Down claim Kehoe Shield

Bord na Mona Kehoe Shield Final

Down claim Kehoe Shield

Bord na Mona Kehoe Shield Final

Down 0-19 Roscommon 1-14

Down claimed their first ever Bord na Móna Kehoe Shield title following a determined second half display at St. Lomans GAA Club 3G pitch in Mullingar.

Gerard Moan's side scored 10 points without reply from the 51st minute until the end, including six from Portaferry's Paul Braniff to take honours.

Earlier, Roscommon were full value for their 1-11 to 0-6 interval lead, with Seamus Qualter's side scoring a 10th minute goal from Ronan O'Meara.

This came in a spell which saw Roscommon score 1-3 without reply between the ninth and 11th minutes.

Down kept in touch thanks to Braniff, James Coyle, Connor Dorrian and Aaron O'Prey.

Roscommon led by 1-12 to 0-6 three minutes after the restart, following good work by free-taker Gerry Fallon, but Down dug deep.

However, Coyle and Michael Ennis were unlucky not to breach the Roscommon goal-mouth with goal chances in the 50th and 52nd minutes.

Down kept up their pressure and only conceded two points in the final 30 minutes as the Mourne County took control at midfield.

Braniff was sublime from placed balls, while Coyle, Andy Savage and O'Prey were also on target late on as Down claimed a two-point win.

After the game Down captain Ben Toner received the Kehoe Shield from Leinster GAA PRO John Greene.

Scorers for Down: P Braniff 0-11 (9f, 1 '65); J Coyle 0-3; A O'Prey, A Savage 0-2 each; C Dorrian 0-1.

Scorers for Roscommon: G Fallon 0-9 (8f); R O'Meara 1-1; D Nolan, C Kelly, A Murphy, E Kenny 0-1 each.

DOWN: S Keith; C O'Prey, P Flynn, P Hughes; F Conway, B Toner, M Ennis; A Savage, C Flynn; A O'Prey, P Braniff, D Toner; J Coyle, C Dorrian, M Turley. Subs: C Coulter for Dorrian (42); J McCusker for Flynn (42); S Nicholson for Turley (59).

ROSCOMMON: P Dolan; I Delaney, D Leonard, S Curley; C Dolan, D Short, S Melia; C Kelly, Gerry Fallon; J Lawlor, R O'Meara, A Murphy; C Kelly, N Connaughton, D Nolan. Subs: E Kenny for Murphy (23); D Flaherty for D Nolan (Blood 32-33); Gary Fallon for Kenny (37); D Flaherty for Lawlor (HT): N Keenan for C Kelly (64); T Seale for C Dolan (64).

REFEREE: Tom Anderson (Offaly).

More in this section


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up

Discover the

Install our free app today

Available on


Have the Irish Examiner delivered to your door. No delivery charge. Just pay the cover price.