Dublin beat Cats in Walsh Cup thriller

Dublin 2-17 Kilkenny 2-13

Dublin 2-17 Kilkenny 2-13

There was delight for Anthony Daly's Dublin hurlers at Parnell Park this afternoon as they beat Kilkenny to become Walsh Cup champions.

The Dubs did most of the damage in the first half as they foraged into a 1-11 to 0-02 lead. Midfielder Conor Clinton claimed a 20th minute goal.

The Kilmacud Crokes clubman smashed the ball to the net on the rebound, after Dublin goalkeeper Alan Nolan had his initial penalty saved on the line.

John McCaffrey and Ryan O'Dwyer were also among Dublin's other first half scorers.

Kilkenny failed to register a point from play in the opening 30 minutes. Eoin Guinan and TJ Reid registered their only points.

Daire Plunkett grabbed Dublin's second goal on the restart as he drilled a shot to the far corner of the net, and their lead stood at 2-14 to 0-05, 14 minutes into the second period.

Despite the weather conditions worsening, Kilkenny bounced back with substitutes Michael Fennelly, Eddie Brennan and Aidan Fogarty making it a real contest.

TJ Reid drilled a 25-metre free to the back of the net in the 55th minute, and Fennelly drove a shot past Nolan, following a superb solo run, to cut the gap at 2-15 to 2-12 in the 63rd minute.

However, Dublin, with O'Dwyer, Clinton, Liam Rushe and McCaffrey putting in excellent displays, stood firm to claim their fifth Walsh Cup success and a first since 2003.

Tipperary native O'Dwyer pointed two late frees to seal the victory and take his personal haul to 0-06. Dublin's previous Walsh Cup title wins came in 1960, 1964, 1966 and 2003.

Scorers - Dublin: C Clinton 1-04, R O'Dwyer 0-06 (0-04f), D Plunkett 1-01, S Ryan 0-03, J McCaffrey (0-01 '65'), L Ryan, D O'Dwyer 0-01 each

Kilkenny: TJ Reid 1-06 (0-03f, 0-01 '65'), M Fennelly 1-00, A Fogarty 0-02, M Rice, J Fitzpatrick, J Mulhall, N Walsh, E Guinan 0-01 each

DUBLIN: A Nolan; R Trainor, N Corcoran, M Quilty; J Sheanon, J McCaffrey, S Durkin; L Rushe, C Clinton; S Ryan, L Ryan, C McCormack; D O’Dwyer, R O’Dwyer, D Plunkett.

Subs used: D O'Callaghan for McCormack (half-time), C McCormack for Sheanon, P Carton for S Ryan (both 61 mins), S Ryan for Clinton (66), J Sheanon for L Ryan (73).

KILKENNY: C McGrath; J Dalton, N Hickey, M Kavanagh; P Murphy, J Tyrrell, C Fogarty; M Rice, J Fitzpatrick; J Mulhall, P Hogan, N Walsh; M Ruth, TJ Reid, E Guinan.

Subs used: M Fennelly for Walsh, E Brennan for Ruth (both 44 mins), A Fogarty for Hogan (51).

Referee: Brian Gavin (Offaly)

More in this section

Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Sport Push Notifications

By clicking on 'Sign Up' you will be the first to know about our latest and best sporting content on this browser.

Sign Up

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Cookie Policy Privacy Policy FAQ Help Contact Us Terms and Conditions

© Irish Examiner Ltd