Jackson kicks Ulster to victory


Jackson kicks Ulster to victory

The match was won for Ulster by the tight five, supreme in set-piece play and whose work garnered penalty awards converted into points by out-half Paddy Jackson.

From the kick-off Ulster were under pressure as Edinburgh advanced towards the visitors’ line but it came to nought as Scotland’s newest cap, Doug Fife was bundled into touch five metres short.

Then when Ulster were penalised for not rolling away after the tackle, Edinburgh outside half Carl Bezuidenhot thumped over a huge penalty goal from just inside his own half for a 3-0 lead.

Ulster were fortunate not to forfeit another three points after a spear tackle by Ian Henderson resulted in the lock being shown a yellow card but this time Bezuidenhot was just short with his second long-range effort.

The reprieve seemed to spur on Ulster, who gained a penalty award from a rolling maul, allowing Paddy Jackson to level the scores at 3-3 with a perfect goal effort.

Jackson’s skills from the tee were again evident after the outside half claimed a further three points, punishing Edinburgh’s front row for standing up in a scrum. The out-half, almost completed a hat-trick in five minutes but it went wide, leaving Ulster 6-3 ahead at the break.

Five minutes into the second half Edinburgh were penalised at a scrum collapse and Jackson made no mistake with the penalty, Ulster came close to adding further points but Jackson’s drop goal edged wide but the Irish province ran out worthy winners.

Edinburgh scorers: Pens: Bezuidenhout. Ulster scorers: Pens: P. Jackson 3.

EDINBURGH: Cuthbert, Fife, Beard, Strauss, Brown, Bezuidenhout, Hart, Dickinson, Ford, Nel, Gilchrist, van der Westhuizen, Coman, Grant, Du Preez.

Replacements: De Luca for Fife (41), Kennedy for Beard (77), Leonard for Brown (69), Leonardi for Coman (55).

ULSTER: Payne, Bowe, Cave, L. Marshall, Gilroy, P. Jackson, Heaney, Court, Herring, Afoa, Muller, Henderson, Ferris, Doyle, Wilson.

Replacements: P. Marshall for Heaney (62), R. Lutton for Afoa (77), Diack for Ferris (42), Tuohy for Doyle (62), Williams for Wilson (59).

Referee: John Lacey (Ireland).

Pro12: Ospreys 34 Cardiff 9

More in this section


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up

Select your favourite newsletters and get the best of Irish Examiner delivered to your inbox