Tipp give record books battering

THE last time a team scored seven or more goals in a Munster hurling final was in 1936.

Limerick defeated Tipperary in Thurles by 8-5 to 4-6 and Mick Mackey contributed 5-3 of their total (later captaining them to All-Ireland victory over Kilkenny). Tipperary’s cumulative score of 40 points (7-19) yesterday is believed to be a record for the county and betters the 1993 final when they totalled 36 points in beating Clare 3-27 to 2-12.

Their victory margin of 18 points that day equalled their 4-11 to 0-5 win over Cork in 1965 at the Gaelic Grounds, in a final refereed by Clare great Jimmy Smyth.

The biggest winning margin in a Munster final in modern times was recorded by Cork in 1982, when they beat Waterford by 5-31 to 3-6 in Limerick. Sean O’Leary scored four of the goals, finishing joint top scorer with Tony O’Sullivan, who contributed seven points from play and five from frees.

While their winning margin of 31 points equalled an 11-3 to 1-2 victory over Clare in 1981, their total score was a record for a final.

Breaking Stories

Football rumours from the media: Chelsea eye Mauro Icardi and Krzysztof Piatek

Ronaldo relaxed ahead of Old Trafford return

Conor McGregor breaks down ‘fair and square’ defeat to Khabib Nurmagomedov

Usain Bolt offer requires ‘third party contribution’ – Central Coast Mariners

Breaking Stories

Ask a counsellor: ‘I’m scared my messy relationship history will put my new partner off me’

Whole world in their hands: Icons design globes in aid of GOAL

Nerina Pallot dancing to her own tune

Little-known plan could save you inheritance tax

More From The Irish Examiner