Monty avoids clash with Rose

The withdrawal of American Brett Wetterich has prevented a first round clash between Colin Montgomerie and Justin Rose at the Accenture World Match Play Championship in Arizona next week.

The withdrawal of American Brett Wetterich has prevented a first round clash between Colin Montgomerie and Justin Rose at the Accenture World Match Play Championship in Arizona next week.

Instead Montgomerie faces a tussle with South African Rory Sabbatini, while Rose is set to take on Australian Brendan Jones.

Wetterich and Ernie Els are expected to be the only two non-starters among the world's top 64 and if that remains the case through to next Monday's official draw there will be two all-European matches on the opening day - rising stars Nick Dougherty and Martin Kaymer will go head to head and so will Ian Poulter and Miguel Angel Jimenez.

The winner of that would then take on Padraig Harrington if the Open champion first overcomes Colombian Camilo Villegas.

Lee Westwood, Paul Casey and Bradley Dredge - conqueror of Els a year ago - all find themselves in the same quarter as Tiger Woods in this provisional draw, with Dredge having to take on Vijay Singh this time.

Wetterich's withdrawal brings fellow American Anthony Kim into the field for a crack at Woods and also means that JB Holmes, instead of facing the world number one, will meet Phil Mickelson, whom he defeated in a play-off in Phoenix eight days ago.

Defending champion Henrik Stenson should start against American Jerry Kelly and Luke Donald against former Open champion Mark Calcavecchia.

Provisional draw:

(1) Tiger Woods v (64) Anthony Kim, (32) Arron Oberholser v (33) Tim Clark, (16) Aaron Baddeley v (49) Justin Leonard, (17) Lee Westwood v (48) David Toms, (8) KJ Choi v (57) Rod Pampling, (25) Scott Verplank v (40) Soren Hansen, (9) Vijay Singh v (56) Bradley Dredge, (24) Paul Casey v (41) Richard Green

(4) Adam Scott v (61) Daniel Chopra, (29) Richard Sterne v (36) Woody Austin, (13) Angel Cabrera v (52) John Senden, (20) Martin Kaymer v (45) Nick Dougherty, (5) Jim Furyk v (60) Jonathan Byrd, (28) Retief Goosen v (37) Charles Howell, (12) Henrik Stenson v (53) Jerry Kelly, (21) Stewart Cink v (44) Shingo Katayama

(2) Phil Mickelson v (63) JB Holmes, (31) Mike Weir v (34) Hunter Mahan, (15) Zach Johnson v (50) Anders Hansen, (18) Luke Donald v (47) Mark Calcavecchia, (7) Rory Sabbatini v (58) Colin Montgomerie, (26) Stephen Ames v (39) Robert Karlsson, (10) Padraig Harrington v (55) Camilo Villegas, (23) Ian Poulter v (42) Miguel Angel Jimenez

(3) Steve Stricker v (62) Pat Perez, (30) Stuart Appleby v (35) Andres Romero, (14) Geoff Ogilvy v (51) Robert Allenby, (19) Trevor Immelman v (46) Brandt Snedeker, (6) Justin Rose v (59) Brendan Jones, (27) Toru Taniguchi v (38) Nick O'Hern, (11) Sergio Garcia v (54) Peter Hanson, (22) Niclas Fasth v (43) Boo Weekley

More in this section

courtsgolfireland managerplace: arizonaplace: phoenixperson: montyperson: roseperson: brett wetterichperson: colin montgomerieperson: justin roseperson: montgomerieperson: rory sabbatiniperson: brendan jonesperson: wetterichperson: ernie elsperson: nick doughertyperson: martin kaymerperson: ian poulterperson: miguel angel jimenezperson: padraig harringtonperson: camilo villegasperson: lee westwoodperson: paul caseyperson: bradley dredgeperson: elsperson: tiger woodsperson: dredgeperson: vijay singhperson: anthony kimperson: woodsperson: jb holmesperson: phil mickelsonperson: henrik stensonperson: jerry kellyperson: luke donaldperson: mark calcavecchiaperson: arron oberholserperson: tim clarkperson: aaron baddeleyperson: justin leonardperson: david tomsperson: kj choiperson: rod pamplingperson: scott verplankperson: soren hansenperson: richard greenperson: adam scottperson: daniel chopraperson: richard sterneperson: woody austinperson: angel cabreraperson: john sendenperson: jim furykperson: jonathan byrdperson: retief goosenperson: charles howellperson: stewart cinkperson: shingo katayamaperson: mike weirperson: hunter mahanperson: zach johnsonperson: anders hansenperson: stephen amesperson: robert karlssonperson: steve strickerperson: pat perezperson: stuart applebyperson: andres romeroperson: geoff ogilvyperson: robert allenbyperson: trevor immelmanperson: brandt snedekerperson: toru taniguchiperson: nick o'hernperson: sergio garciaperson: peter hansonperson: niclas fasthperson: boo weekleyevent: accenture world match play championship

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up

Select your favourite newsletters and get the best of Irish Examiner delivered to your inbox