Clinical Leinster overpower Munster

U19 Interprovincials: Leinster were clinical defeating Munster (19-10) in Saturday’s U19 Interprovincial Championship at Templeville Road.

Centre Con Callan, number eight Max Deegan and prop Eoin O’Neill moved Leinster 19-3 clear. Munster’s try came from replacement hooker Vincent O’Brien. Ulster enjoyed a bonus-point 24-17 win over Connacht.

Leinster scorers : (M Deegan, C Callan, E O’Neill try each; A Hughes 2 cons).

Munster scorers: (V O’Brien try; P Downes pen, con).

LEINSTER: A Hughes (Clongowes); M Byrne (Terenure), C Callan (St Gerard’s), M Gilsenan (St Michael’s), H Keenan (Blackrock); J O’Brien (Newbridge), N Peters (Gonzaga); V Abdaladze (Coolmine), J Molony (Clongowes), A Coyle (Naas), M Melia (Terenure), J Ryan (St Michael’s, cpt), W Connors (Clongowes), D Aspil (High School), M Deegan (St Michael’s).

Replacements: H Kean (Blackrock) for Molony, A Feeney (Suttonians) for Peters, M Bursey (King’s Hospital) for Aspil all 53; D Poff (Wesley) for O’Brien 60; E O’Neill (St Michael’s) for Coyle 61 mins; J O’Sullivan (Castleknock) for Connors, E Byrne (Gonzaga) both 66.

MUNSTER: J O’Connor (Tralee); B Fanning (Bruff), T Cronin (Bantry), R Horgan (Rockwell, capt), J White (Clonakilty); P Downes (Bruff), J Poland (PBC, Cork); Philip Poilet (UL Bohemian), S Felton (Ardscoil Ris), B Betts (Young Munster), J Barnes (Tralee), S O’Connor (Rockwell), R Murphy (Castletroy), D Walsh (CBC, Cork), K Brown (Shannon).

Replacements: V O’ Brien (CBC, Cork) for Felton, P Staff (Young Munster) for Barnes, P O’Keeffe (Kanturk) for Cronin all 55 mins; S Hickey (Cobh) for Brown 66 mins; D Jennings (Clonakilty) for Betts, P Meyer (St Munchin’s) for Poilet, R Cunningham (Old Crescent) for Poland G O’Sullivan (Crescent) for O’Connor all 68.

Referee: O Quinn, IRFU.

More in this section

courtsrugbyleinstermunsteru19place: templeville roadperson: max deeganperson: eoin o’neillperson: vincent o’brienperson: m deeganperson: c callanperson: e o’neillperson: a hughesperson: o’brienperson: p downesperson: hughesperson: m byrneperson: m gilsenanperson: h keenanperson: j o’brienperson: n petersperson: v abdaladzeperson: j molonyperson: a coyleperson: naasperson: m meliaperson: terenureperson: j ryanperson: w connorsperson: d aspilperson: h keanperson: molonyperson: a feeneyperson: suttoniansperson: petersperson: m burseyperson: aspilperson: d poffperson: wesleyperson: coyleperson: j o’sullivanperson: connorsperson: e byrneperson: j o’connorperson: traleeperson: b fanningperson: bruffperson: t croninperson: bantryperson: r horganperson: rockwellperson: j whiteperson: clonakiltyperson: j polandperson: philip poiletperson: s feltonperson: b bettsperson: j barnesperson: s o’connorperson: r murphyperson: d walshperson: k brownperson: shannonperson: v o’ brienperson: pperson: barnesperson: p o’keeffeperson: kanturkperson: croninperson: s hickeyperson: brownperson: d jenningsperson: bettsperson: p meyerperson: poiletperson: r cunninghamperson: g o’sullivanperson: o’connorperson: o quinnevent: u19 interprovincial championshiporganisation: leinsterorganisation: munster u19 interprovincialsorganisation: munsterorganisation: ulsterorganisation: connachtorganisation: clongowesorganisation: terenureorganisation: st gerard’sorganisation: st michael’sorganisation: blackrockorganisation: newbridgeorganisation: gonzagaorganisation: coolmineorganisation: castleknockorganisation: corkorganisation: ul bohemianorganisation: ardscoil rísorganisation: young munsterorganisation: castletroyorganisation: cbcorganisation: cobhorganisation: st munchinorganisation: crescentorganisation: irfu

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up

Discover the

Install our free app today

Available on


Have the Irish Examiner delivered to your door. No delivery charge. Just pay the cover price.


Select your favourite newsletters and get the best of Irish Examiner delivered to your inbox