Limerick beat students to reach McGrath Cup final

Limerick 0-14 Limerick IT 0-6

Limerick 0-14 Limerick IT 0-6

Limerick proved best in atrocious conditions this afternoon, booking their place in the McGrath Cup final after being always in control against the local IT students.

It was never going to be a pretty affair, but having trawled through counties Limerick, Clare and Kerry over the past few days Limerick manager Mickey Ned O'Sullivan was happy to get the game played at the LIT grounds.

Played in constant rain, the home venue proved of little benefit to the students with Limerick getting off to the best start when conditions were more favourable.

For the second week in a row Ian Ryan was in top form for Limerick and again he emerged as top scorer. Ryan scored four first half points with Johnny Murphy playing a captain's part with two other white flags, while Ger Collins also had a brace of points.

In that opening period all LIT could manage was two points, both scored from frees by Colm Kilroy.

Surprisingly, and with the conditions worsening, the sides managed to score 10 points in the second period, six for Limerick and four for the students.

The weather was the only real winner, though Limerick will be glad of another competitive fixture under their belts and, of course, a place in the final.


Limerick: I Ryan 0-5, J Murphy, G Collins 0-3 each, S Buckley, J Cooke, K O'Callaghan 0-1 each Limerick IT: C Kilroy 0-3, T Enright, G Lyons, C Wallace 0-1 each

Limerick: M Jones; S Walsh, J McCarthy, S Gallagher; P Browne, S Lavin, T Cahill; J Cooke, J Galvin; A Lane, D Phelan, S Buckley; I Ryan, J Murphy, G Collins.

Limerick IT: C Ryan; G Kennedy, D Casey, N Keegan; T Dunne, G Lyons, M Devlin; B Jones, R O'Sullivan; T Enright, D McCarthy, J Scally; C Kilroy, J Kelleher, C Wallace.

More in this section

Sport Newsletter

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up