Ireland name schools squad to face Scots

THE Ireland U18 schools squad to face Scotland in the FIRA-AER championship qualifier at Glasgow on Sunday has been selected.

They were defeated by England in the first game but Scotland caused an upset last weekend when they beat England 26-21 in Leeds, so the Ireland side now need a bonus point win to ensure qualification for the elite section.

IRELAND U18 Schools squad (v Scotland): B Alexander (Royal Belfast Academical Institution), M Best (Campbell), B Byrne (Clongowes), E Byrne (Clongowes), C Farrell (Campbell College), T Ferrari (Sligo Grammar), J Fitzpatrick (Gonzaga) G Frayne (Clongowes), R Henshaw (Marist College Athlone), D Lawler (St Michael’s), D Leavy (St Michael’s) C McEllin (Blackrock), McGrath (St Michael’s), A Murphy (St Michael’s), R Murphy (Presentation Brothers), C O’Halloran (Christian Brothers), S Olding (Belfast Royal Academy), J O’Neill (Castleknock), L Satchwell (King’s Hospital), R Scannell (Presentation Brothers), R Scholes (Campbell College), J Sexton (St Mary’s) D Shanahan (Belvedere), C Taylor (Wallace High School).

More in this section


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up

Select your favourite newsletters and get the best of Irish Examiner delivered to your inbox

Execution Time: 0.2 s