St Vincents power to Leinster victory

St Vincents 1-13 Rhode 0-06

Ciaran Dorney, St Vincent's, in action against Eoin Rigney, Rhode. AIB Leinster GAA Football Senior Club Championship Final, Rhode v St Vincent's, Pairc Táilteann, Navan, Co. Meath.

Picture: Pat Murphy / SPORTSFILE

St Vincents 1-13 Rhode 0-06

St Vincent’s powered to their sixth AIB Leinster Senior Football title, with a 1-13 to 0-06 win over Rhode of Offaly at Páirc Tailteann this afternoon.

Vincent’s never looked troubled in this game and built up a 1-05 to 0-00 lead, with Man of the Match Tomás Quinn netting an 11th minute goal.

Rhode broke the deadlock with a 23rd minute point from Niall McNamee, and added a further score from Niall Darby before the break.

However, the loss of Rhode captain Paraic Sullivan on a second yellow card hit the Offaly side hard on the restart, as Vincent’s stormed toa 10-point win.

St Vincents worked hard from the throw-in, but an early goal chance for the reigning champions from Ciaran Dorney, was deflected out for a 45, which Quinn failed to convert.

It was one of two goal misses for Dorney inside the opening five minutes, with an effort also deflecting off the post, after he had cut open the Rhode defence.

Gavin Burke had opened the Vincent’s account at this stage with a well-taken point from play, while at the opposite end Rhode were unable to find their shooting boots.

Rhode amassed four wides inside the opening eight minutes, as they struggled in front of the posts, with Niall Darby and Niall McNamee among those mis-firing in the opening minutes.

Rhode keeper Ken Garry was in excellent form throughout the half, in trying to keep his side in contention, as the Offaly side’s rear-guard was under constant pressure throughout.

In the 12th minute Vincent’s cut through for the only goal of the first half, with Eamon Fennell working well at the middle, and Daithi Murphy, Gavin Burke and Diarmuid Connolly also involved, before Quinn fired to the net from his right boot.

1-02 to 0-00 ahead at this stage Vincents showed no signs of easingup.

The Marino side added three unanswered points with Ruairi Trainor, Quinn and Gavin Burke on target, to ensure a 1-05 to 0-00 advantage after 19 minutes.

Rhode kicked into life before the interval, and inspired by a Garry save after a Dorney goal shot, the Offaly side staged a mini revival before the interval.

Scores from Niall McNamee and Niall Darby cut the gap to six points at the interval, but Rhode had a lot of work to do on the restart.

Vincents were virtually camped in the Rhode half for the third quarter, and made this count as they moved into a nine-point lead by the 40th minute.

Sligo native Brendan Egan registered a fine score from play, with Quinn adding two other scores.

At this stage Rhode were down to 14-men following the dismissal of their team captain Paraic Sullivan on a second yellow card.

Rhode responded with points from Conor McNamee and Niall Darby between the 44th and 47th minutes, but these scores were cancelled out with efforts from Diarmuid Connolly and Cormac Diamond.

With time ticking away Rhode desperately craved scores.

Niall McNamee fired his second point, with eight minutes remaining, after tapping over a free.

Rhode continued to press hard, with a goal chance for Paul McPadden in the 56th minute, before the ball came back to Anton Sullivan who cut the gap to seven points.

But Vincent’s finished this game strongly, as unanswered scores from Shane Carthy, Cormac Diamond and Tomas Quinn in the closing stages ensured a 10-point win.

After the game Vincent’s captain Ger Brennan accepted the cup, with his side now looking forward to an All-Ireland semi-final against Corofin in February.

St Vincents: M Savage; K Bonnie, J Curley, H Gill; B Egan (0-01), G Brennan, M Concarr; E Fennell, D Murphy; G Burke (0-02), D Connolly (0-01), S Carthy (0-01); R Trainor (0-01), C Dorney (0-1), T Quinn (1-04, 2f). Subs: Cormac Diamond (0-2) for Burke (47); T Diamond for Trainor (51); Cameron Diamond for Fennell (56); A Baxter for Dorney (60); M Loftus for Murphy (60).

Rhode: K Garry; J Kavanagh, E Rigney, J McPadden; C Heavey, B Darby, E Byrne; A McNamee, C McNamee (0-01); N Darby (0-02, 1f), P Sullivan, G O’Connell; P McPadden, A Sullivan (0-01), N McNamee (0-02, 1f). Subs: S Sullivan for Kavanagh (17); R McNamee for P McPadden (41); D Murphy for O’Connell (49).

REFEREE: Anthony Nolan (Wicklow)

More in this section

courtsgaaheathrowplace: páirc tailteannplace: navan, co. meathplace: sligoperson: ciaran dorneyperson: eoin rigneyperson: pat murphyperson: vincentperson: tomás quinnperson: niall mcnameeperson: niall darbyperson: paraic sullivanperson: quinnperson: dorneyperson: gavin burkeperson: ken garryperson: eamon fennellperson: daithi murphyperson: diarmuid connollyperson: vincentsperson: ruairí trainorperson: rhodeperson: garryperson: brendan eganperson: conor mcnameeperson: cormac diamondperson: paul mcpaddenperson: anton sullivanperson: shane carthyperson: ger brennanperson: m savageperson: k bonnieperson: j curleyperson: h gillperson: b eganperson: g brennanperson: m concarrperson: e fennellperson: d murphyperson: g burkeperson: d connollyperson: s carthyperson: r trainorperson: c dorneyperson: t quinnperson: burkeperson: t diamondperson: trainorperson: cameron diamondperson: fennellperson: a baxterperson: m loftusperson: murphyperson: k garryperson: j kavanaghperson: e rigneyperson: j mcpaddenperson: c heaveyperson: b darbyperson: e byrneperson: c mcnameeperson: n darbyperson: sullivanperson: g o’connellperson: p mcpaddenperson: n mcnameeperson: s sullivanperson: kavanaghperson: r mcnameeevent: aib leinster senior footballevent: aib leinster gaa football senior club championship finalevent: all-ireland semiorganisation: st vincentsorganisation: leinsterorganisation: rhodeorganisation: st vincentorganisation: st vincent'sorganisation: offalyorganisation: marinoorganisation: corofin
Sport Newsletter

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up