Quinn and Egan fire Tourlestrane

Tourlestrane 0-13 Tubbercurry 0-10
Sharpshooters John Quinn and Brian Egan, scorers of 0-5 and 0-4 respectively, were the catalysts for efficient Tourlestrane in their deserved county final defeat of south Sligo neighbours, Tubbercurry, at Markievicz Park.

This decider may have only ignited sporadically but Tourlestrane, who won the title two years ago, showed the experience gained from recent successes in 2004, 2007, 2009 and 2011.

Tubbercurry, for whom David Kelly and the Curran brothers, Brian and Gary, were excellent, had their moments but they failed to build on a stirring second-half phase when they shot three unanswered scores to go a point up, 0-7 to 0-6, in the 38th minute.

The busy Kelly scored one of these comeback points, with Fabio Cretaro — brother of Sligo Rovers ace Raffaele — also on target with a fine long-range score. But Tubbercurry were, overall, undone by 11 wides and the failure of full-forward Colm McGee to score from play.

Tourlestrane, who led at the break, 0-6 to 0-4, responded to going behind for the only occasion with points from their best forwards – Brian Egan and John Quinn, the latter later named Player of the Match.

Tourlestrane substitute Gary Gaughan could have opened up a definitive gap but his 44th minute goal attempt was well saved by Tubbercurry ’keeper Daniel McDonagh.

Late in the game, with the gap at three points, 0-13 to 0-10, Tubbercurry almost conjured an equalising goal but Gary Curran shot wide.

TOURLESTRANE: S Gildea; B Walsh, B Kennedy, D Dunne; S Dunne (0-1), (D Durkin), N Gaughan (0-1), J Leonard (0-1); E O’Hara, A McIntyre; C Henry, S Henry, J Kelly (0-1); J Marren, J Quinn (0-5, 2f), B Egan (0-4).

Subs: G Gaughan for C Henry, 26; A Dunne for S Henry, 42; D Durkin for S Dunne, 56; G McGowan for J Marren, 59; B Kirrane for John Quinn, 60

TUBBERCURRY: D McDonagh; S Matthews, B Murphy, D Maye; C Surlis, B Curran, J Kelly; A Brennan, S Gilmartin (0-2); G Curran, C Killoran, F Cretaro (0-1); D Walsh, C McGee (0-3, 3f), D Kelly (0-3).

Subs: F McDonagh (0-1) for S Matthews, 23; Mark Burke for A Brennan, 42; Conor Evans for F Cretaro, 43; S Kilcoyne for F McDonagh, 48; Cian Gilmartin for D Walsh, 57.

Referee: Gus Chapman.

Breaking Stories

'That was 2017, not 1986': Rena Buckley shares shocking story about West Cork medal presentation

It felt like a home game – Seahawks’ Pete Carroll relishes Wembley reception

Ronnie O’Sullivan sets sights on 1,000th century break

Aaron Ramsey to miss Wales’ Nations League clash with Ireland

Breaking Stories

Online Lives: Megan Kessie - 'Writing my blog became an escape'

Appliance of Science Are all raindrops the same size and shape?

Dernish in touch with the past

May we get sense and keep this world degree by degree

More From The Irish Examiner