Munster confident ahead of U-21 Interprovincial showdown

MUNSTER and Leinster Under 21s battle for the Inter-provincial Championship title at Rosbrien this evening (5.45).

A very talented Munster has already enjoyed quality wins over title-holders Ulster and Connacht away, as well as a pre-season win over the Neil Back coached Leicester Academy.

The side, captained by Billy Holland, is settled, and includes several former schools stars, who will be confident of repelling what is expected to be a strong Leinster challenge.

Meanwhile, the Munster under 19’s play Leinster at Dooradoyle (4.30) and their bid to win the provincial title will be that much more difficult. They will be hoping for a share, or better, of the title by winning, but it could all come down to points difference if that happens. Munster lost 8-20 to Ulster and now need a big win over Leinster to give them a chance of the title.

MUNSTER Under 21s: I. Hanley (UL Bohemian), E. Moloney (UCC), T. Gleeson (UCC), E. Ryan (UCC), E. Mills (Dolphin), C. Doyle (Garryowen), D. Williams (UCC), D. Hurley (UCC), B. Duggan (UCC), D. Ryan (Highfield), M. O’Hea (Clonakilty), C. Kenefick (UCC), B. Holland (UCC) captain), D. Sherry (Garryowen), M. Essex (UCC). Replacements (from): C. Parkes (UL Bohs), N. O’Brien (Shannon), R. Feeney (UL Bohs), K. Griffin (Shannon), N. Melbourne (Garryowen), B. O’Mahony (Crescent College), T. Barry (Cork Constitution), S. Cronin (PBC Cork), A. Ross (Cork Constitution), G. O’Keeffe (Dolphin), R. Noonan (UCC)

LEINSTER Under 21s: F. Carr (Blackrock), K. Barden (Old Belvedere), F. McFadden (UCD), C. Donohue (Dublin University), S. Hanratty (Dublin University), J. Sexton (St. Mary’s), D. Coughlan (Lansdowne), K. O’Neill (Dublin University), G. O’Meara (Lansdowne), P. Doran Jones (Dublin University), D. O’Reilly (Dublin University), D. Toner (Lansdowne), L. Mantle (Greystones), S. O’Brien (UCD), D. Laffan (Dublin University) (captain).

Replacements. C. Culleton (Dublin University), K. Maloney (Blackrock), A. Lightowler (Greystones), M. Hamilston (Terenure), M. D’Arcy (Dublin University), A. Geraghty (Lansdowne), C. O’Sullivan (Greystones).

MUNSTER Under 19s: W. Staunton (Garryowen), S. O’Sullivan (Sundays Well), D. Lynch (clonakilty), D. Collins (Kilfeacle), P. Thompson (Garryowen), A. Coughlan (Sundays Well), T. Cahill (Bruff), R. Wilmott (Bandon), N. Bourke (Cork Constitution), R. O’Neill (Sundays Well), C. McNamara (Garryowen), N. Keogh (Bruff), O. Keely (Corinthians), T. O’Donnell (Clanwilliam) captain, D. Nathan (Cork Constitution). Replacements. B. Rowley (Garryowen, C. O’Neill (Clonakilty), D. Frahill (Cobh Pirates), C. Good (Newcastlewest), E. Lane (Newcastlewest), P. Broghan (Midleton), J. Crowley (Clonakilty).

LEINSTER Under 19s: M. Skelton, S. Monaghan, S. English, F. Jones, K. Keogh, I. Keatley, S. Cranley, J. Hagan, D. Gilchrist, R. Sweeney, C. McInerney (captain), N. Cummins, B. O’Flanagan, K. Sheehan, I. Condell.

Replacements: R. Burke-Flynn, R. Brosnan, S. Dunlop, D. Wheatley, D. Farrell, S. Quinn, C. Jebb.

More in this section

RugbyPlace: RosbrienPlace: DooradoylePerson: Neil BackPerson: Billy HollandPerson: I. HanleyPerson: E. MoloneyPerson: T. GleesonPerson: E. RyanPerson: E. MillsPerson: C. DoylePerson: GarryowenPerson: D. WilliamsPerson: D. HurleyPerson: B. DugganPerson: D. RyanPerson: M. O’HeaPerson: C. KenefickPerson: B. HollandPerson: D. SherryPerson: EssexPerson: C. ParkesPerson: N. O’BrienPerson: R. FeeneyPerson: K. GriffinPerson: MelbournePerson: B. O’MahonyPerson: T. BarryPerson: S. CroninPerson: A. RossPerson: G. O’KeeffePerson: R. NoonanPerson: F. CarrPerson: K. BardenPerson: F. McFaddenPerson: C. DonohuePerson: S. HanrattyPerson: J. SextonPerson: D. CoughlanPerson: K. O’NeillPerson: G. O’MearaPerson: P. Doran JonesPerson: D. O’ReillyPerson: D. TonerPerson: L. MantlePerson: S. O’BrienPerson: D. LaffanPerson: C. CulletonPerson: K. MaloneyPerson: A. LightowlerPerson: M. HamilstonPerson: M. D’ArcyPerson: A. GeraghtyPerson: C. O’SullivanPerson: W. StauntonPerson: S. O’SullivanPerson: D. LynchPerson: D. CollinsPerson: P. ThompsonPerson: A. CoughlanPerson: T. CahillPerson: BruffPerson: R. WilmottPerson: N. BourkePerson: R. O’NeillPerson: C. McNamaraPerson: N. KeoghPerson: O. KeelyPerson: T. O’DonnellPerson: D. NathanPerson: B. RowleyPerson: C. O’NeillPerson: D. FrahillPerson: C. GoodPerson: E. LanePerson: P. BroghanPerson: J. CrowleyPerson: M. SkeltonPerson: S. MonaghanPerson: F. JonesPerson: K. KeoghPerson: I. KeatleyPerson: S. CranleyPerson: J. HaganPerson: D. GilchristPerson: R. SweeneyPerson: C. McInerneyPerson: N. CumminsPerson: B. O’FlanaganPerson: K. SheehanPerson: I. CondellPerson: R. Burke-FlynnPerson: R. BrosnanPerson: S. DunlopPerson: D. WheatleyPerson: D. FarrellPerson: S. QuinnPerson: C. JebbOrganisation: MunsterOrganisation: UlsterOrganisation: ConnachtOrganisation: Leicester AcademyOrganisation: LeinsterOrganisation: MUNSTER Under 21sOrganisation: UL BohemianOrganisation: UCCOrganisation: DolphinOrganisation: HighfieldOrganisation: ClonakiltyOrganisation: M.Organisation: UL BohsOrganisation: ShannonOrganisation: N.Organisation: Crescent CollegeOrganisation: Cork ConstitutionOrganisation: PBC CorkOrganisation: BlackrockOrganisation: Old BelvedereOrganisation: UCDOrganisation: Dublin UniversityOrganisation: St. Mary’sOrganisation: LansdowneOrganisation: GreystonesOrganisation: TerenureOrganisation: BandonOrganisation: Sundays WellOrganisation: CorinthiansOrganisation: ClanwilliamOrganisation: Cobh PiratesOrganisation: NewcastlewestOrganisation: Midleton

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up

Select your favourite newsletters and get the best of Irish Examiner delivered to your inbox