Tribesmen cruise to 21-point win over Wexford

Galway 1-24 Wexford 0-06, Pearse Stadium

Galway 1-24 Wexford 0-06, Pearse Stadium

A depleted Galway were far too classy for Wexford at Pearse Stadium as the Tribesmen cruised to an emphatic 21-point success.

Despite missing several key performers, Galway ruthlessly dismissed the visitors, who only managed two scores from play during the 70 minutes.

At the opposite end, the Galway attack, with Ger Farragher in sparkling form, demonstrated their ability throughout as Wexford were in deep bother.

John McIntyre's men, who lifted the Allianz NHL Division 1 title last year, quickly established control. They moved into a commanding 0-11 to 0-03 lead just after the half hour mark.

During that early burst of Galwegian pressure, midfielder Donal Barry was purposeful while Farragher struck frees with trademark accuracy.

Stephen Banville registered Wexford's only first half score from play in stoppage time, but Farragher hit two more before the interval as Galway went in 0-13 to 0-04 ahead.

All that needed to be determined after the restart was the margin of Galway’s opening league win as Wexford's challenge was simply not up to scratch.

Farragher, Barry, and substitute Niall Healy all pointed before Aonghus Callanan rattled the Wexford net in the 49th minute.

PJ Nolan briefly interrupted the Galway onslaught with a point for the visitors, but Galway regained control as Johnny Coen, Adrian Cullianane, Farragher, and Callanan all struck over splendid efforts.

Wexford goalkeeper Niall Breen could only point a 61st minute penalty which was their last score of a miserable afternoon and the home side finished with a flourish.

Farragher, Healy (0-02) and Andy Smith completed the rout as Galway commenced their 2011 league adventure with a victory that was as convincing as the scoreline suggests.

Scorers - Galway: G Farragher 0-11 (0-06f, 0-03 '65'), A Callanan 1-02, D Barry, N Healy (0-02f) 0-03 each, E Ryan 0-02, A Cullinane, J Coen, A Smith 0-01 each

Wexford: J Berry 0-03 (0-02f, 0-01sl), PJ Nolan, S Banville, N Breen (0-01 pen) 0-01 each

GALWAY: C Callanan; D Collins, J Lee, G O’Halloran; A Cullinane, T Og Regan, G Mahon; D Barry, D Burke; E Ryan, C Donnellan, G Farragher; A Callanan, J Cooney, J Coen.

Subs used: A Smith for Donnellan (8 mins), N Healy for Cooney (19), D Hayes for Mahon, C O’Donovan for O’Halloran (both 59), B Murphy for Farragher (63), K Kilkenny for Callanan (64).

WEXFORD: N Breen; P Roche, M O’Hanlon, B Hobbs; R Kehoe, D Stamp, C Kenny; C Farrell, B Doyle; PJ Nolan, T Waters, S Banville; P Atkinson, K Burke, J Berry.

Subs used: H Kehoe for Burke (36 mins), K Rossiter for R Kehoe (45), G Sinnott for Berry (49), D Redmond for Nolan (54), E Furlong for Farrell (66).

Referee: James McGrath (Westmeath)

More in this section

Sport Newsletter

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up