Simple Steps continues Robert Tyner’s stellar campaign in Gain Mares’ Final

The coveted Gain Mares’ Final occupied centre stage at yesterday’s well-attended Ballynoe point-to-point fixture, staged under the auspices of the United Hunt at Garryane, Killavorilla and Kilclare.

The decision of sponsors’ Gain and the Ballynoe committee to offer a generous €3,000 bonus to the owner of the winning mare yielded a rich dividend as 11 participants went to post, a noticeable improvement from the six-runner line-up that last year’s event attracted, and Simple Steps continued handler Robert Tyner’s stellar campaign by winning a thrilling renewal in the hands of Derek O’Connor.

The five-year-old Simple Steps (100/30), so impressive when winning a Nenagh novice riders’ maiden with Larry O’Carroll in late-January, always travelled with purpose and she moved through to dispute briefly with Gabrielleamee and Kara Loca setting out on the final circuit.

Soon reined back, Simple Steps made the decisive move by edging ahead after three out and she went clear from the penultimate of the 13 obstacles to defeat stable-companion Millie Decourcey by four and a half lengths. Inchiquin High meanwhile stayed on to purposeful effect to secure the minor honours, a further five lengths adrift.

Tyner, who also won this same race with Bingo Bash in 2013, said: “This mare got a bit of a hold up in recent times and I wouldn’t have been disappointed if she had got beaten today. We will probably now go for the either the mares’ pointers bumper in Cork over Easter or the one at Tipperary.”

O’Connor also rode Bingo Bash to victory in this race two years ago and this was the Galwegian’s third ‘Gain’ success for he also won the 2005 running on John Brassil’s Christdalo.

Jamie Codd attained a notable milestone by partnering his 700th points winner aboard Denis Murphy’s You Say What (7/2) in the five-year-old geldings’ maiden.

You Say What went one better than he did on his most recent start behind Freddies Portrait at Tinahely on March 1st by storming ahead from before three out to beat Smuggler’s Stash by two lengths in the colours of his handler’s long-standing patron Tom O’Sullivan. A winners contest is now on the agenda for the Milan-sired You Say What.

Codd then went on to complete a brace aboard the Sean Aherne-trained Justforjames (7/2) in the second division of the six-year-old and upwards geldings’ maiden, the first race incidentally to divide on the Cork and Waterford circuit this year.

Going: Yielding/Soft (Holding)

The Big Tree Bar & Coolmore NH Division 4-Y-O Maiden 3 Miles

1) Monbeg Syndicate’s Invitation Only

b g (Flememsfirth – Norabelle) 11-9 Mr R James

2) Three Dudes Syndicate’s Whatswrongwithyou

11-9 Mr D O’Connor

3) R Frisby’s Bigpipenotobacee

11-9 Mr H D Dunne

8 ran. 7L, 2 1/2L, 4L. (Winner trained by Sean Thomas Doyle)

Anthony & Associates & The Winners Enclosure Bar 5-Y-O Geldings’ Maiden. 3 Miles

1) T O’Sullivan’s You Say Wha

t b g (Milan – Wave Back) 12-2 Mr J J Codd

2) Ms R Hickey’s Smugglers Stash

12-2 Mr D L Queally

3) Mrs M Mangan’s Atlantic Breaker

11-11 Mr J Hurley

12 ran. 2L, 1L, 25L. (Winner trained by Denis Paul Murphy)

Rathbarry Stud & Healy Bros 6-Y-O & Upwards Geldings’ Maiden (1st Div) 3 Miles

1) Mrs M Ryan’s Mountain Philip

b g (Mountain High – Definitely Sarah) 6-12-2 Mr L C Murphy

2) M O’Callaghan’s The Black Dog

7-12-2 Mr C W Fennessy

3) J Cotter’s Dr Ted

6-12-2 Mr D L Queally

11 ran. 3 1/2L, 10L, 10L. (Winner trained by Diarmuid P Ryan)

