TV evidence crucial in O’Connell investigation

FRENCH referee Christophe Berdos cited the use of an elbow by Paul O’Connell in the incident that led to his red card against Ospreys on Sunday.

TV evidence crucial in O’Connell investigation

However video and photographic evidence suggests the Munster lock struck Ospreys’ Jonathan Thomas with his right forearm.

The distinction could prove relevant in terms of the possible sanctions O’Connell faces under the International Rugby Board’s (IRB) tariff of punishments that Heineken Cup organisers ERC employs in dealing with disciplinary matters.

Already a subscriber? Sign in

You have reached your article limit.

Unlimited access. Half the price.

Annual €120 €60

Best value

Monthly €10€5 / month

More in this section

Sport

Newsletter

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers. and reporters

Cookie Policy Privacy Policy Brand Safety FAQ Help Contact Us Terms and Conditions

© Examiner Echo Group Limited