Trimble and Ferris back for Ulster

Ireland duo Andrew Trimble and Stephen Ferris have been included in Ulster’s 28 man squad to face Ospreys in the RaboDirect PRO12 on Saturday (Liberty Stadium, 6.30pm).

Trimble was part of the international squad that toured New Zealand in June, while Ferris hasn’t played since the Heineken Cup final defeat in May.

Rory Best and Chris Henry are still unavailable because of the IRFU’s player management scheme but are expected to make a return in the coming weeks.

Roger Wilson (hamstring) and Paddy Wallace (shoulder) will make a come back in October, but Adam D’Arcy and Ali Birch should be available in the next week or two. Nevin Spence has returned to full training after injury but will not be considered for this weekend.

Meanwhile the Munster U18 Schools side get their interpro campaign underway this afternoon against Connacht (Musgrave Park, 2.30pm).

ULSTER (Forwards): R Herring, N Annett, N Brady, A Macklin, D Fitzpatrick, C Black, T Court, J Afoa, L Stevenson, N McComb, J Muller, M McComish, S Ferris, R Diack, S Doyle, N Williams.

Backs: P Marshall, M Heaney, N O’Connor, P Jackson, L Marshall, C Farrell, D Cave, M Allen, C Gilroy, A Trimble, P Nelson, J Payne.

MUNSTER: B Riley (Rockwell College); C Blake (Crescent Comprehensive), J Boland (Glenstal Abbey), B Kilkenny (St. Munchin’s), D St Ledger (PBC); M Carey (PBC), S McCarthy (PBC); L O’Connor (Christian Brothers College), S McNulty (Rockwell College), L O’Halloran (St. Munchin’s College); M O’Donnell (Crescent Comprehensive), L McMahon (Crescent Comprehensive); D O’Connell (Rockwell College), F Bradshaw Ryan (Ard Scoil Ris), D Lane (PBC).

Replacements: Ed Barry (Crescent Comprehensive), G Lyons (Crescent Comprehensive), C Flanagan (PBC), Steve McMahon (Rockwell College), E O’Keeffe (St. Munchin’s College), T Quinlan (Christian Brothers College), R Deegan (Ard Scoil Ris), JJ O’Neill (Crescent Comprehensive), G O’Shea (Crescent Comprehensive), A Moynihan (Rockwell College), S Fitzgerald (Ard Scoil Ris)

CONNACHT: C Evans (St Joseph’s Patrician College, Galway); F Stoneman (Coláiste Éinde, Galway), C Lowndes (Coláiste Iognáid, Galway), D Corcoran (Rice College, Westport), P Glavey (Glenstal Abbey); S Tobin (Rice College, Westport), J Mitchell (St Joseph’s Patrician College, Galway); C Kyne (Coláiste Chroí Mhuire. Spiddal), P O’Toole (Sancta Maria College, Louisburgh), C Hansbury (Calasanctius College, Oranmore); A Broderick (St Joseph’s Patrician College, Galway), P Claffey (Portumna CS); E Galvin (Marist College, Athlone), K Hastings (Scoil Muire agus Padraig, Swinford), J Codyre (Garbally College, Ballinasloe).

Replacements: C Gavin (Cistercian College Roscrea), C Joyce (St Joseph’s Patrician College, Galway), C Laheen (Holy Rosary College, Mountbellew), R Murphy (Ballinrobe CS), M Kelly (Cistercian College Roscrea), C Keane (Presentation College, Headford), S Doyle (Moate CS), H Hughes (Marist College, Athlone), S Dempsey (Marist College, Athlone).

More in this section

courtsrugbyplace: liberty stadiumplace: new zealandplace: musgrave parkplace: louisburghplace: ballinasloeperson: trimbleperson: ferrisperson: andrew trimbleperson: stephen ferrisperson: rory bestperson: chris henryperson: roger wilsonperson: paddy wallaceperson: adam d’arcyperson: ali birchperson: nevin spenceperson: r herringperson: n annettperson: n bradyperson: a macklinperson: d fitzpatrickperson: c blackperson: t courtperson: j afoaperson: l stevensonperson: n mccombperson: j mullerperson: m mccomishperson: s ferrisperson: r diackperson: s doyleperson: n williamsperson: p marshallperson: m heaneyperson: n o’connorperson: p jacksonperson: l marshallperson: c farrellperson: d caveperson: m allenperson: c gilroyperson: a trimbleperson: p nelsonperson: j payneperson: b rileyperson: c blakeperson: j bolandperson: b kilkennyperson: d st ledgerperson: m careyperson: s mccarthyperson: l o’connorperson: s mcnultyperson: l o’halloranperson: m o’donnellperson: l mcmahonperson: d o’connellperson: f bradshaw ryanperson: d laneperson: ed barryperson: g lyonsperson: c flanaganperson: steve mcmahonperson: e o’keeffeperson: t quinlanperson: r deeganperson: jj o’neillperson: g o’sheaperson: a moynihanperson: s fitzgeraldperson: c evansperson: f stonemanperson: c lowndesperson: p glaveyperson: s tobinperson: j mitchellperson: c kyneperson: spiddalperson: p o’tooleperson: c hansburyperson: a broderickperson: p claffeyperson: e galvinperson: k hastingsperson: j codyreperson: c gavinperson: c joyceperson: c laheenperson: r murphyperson: m kellyperson: c keaneperson: h hughesevent: heineken cup finalorganisation: ulster irelandorganisation: ulsterorganisation: ospreysorganisation: rabodirectorganisation: irfuorganisation: munster u18 schoolsorganisation: rockwell collegeorganisation: crescent comprehensiveorganisation: glenstal abbeyorganisation: st. munchin’sorganisation: pbcorganisation: christian brothers collegeorganisation: st. munchin’s collegeorganisation: ard scoil risorganisation: st joseph’s patrician college, galwayorganisation: coláiste éinde, galwayorganisation: coláiste iognáid, galwayorganisation: d corcoranorganisation: rice college, westportorganisation: st joseph’s patrician college,organisation: coláiste chroí mhuireorganisation: sancta maria collegeorganisation: calasanctius college, oranmoreorganisation: portumna csorganisation: marist college, athloneorganisation: scoil muire agus padraig, swinfordorganisation: garbally collegeorganisation: cistercian college roscreaorganisation: holy rosary college, mountbelleworganisation: ballinrobe csorganisation: presentation college, headfordorganisation: moate cs
Sport Newsletter

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up

Select your favourite newsletters and get the best of Irish Examiner delivered to your inbox