Leinster and Ulster gear up for Interpro final

Crossmaglen Rangers players Aaron Kernan and Jamie Clarke have been named in the Ulster team for Sunday's M Donnelly Interprovincial Football final against Leinster at Croke Park (throw-in 3.45pm).

Leinster and Ulster gear up for Interpro final

Crossmaglen Rangers players Aaron Kernan and Jamie Clarke have been named in the Ulster team for Sunday's M Donnelly Interprovincial Football final against Leinster at Croke Park (throw-in 3.45pm).

Kernan and Clarke were unable to inspire reigning All-Ireland Club champions Crossmaglen last weekend when they were dethroned by St. Brigid's in a 2-7 to 1-9 semi-final defeat.

Kernan's father Joe is the Ulster manager and he has drafted Aaron in at right half-back for the Interpro decider, with Tyrone's Cathal McCarron dropping to the bench.

The addition of Armagh sharpshooter Clarke at right corner forward sees Mark Poland of Down make way. Tyrone's Martin Penrose keeps his starting place, shifting to centre forward following his crucial contribution of a goal and a point in the 1-14 to 1-13 semi-final win over Munster.

Ulster are bidding to retain the Interpro crown and boast an enviable record in the competition - since 2000 the northern province have won 16 of the 20 Interpro matches that they have played.

Meanwhile, Dublin have the biggest representation on the Pat Gilroy-managed Leinster panel for this weekend's final at GAA headquarters.

Bernard Brogan, who shot 0-9 (0-5f) in the semi-final victory over Connacht, leads the Dubs contingent along with new captain Stephen Cluxton, Ger Brennan, Paul Flynn, Michael Darragh Macauley and Cian O'Sullivan.

Flynn, the two-time All-Star, could possibly feature in three matches in the space of three days. He will play for DCU in today's Sigerson Cup semi-final against DIT in Athlone IT (throw-in 12.45pm) and if they progress, the final is on tomorrow afternoon at the midlands venue.

Flynn came on for the closing stages of Leinster's semi-final clash with Connacht last Sunday, and given his busy schedule Gilroy is likely to keep him in reserve again for the Croke Park tie.

All proceeds raised from the Interpro football final will go directly to Our Lady’s Children’s Hospital, Crumlin. The AIB All-Ireland Club JFC final involving Kenmare Shamrocks from Kerry and Galway club Ballinasloe will act as the curtain raiser at 2pm.

Tickets for the double header are priced at €10 for adults and €5 for juveniles. They can be purchased through www.gaa.ie/tickets or other usual outlets.

LEINSTER (Interpro Final v Ulster): Stephen Cluxton, Ger Brennan, Paul Flynn, Michael Darragh Macauley, Cian O'Sullivan, Bernard Brogan (all Dublin), Kieran Lillis (Laois), Michael Quinn, Barry Gilleran, Sean McCormack (all Longford), Redmond Barry, Graham Molloy, Brian Malone, Adrian Flynn (all Wexford), John Heslin, Dessie Dolan (both Westmeath), Joe Sheridan (Meath), Paddy Keenan, Neil Gallagher (both Louth), James Stafford (Wicklow), Brendan Kavanagh, Brendan Murphy (both Carlow), Brian O'Connor (Offaly).

ULSTER: Pascal McConnell (Tyrone); Chrissy McKaigue (Derry), Neil McGee (Donegal), Eamonn McGee (Donegal); Aaron Kernan (Armagh), Darren Hughes (Monaghan), Ciaran McKeever (Armagh); Sean Cavanagh (Tyrone), David Givney (Cavan); Mark McHugh (Donegal), Martin Penrose (Tyrone), Joe McMahon (Tyrone); Jamie Clarke (Armagh), Kevin Niblock (Antrim), Conor McManus (Monaghan).

Subs: Brendan McVeigh (Down), Cathal McCarron (Tyrone), Dermot McBride (Derry), Mark Poland (Down), Justin McMahon (Tyrone), Tommy McElroy (Fermanagh), Ryan Jones (Fermanagh), Gearoid McKiernan (Cavan), Conor McAliskey (Tyrone), Paul McComiskey (Down), Kieran Hughes (Monaghan), Peter Harte (Tyrone).

More in this section

courtsgaaheathrowplace: croke parkplace: gaaplace: athlone itplace: ballinasloeplace: meathplace: donegalplace: monaghanplace: fermanaghperson: aaron kernanperson: jamie clarkeperson: m donnellyperson: kernanperson: clarkeperson: joeperson: aaronperson: cathal mccarronperson: mark polandperson: martin penroseperson: pat gilroyperson: bernard broganperson: stephen cluxtonperson: ger brennanperson: paul flynnperson: michael darragh macauleyperson: cian o'sullivanperson: flynnperson: gilroyperson: kieran lillisperson: michael quinnperson: barry gilleranperson: sean mccormackperson: redmond barryperson: graham molloyperson: brian maloneperson: adrian flynnperson: john heslinperson: dessie dolanperson: joe sheridanperson: paddy keenanperson: neil gallagherperson: james staffordperson: brendan kavanaghperson: brendan murphyperson: brian o'connorperson: pascal mcconnellperson: chrissy mckaigueperson: neil mcgeeperson: eamonn mcgeeperson: darren hughesperson: ciaran mckeeverperson: sean cavanaghperson: david givneyperson: mark mchughperson: joe mcmahonperson: kevin niblockperson: conor mcmanusperson: brendan mcveighperson: dermot mcbrideperson: justin mcmahonperson: tommy mcelroyperson: ryan jonesperson: gearoid mckiernanperson: conor mcaliskeyperson: paul mccomiskeyperson: kieran hughesperson: peter harteevent: interprovincial football finalevent: sigerson cupevent: interpro football finalevent: all-ireland club jfc finalevent: interpro finalorganisation: leinsterorganisation: ulsterorganisation: crossmaglen rangersorganisation: all-ireland cluborganisation: crossmaglenorganisation: st. brigidorganisation: tyroneorganisation: munsterorganisation: interproorganisation: dublinorganisation: connachtorganisation: dubsorganisation: dcuorganisation: ditorganisation: our lady’s children’s hospitalorganisation: kenmare shamrocksorganisation: laoisorganisation: longfordorganisation: wexfordorganisation: wickloworganisation: offalyorganisation: derryorganisation: cavanorganisation: armaghorganisation: antrimorganisation: down

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up