Chambers set for Munster action

MUNSTER’S new signing, Will Chambers, and scrum-half Tomas O’Leary will both see game time for the Munster A team in the Sportsground, Galway, today against Connacht (kick-off 2pm).

The former Queensland Reds centre and O’Leary — who made his comeback from injury for Dolphin in an Ulster Bank League game last weekend — will be central figures as Munster begin preparations for their British and Irish Cup game against Cornish Pirates next month.

Having been called out for Ireland’s World Cup campaign in New Zealand, Damian Varley is back in the mix and BJ Botha, who successfully defended himself against a foul-play charge earlier this week, is also included in a strong 23-man squad.

Coach Ian Costello still has plenty of youth to work with in John Ryan, David Kilcoyne, Dave Foley, Brian O’Hara, Simon Zebo, JJ Hanrahan, David Kilcoyne, Luke O’Dea and Sean Hanrahan.

Meanwhile Leinster A coach Colin McEntee is expecting a tough encounter against Ulster A in Donnybrook tomorrow.

“Games against Ulster are always tight and this will give both managements the opportunity to assess the bulk of their squads ahead of the start of the B&I Cup,” said McEntee.

“We are pleased to call on some senior players like Steven Sykes who is in need of game time while I know how excited Dominic (Ryan) is to lead the team for the first time.

“Because of the hiatus in the calendar over the last few weeks it was important that we arranged a competitive game for the squad and it will also provide a number of Academy and club players with the opportunity to impress.” First up for Leinster is English side Esher.

MUNSTER A (squad v Connacht): S Scanlon, L O’Dea, W Chambers, T Gleeson, D Kilcoyne, JJ Hanrahan, S Zebo, S Deasy, D Williams, T O’Leary, M Horan, BJ Botha, J Ryan, D Kilcoyne, D Varley, D Fogarty, I Nagle, P Donnellan, D Foley, D O’Callaghan, B O’Hara, T O’Connell, J Coughlan.

LEINSTER A (team v Ulster): A Conway, A Hudson, B Macken, C O’Shea, A Boyle, N Reid, J Cooney, J McGrath, A Dundon, J Hagan, S Sykes, M Flanagan, C Ruddock, L Auva’s, D Ryan (captain)

REPLACEMENTS: J Harris-Wright, J O’Connell, M Moore, N Keogh, J Murphy, C Willis, C Marsh, D Riordan.

More in this section


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up

Select your favourite newsletters and get the best of Irish Examiner delivered to your inbox