Molinari and Hoey make cardinal errors and disqualified

OVERNIGHT leader Francesco Molinari of Italy and Ireland’s Michael Hoey committed cardinal golfing errors at Baltray yesterday and were disqualified from the 3 Irish Open Championship.

Portuguese Open champion Hoey opened on Thursday with a one under par 71 and had picked up another shot after 10 holes yesterday when he realised there were 15 clubs in his bag. He reported it and was immediately disqualified for signing for the wrong score on the previous day.

“I noticed that under all the wet gear that there was an extra club in there,” said the crestfallen Belfast golfer. “I also knew it had been in there on Thursday. I always have a rescue club and two iron with me every week but I just presumed my caddie (Ian McGregor) knew I wouldn’t be taking the rescue because it’s not needed on this golf course. It’s partly my fault and partly his. I just didn’t see it because it was under all the wet weather gear and the head cover is the same as my three wood. It is so stupid and I can’t believe it because I was playing well and trying to move up the leaderboard.”

Hoey added: “It has never happened to me before. Obviously, I remember Woosnam’s famous incident and it’s silly but what can you do?”

The elimination of Molinari, if anything, was even sadder. His nine under 63 on Thursday set a course record at Baltray and though he took 10 shots more yesterday, he would still have been very much in the hunt at eight under had it not been for a disastrous card marking error.

Having taken 6 on hole 12 and 4 on hole 13, the scores were transposed on the score card and it was officially returned, resulting in disqualification for a breach of Rule 6-6d for returning a score lower than taken.

More in this section

Sport
Newsletter

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
IE_logo_newsletters

Select your favourite newsletters and get the best of Irish Examiner delivered to your inbox