Munsters dish out derby mauling

Shannon 3 Young Munster 36

Munsters dish out derby mauling

It was an interesting debut in the black and amber jersey for Dom Lespierre, who has joined from Perth in Australia. He earned himself a yellow card in the first half but more than atoned with a superbly taken try on 62 minutes that put his side 19-3 ahead.

Far from satisfied with that a couple of superbly taken late tries produced an astonishing scoreline.

It was something of a disaster for Shannon who were suffering one of their biggest ever defeats in the competition. Little went right for them on the night and the loss of Marcus Horan with a facial injury midway through the first half didn’t help their cause.

Munsters were vastly superior throughout, even if it took them until the stroke of half time to make their supremacy count.

In fairness, their best efforts were frustrated by the frequent heavy showers and as a result the scoring was confined to a Brian Haugh penalty and Gareth Quinn-McDonogh drop goal for Munsters against a lone penalty for Shannon by Ben Sargent.

The game really came to life in the 37th minute when a melee involving most of the 30 players broke out in front of the West Stand and when order was finally restored, international referee George Clancy dispatched Munsters winger Lespierre and Shannon No 8 Mike Essex to the sin bin.

A break by No 8 Neville Melbourne created the space for centre Mark Doyle to take on the stretched Shannon defence and he scorched around them on the outside to cross for a smashing try to send his side in 11-3 at the break.

Munsters remained the dominant side and Haugh knocked over a couple of penalties and Lespierre’s try doubled their lead before the kind of maul for which Shannon were once famous led to a try for Ger Flaherty which Haugh converted.

They duly clinched the bonus point on the stroke of time when Doyle raced over for his second try, Haugh adding the points to complete the rout.

SHANNON: R Mullane; C O’Neill, B Smith, W O’Connor, M Darcy; B Sargent, R Guerin; M Horan, D Casey, K Griffin, J Sheerin, D Heffernan, J Murphy, J S Shine, M Essex.

Rolling replacements: G McNamara, D Fitzgerald, F Walsh, M Culhane, D Turner.

YOUNG MUNSTER: C O’Hanlon; D Lespierre, M Doyle, L Kuntz, D O’Neill; G Quinn-McDonagh, B Haugh; G Flaherty, G Slattery, D Cantillon, S Duggan, D Gallagher, C Liston, L Russell, N Melbourne.

Rolling replacements: M Madden, G Burke, H McGrath, P Fitzgerald, M Prendergast.

Referee: G Clancy (IRFU).

* A minute’s silence was observed before kick-off as a mark of respect to Noel Clohessy, father of former Young Munster players Peter, Ger and Des.

More in this section


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up

Select your favourite newsletters and get the best of Irish Examiner delivered to your inbox