Payne paves way for Ulster

Leinster 7 Ulster 10

Payne paves way for Ulster

A second-minute try from the impressive Jared Payne helped to provide the visitors with a solid early foundation, and Ulster defence coach Jonny Bell felt the game was exactly what was required ahead of a tricky Pro12 opener away to Scarlets.

“It was a great exercise. A great exercise for both teams. Two pretty strong sides starting up, and then it was a bit of a mix and match towards the end. From our perspective, we have the utmost respect for Leinster,” Bell remarked.

Ulster hit the ground running when Payne squeezed through in the right-corner after full-back Louis Ludik had fallen just short of the Leinster line. A superb touchline conversion by Ian Humphreys (who has returned to the province for a second spell) created further daylight between the teams, and although Leinster made some positive breaks into enemy territory, a 31st minute penalty from the former London Irish No 10 helped Ulster to develop a 10-0 interval buffer.

The introduction of several fresh legs added impetus to the Leinster play, though, and just eight minutes after the restart, hooker Bryan Byrne drove over. A flawless bonus kick from Ian Madigan subsequently threw down the gauntlet to Ulster.

Scorers for Leinster: B Byrne try, I Madigan con.

Scorers for Ulster: J Payne try, I Humphreys pen, con.

LEINSTER: Z Kirchner; F McFadden, B Macken, S Crosbie, D Fanning; J Gopperth, L McGrath; C Healy, B Byrne, M Ross; K McLaughlin, M McCarthy; J Conan, S Jennings, S O’Brien.

Replacements: D Leavy for O’Brien (18-22 & 49), C Kelleher for Kirchner, M McGrath for Macken, S Coghlan-Murray for Fanning, I Madigan for Gopperth, I Boss for L McGrath, M Bent for Healy, T Denton for Conan (all h-t), B Marshall for McCarthy (46), T Furlong for Ross (52), T Daly for McFadden, T Moran for Byrne, J Van Der Flier for Jennings (all 59), G Thornbury for Leavy (64).

ULSTER: L Ludik; M Allen, J Payne, S Olding, C Gilroy; I Humphreys, P Marshall; A Warwick, R Herring, W Herbst; D Tuohy, F van der Merwe; R Diack, S Reidy, R Wilson.

Replacements: R Scholes for Allen (18-26), D Fitzpatrick for Herbst (36), Scholes for Olding (38), R Andrew for Ludik, R Murphy for Warwick, N Williams for Wilson (all h-t), S O’Hagan for Humphreys (49), J Stockdale for Scholes, A O’Connor for van der Merwe (both 52), C Ross for Reidy (55), J Andrew for Herring, N McComb for Tuohy (both 64), M Heaney for Marshall, C Black for Murphy, B Ross for Fitzpatrick, L Stevenson for O’Connor (all 67), Ludik for Payne (70), M McComish for Diack, C Joyce for C Ross (both 71), K McCall for Williams (74).

Referee: G Clancy (IRFU).

More in this section

CourtsRugbyPlace: TallaghtPerson: PaynePerson: Jared PaynePerson: Jonny BellPerson: BellPerson: Louis LudikPerson: Ian HumphreysPerson: Bryan ByrnePerson: Ian MadiganPerson: BPerson: J PaynePerson: Z KirchnerPerson: F McFaddenPerson: S CrosbiePerson: D FanningPerson: J GopperthPerson: L McGrathPerson: C HealyPerson: B ByrnePerson: M RossPerson: K McLaughlinPerson: M McCarthyPerson: J ConanPerson: S JenningsPerson: S O’BrienPerson: D LeavyPerson: O’BrienPerson: KirchnerPerson: MPerson: MackenPerson: SPerson: Coghlan-MurrayPerson: FanningPerson: I MadiganPerson: GopperthPerson: bossPerson: M BentPerson: HealyPerson: T DentonPerson: ConanPerson: B MarshallPerson: McCarthyPerson: T FurlongPerson: RossPerson: T DalyPerson: McFaddenPerson: T MoranPerson: ByrnePerson: J van der FlierPerson: JenningsPerson: G ThornburyPerson: LeavyPerson: L LudikPerson: M AllenPerson: S OldingPerson: C GilroyPerson: I HumphreysPerson: P MarshallPerson: WarwickPerson: R HerringPerson: W HerbstPerson: D TuohyPerson: F van der MerwePerson: R DiackPerson: S ReidyPerson: R WilsonPerson: R ScholesPerson: AllenPerson: D FitzpatrickPerson: HerbstPerson: ScholesPerson: OldingPerson: R AndrewPerson: LudikPerson: R MurphyPerson: N WilliamsPerson: WilsonPerson: S O’HaganPerson: HumphreysPerson: J StockdalePerson: A O’ConnorPerson: Van der MerwePerson: C RossPerson: ReidyPerson: J AndrewPerson: HerringPerson: N McCombPerson: TuohyPerson: M HeaneyPerson: MarshallPerson: C BlackPerson: MurphyPerson: B RossPerson: FitzpatrickPerson: L StevensonPerson: O’ConnorPerson: M McComishPerson: DiackPerson: C JoycePerson: K McCallPerson: WilliamsPerson: G ClancyEvent: PRO12Organisation: UlsterOrganisation: LeinsterOrganisation: IRFU

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up

Select your favourite newsletters and get the best of Irish Examiner delivered to your inbox