Antrim crush Derry to take title

Antrim 4-16 Derry 0-09

Antrim 4-16 Derry 0-09

Antrim Minor hurlers claimed their 37th ESB Ulster Minor Hurling Championship this afternoon thanks to a convincing win over Derry at Casement Park, Belfast.

Full-forward Conor McCann was one of the Antrim heroes, with the Creggan Kickhams clubman top-scoring with an impressive haul of 2-03.

The Saffrons reigned supreme throughout this game with Michael Devlin getting the hosts off the mark with the first of his four points in the eighth minute.

Goals from Stephen Beattie and McCann propelled Antrim to a 2-07 to 0-05 interval lead, with Shane Farren and Conal O'Kane keeping Derry in touch.

The Oak Leafers improved on the restart, but found it hard to cope with Antrim's attacking prowess with substitute Ciaran Clarke completing the Saffrons hat-trick, while McCann's second three-pointer in the 72nd minute signalled the death-knell for Derry.

ANTRIM: M Donaghy, R McCloskey, M Donnelly, C McGuinness, C Morgan, C McClelland, J McLister, C Laverty, S Smyth, S Beattie (1-03), M Devlin (0-04), D McKinley (0-01), M Lismore (0-02), C McCann (2-03), S McAfee. Subs: C Clarke (1-01), C Duffin (0-01), D McPeake, R O'Neill, S Shannon (0-01).

DERRY: K McDermott, C Convery, D O'Neill, C Conway, K McKaigue, B Herron, B Magilligan, C Gilmore, A Grant, S Farren (0-03), P Kelly (0-01), O O'Doherty, C O'Kane (0-03), E McKillion, M McGlade (0-01). Subs: G O'Neill, D McCusker (0-01), C Cassidy, C Farren.

REFEREE: Declan Magee (Down).

More in this section


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Home Delivery


Have the Irish Examiner delivered to your door. No delivery charge. Just pay the cover price.