Rathbarry Stud & Healy Bros 6-Y-O & Upwards Geldings’ Maiden (2nd Div) 3 Miles

1) W O’Donnell’s Just For James

b g (Dr Massini – Over The Road) 6-12-2 Mr J J Codd

2) D J Shorey’s Knockaderry Flyer

6-12-2 Mr J C Barry

3) C Hallahan’s Macs Legend

7-12-2 Mr P D Collins

11 ran. 3L, 1L, 18L. (Winner trained by Sean Aherne)

Gain Horse Feeds Gain Mares’ Final. 3 Miles

1) Don’t Tell The Wife Syndicate’s Simple Steps

gr m (Tikkanen – Burma) 5-12-2 Mr D O’Connor

2) De Courcey Racing Club’s Millie Decourcey

7-12-2 Mr J T Carroll

3) R Kiely’s Inchiquin High

6-12-2 Mr R J Kiely

11 ran. 4 1/2L, 5L, 2 1/2L. (Winner trained by Robert Tyner)

Kevin Hayes Fencing & Dermot O’Leary Agri Open Lightweight 3 Miles

1) The Pot Of Gold Syndicate’s Golden Crisp

b g (Gold Well – Rotoruasprings) 8-12-2 Mr L C Murphy

2) Mrs T Foreman’s B L Swagger

7-12-2 Mr J J Codd

3) Mrs A J Kennedy’s Corskeagh Royale

12-12-2 Mr J T Carroll

8 ran. 1/2L, 1/2L, 3L. (Winner trained by Padraig Gerard Higgins)

Liam Geary Garage & Mr Softee Ice Creams 5-Y-O & Upwards Mares’ Maiden. 3 Miles

1) P F O’Brien’s Timo

b m (Alhaarth – Tracker) 5-11-11 Mr R James

2) Ms A O’Hanlon & L MacMahon’s Flights Of Fantasy

6-11-11 Mr D O’Connor

3) P M Walsh’s Carmajo

7-11-11 Mr L C Murphy

10 ran. 5L, 2L, 3L. (Winner trained by Colin Bowe)

More in this section

courtsracingplace: garryaneplace: killavorillaplace: kilclareplace: corkplace: tipperaryplace: tinahelyplace: milanplace: waterfordplace: big tree barplace: barplace: sayperson: robert tynerperson: derek o’connorperson: nenaghperson: larry o’carrollperson: gabrielleameeperson: kara locaperson: millie decourceyperson: tynerperson: o’connorperson: bingo bashperson: john brassilperson: jamie coddperson: murphyperson: tom o’sullivanperson: coddperson: sean aherneperson: norabelleperson: mrperson: r jamesperson: mr d o’connorperson: r frisbyperson: mr h d dunneperson: sean thomas doyleperson: t o’sullivanperson: j j coddperson: mr d l queallyperson: j hurleyperson: denis paul murphyperson: m ryanperson: mr l c murphyperson: m o’callaghanperson: mr c w fennessyperson: j cotterperson: diarmuid p ryanperson: brosperson: maidenperson: w o’donnellperson: d j shoreyperson: mr j c barryperson: c hallahanperson: p d collinsperson: tikkanenperson: d o’connorperson: j t carrollperson: r kielyperson: r j kielyperson: kevin hayesperson: dermot o’learyperson: l c murphyperson: tperson: b l swaggerperson: j kennedyperson: padraig gerard higevent: easterevent: agri open lightweightorganisation: simple stepsorganisation: gain maresorganisation: united huntorganisation: gainorganisation: ballynoeorganisation: monbeg syndicateorganisation: flememsfirthorganisation: three dudes syndicateorganisation: anthony & associates & the winners enclosureorganisation: & healy brosorganisation: mountain highorganisation: rathbarry stud & healyorganisation: the wife syndicateorganisation: de courcey racing cluborganisation: gold syndicate
Sport Newsletter

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up

Select your favourite newsletters and get the best of Irish Examiner delivered to your inbox