Dave KearneyPerson: Jonny SextonPerson: SextonPerson: O’BrienPerson: HealyPerson: HendersonPerson: RuddockPerson: Rob CopelandPerson: David KilcoynePerson: Luke MarshallPerson: Andrew TrimblePerson: Dominic RyanPerson: Chris HenryPerson: Paddy JacksonPerson: Stuart OldingPerson: Dan TuohyPerson: Tadhg FurlongPerson: Andrew ConwayPerson: Duncan CaseyPerson: M BentPerson: R BestPerson: J ConanPerson: S CroninPerson: J CroninPerson: R DiackPerson: D FoleyPerson: C HealyPerson: J HeaslipPerson: I HendersonPerson: R HerringPerson: M McCarthyPerson: J McGrathPerson: M MoorePerson: J MurphyPerson: S O’BrienPerson: P O’ConnellPerson: T O’DonnellPerson: P O’MahonyPerson: M RossPerson: R RuddockPerson: D RyanPerson: R StraussPerson: D TonerPerson: N WhitePerson: I BossPerson: T BowePerson: D CavePerson: G D’ArcyPerson: K EarlsPerson: L FitzgeraldPerson: C GilroyPerson: R HenshawPerson: F JonesPerson: D KearneyPerson: R KearneyPerson: I KeatleyPerson: K MarmionPerson: F McFaddenPerson: C MurrayPerson: J PaynePerson: E ReddanPerson: N ReidPerson: J SextonPerson: ZeboEvent: RBS Six Nations ChampionshipOrganisation: LeinsterOrganisation: ConnachtOrganisation: IrelandOrganisation: Ireland WolfhoundsOrganisation: England SaxonsOrganisation: FranceOrganisation: MunsterOrganisation: UlsterOrganisation: WexfordOrganisation: BanbridgeOrganisation: Old BelvedereOrganisation: St. Mary’s CollegeOrganisation: DolphinOrganisation: UL BohemiansOrganisation: ClontarfOrganisation: Dublin UniversityOrganisation: BallynahinchOrganisation: LansdowneOrganisation: UCDOrganisation: Young MunsterOrganisation: Cork ConstitutionOrganisation: St Mary’s CollegeOrganisation: Old WesleyOrganisation: GalwegiansOrganisation: TerenureOrganisation: Belfast HarlequinsOrganisation: Blackrock CollegeOrganisation: DungannonOrganisation: BuccaneersOrganisation: ShannonOrganisation: CorinthiansOrganisation: GarryowenOrganisation: Racing Metro 92Organisation: Cork Con

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up

Select your favourite newsletters and get the best of Irish Examiner delivered to your inbox