Tyrrelspass end Moorefield dominance

Tyrrelspass (Westmeath) 1-7 Moorefield (Kildare) 0-7

Tyrrelspass (Westmeath) 1-7 Moorefield (Kildare) 0-7

Westmeath champions Tyrrellspass have denied Kildare side Moorefield the chance of back-to-back Leinster titles after a stirring replay between the teams at Cusack Park today.

The sides were level at 0-3 apiece at half-time at the end of what was a lifeless opening half with the teams level on three occasions before the interval.

Westmeath senior star Martin Flanagan opened the scoring for the two-in-a-row Westmeath champions before Ronan Sweeney replied soon after.

The teams again traded scores but Moorefield held a 0-3 to 0-2 lead before the break in Mullingar after Patrick Murray pointed a free.

However, David Glennon had the final say of the half with a point for Tyrrellspass to end a dismal opening 30 minutes, in which both sides were also guilty of a number of missed chances.

Tyrrellspass' Flanagan and Moorefield defender Philip Lonergan were among those who played well in the opening half.

An injury to David Glennon midway through the first half forced the Tyrrellspass forward off the field and he was replaced by Ronan Dunbar, who played well for the remainder of the game.

The second half finally saw both teams settle down and play some good football with a penalty goal from Denis Glennon four minutes from the end the decisive score. He netted after an infringement occurred in the small square when the Moorefield goalkeeper was deemed to have held the ball too long.

Nonetheless, the teams were still on an equal footing after the restart as points from Flanagan and Patrick Murray ensured the sides were level at 0-4 each in the 33rd-minute.

Both sides continued to play good football but the Westmeath side held a slight edge and Glennon's goal pulled four points clear, and although Moorefield managed to get a point back, Tyrrellspass held out until the finish.

Despite Tyrrellspass player Shane Arthur receiving a second yellow card late in the game, the Westmeath champions held out for a famous victory and they will now meet St. Vincent's of Dublin in the final next Sunday.

Scorers -

Tyrrellspass: Denis Glennon 1-4, Martin Flanagan 0-3.

Moorefield: Patrick Murray 0-4 (2f), Ronan Sweeney (1f), Niall Hurley Lynch, David Barry 0-1 each.

More in this section


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up