Archer and Storm in contention

Phillip Archer and Graeme Storm remained in strong contention at the Johnnie Walker Classic today, with 69s to finish the third round 11 under – three strokes behind tournament leader Taichiro Kiyota.

Phillip Archer and Graeme Storm remained in strong contention at the Johnnie Walker Classic today, with 69s to finish the third round 11 under – three strokes behind tournament leader Taichiro Kiyota.

A day after carding an eight-under 64 at DLF Golf and Country Club near Delhi, Archer had an up-and-down round which featured six birdies and three bogeys - while Storm defied illness to fire four birdies and one bogey.

The English pair are in a three-way tie for fourth with Australian Greg Chalmers, three behind Japan’s Kiyota and two behind India’s Jyoti Randhawa and Mark Brown, of New Zealand.

Kiyota, who has only two top-10 finishes on the Asian Tour to his name, began the day on nine under and dropped a stroke after bogeying the fifth.

But it proved to be the only mistake of the round for the unheralded 27-year-old from Osaka, who eagled the next and picked up four more birdies to take a one-stroke lead into the final round.

Randhawa carded a four-under 68 to climb into second with Brown – who matched Archer’s tournament-best 64 with an eventful round that included two eagles, seven birdies and three bogeys.

Brown is seeking a second consecutive win in India after winning the Asian Tour’s SAIL Open in nearby Noida by four strokes a week ago.

“I think last week really helped the way I’ll be feeling tomorrow and the way I approach it,” said the 33-year-old Kiwi.

“I’ve got a very good caddie here; I like the climate; it’s nice and dry. My caddie is reading the putts well, and I’m just really comfortable here.

“That win last week took pressure off being on the Asian Tour, because I now have a two-year exemption. It’s been quite a relaxing week so far, and tomorrow I have nothing to lose.”

Overnight leader Shiv Kapur, of India, remained on 10 under after a 72 which included six birdies and six bogeys – while Vijay Singh faltered to nine under after bogeys on the 16th and 17th and a three-putt for par at the final hole.

It was an even more disappointing day for India’s Gaurav Ghei, who appeared to have climbed into contention after shooting a seven-under-par 65 to move to nine under – only to be disqualified once it was revealed that he had signed for a wrong score the previous day.

The 39-year-old failed to add two penalty strokes for causing his ball to move as he was addressing it for a shot at the par-five 18th in his second round, an infringement that was reported to the European Tour’s chief referee John Paramor by a fellow referee who saw the incident on television.

“Unfortunately, nobody around the immediate area saw this movement of the ball - but clearly on reviewing the television pictures, this has happened,” Paramor explained.

“The ball has moved – albeit a very, very small distance.

“The situation is that he is penalised for the ball moving.

“That was not added into his second-round score – so therefore, he has signed for a score lower than actually taken and is disqualified from the second round.”

More in this section

Sport
Newsletter

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
IE_logo_newsletters

Select your favourite newsletters and get the best of Irish Examiner delivered to your inbox