Mitchelstown cruise into Cork IFC semi-final

Mitchelstown cruise into Cork IFC semi-final

ON FIRE: Cork forward Cathail O'Mahony claimed eight points against Kinsale. 

Mitchelstown 3-20 Kinsale 2-10

Mitchelstown will meet Aghabullogue in the semi-finals of the Cork Intermediate A Football Championship as they comprehensively defeated Kinsale in Carrigtwohill on Saturday.

On another day Kinsale might be content with a haul of 2-10 but they just couldn’t live with the pace and the power of Mitchelstown from the first whistle.

'Town were ahead 1-5 to no score by the seventh minute - Sean O’Sullivan finding the net - and they never looked back, leading 1-15 to 0-4 by half time.

Kinsale, to their credit, refused to give in and they did perform better in the second period, notching well-taken goals from the excellent Gearoid Finn (penalty) and Timmy Broderick.

But their scores only helped to keep the margin of defeat down as Mitchelstown also fired two goals - both from substitute Aaron O’Brien - in the second period to progress to the last four of the competition with this impressive 13 point triumph.

Scorers for Mitchelstown: C O’Mahony (0-8, 3 frees), A O’Brien (2-0), S O’Sullivan (1-0), M Walsh and J Sheehan (0-3, 1 frees) each, D Flynn (0-2), P Molloy, S Walsh, C English and S Cahill (0-1 each).

Scorers for Kinsale: T Broderick (1-2, 1 free), G Finn (1-4, 1-0 pen, 3 frees), H Sheehan (0-2), B Coughlan and D O’Mahony (0-1 each).

MITCHELSTOWN: L Hanna; K Roche, F Herlihy, L Finn; G Carroll, S Beston, P Molloy; S Walsh, C English; P Magee, M Walsh, S O’Sullivan; J Sheehan, S Cahill, C O’Mahony.

Subs: A O’Brien for S Cahill (17), D Flynn for M Walsh (ht), L O’Flynn for S Walsh (38), S Coleman for P Magee (55), B Coffee for S Beston (57).

KINSALE: S O’Neill; R O’Regan, C Lane, A Ryan; A Gould; D O’Mahony, B Coughlan, C McCarthy; N McCarthy, G Finn; H Sheehan, S O’Brien, J O’Brien; T Broderick, C Donnellan.

Subs: M O’Brien for A Ryan (31), D Coughlan for S O’Brien (31), M Murphy for C Donnellan (45), E Dunne for J O’Brien (54), W O’Hea for C Lane (57).

Referee: Canice Walsh (Nemo Rangers).

More in this section

Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Sport Push Notifications

By clicking on 'Sign Up' you will be the first to know about our latest and best sporting content on this browser.

Sign Up

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Cookie Policy Privacy Policy FAQ Help Contact Us Terms and Conditions

© Irish Examiner Ltd