Gilroy hands midfield role to Fennell

Eamon Fennell has won the battle to replace the injured Michael Darragh Macauley in the Dublin midfield.

Eamon Fennell has won the battle to replace the injured Michael Darragh Macauley in the Dublin midfield.

Fennell will partner Denis Bastick in the Dubs' engine room when they take on Wexford in Sunday's Leinster SFC final at Croke Park (throw-in 2pm).

The St. Vincent's clubman has beaten off competition for the number 9 jersey from Ross McConnell and former All-Star Barry Cahill.

It will be Fennell's first League or Championship start of 2011, having had a hip problem earlier in the campaign. He came on for broken finger victim Macauley during the 1-12 to 1-11 semi-final win over Kildare.

That is the only change in personnel manager Pat Gilroy has made to the team that overcame Kieran McGeeney's Lilywhites.

Up front, the same six forwards are retained with one positional switch - Diarmuid Connolly has been posted in front of goals with Eoghan O’Gara at top of the right.

Connolly and O'Gara were the only starting forwards who failed to score against Kildare, while O'Gara, who struggled to make an impact, was dismissed for two bookable offences.

Paul Conlon had an impressive Championship debut last time out and keeps his place at corner back. Philly McMahon is still recovering from the medial ligament damage he suffered in the quarter-final victory over Laois.

Captained by wing forward Bryan Cullen, Dublin are seeking their 50th Leinster senior title and their sixth in seven seasons.

They are encountering Wexford for the third time in four years in the Leinster Championship - the Model men have not beaten the Metropolitans in SFC fare since 1956.

DUBLIN (SFC v Wexford): Stephen Cluxton; Michael Fitzsimons, Rory O'Carroll, Paul Conlon; James McCarthy, Ger Brennan, Kevin Nolan; Denis Bastick, Eamon Fennell; Paul Flynn, Alan Brogan, Bryan Cullen (capt); Eoghan O'Gara, Diarmuid Connolly, Bernard Brogan.

More in this section

Sport Newsletter

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up