Jacob, Carley out of Wexford side

All-Ireland finalists Kilkenny meet Wexford in the second phase of the National Hurling League today at Wexford Park at the later time of 6.15pm.

All-Ireland finalists Kilkenny meet Wexford in the second phase of the National Hurling League today at Wexford Park at the later time of 6.15pm.

Yellowbellies’ boss Seamus Murphy has left team captain Michael Jacob and leading scorer Paul Carley out of his side for today’s clash.

Barry Lambert and Mitch Jordan come into the side in their places. Dual player Redmond Barry, who lines out with the footballers in their league semi-final against Wexford earlier today, is set to make an appearance as a substitute.

Meanwhile Kilkenny boss Brian Cody delayed the naming of his side in midweek due to the death of his brother, Michael.

However, All Star attacker Henry Shefflin is expected to return to the side after recovering from a groin injury.

Shefflin came off the bench last week during the Cats’ win over All-Ireland champions Cork.

Galway host Tipperary at Pearse Stadium today, with the Premier County needing a win following three defeats.

Manager Ken Hogan has made two changes from the side that lost to Clare last weekend.

Defender David Kennedy, who picked up a groin injury in the Banner defeat, makes way for Diarmuid Fitzgerald.

Fitzgerald goes to left half-back with Eamonn Corcoran moving to the heart of defence.

Colin Morrissey returns to partner Paul Kelly in midfield, having overcome ankle ligament trouble. Conor O'Mahoney drops to the bench.

Newtownshandrum defender Pat Mulcahy has been named at centre-forward

on the Cork team to face Clare in the Rebels’ NHL clash at Cusack Park today.

Mulcahy moves to attack from left corner-back, where he started last weekend's defeat to Kilkenny.

Brian Murphy, Graham Callinan, Tom Kenny, Brian Corcoran and Joe Deane all return to the side to face the in-form Banner.

Murphy comes in at right corner-back, with Cian O'Connor switching flanks to allow for Mulcahy's move out of defence.

Callinan is chosen at right half-back, with John Gardiner moving to the heart of defence for Ronan Curran, who lined out for his club, St Finbarr's, on Friday.

Kenny replaces Paul Tierney at midfield, Neil Ronan is at right half-forward, with Mulcahy in the centre, flanked by Niall McCarthy on the left.

Ben O'Connor moves to the full-forward line, with Brian Corcoran in the middle and Deane at top of the left.

Last week's full-forward line of Kieran Murphy, Garvin McCarthy and Jonathan O'Callaghan drop to the bench.

Clare boss Anthony Daly will again hold off on naming his side until before throw-in.

The Banner were waiting until last Friday’s county U21 championship semi-final, involving senior panellist Darragh Clancy, was played.

Clare are also sweating on the fitness of forward Alan Markham and defender Seanie McMahon, who both suffered muscle injuries during last weekend's victory over Tipperary.

WEXFORD (SH v Kilkenny): D Fitzhenry; M Travers, D O’Connor, K Rossiter;D Ruth, D Stamp, D Lyng; R McCarthy, W Doran; B Lambert, E Quigley, M Jordan; N Higgins, R Jacob, D Mythen.

TIPPERARY (SH v Galway): B Cummins; P Curran, P Maher, H Moloney; D Fanning, E Corcoran, D Fitzgerald; C Morrissey, P Kelly; M O'Leary, J Devane, B Dunne; E Kelly, M Webster, P O'Brien.

CORK (SH v Clare): D Óg Cusack; B Murphy, D O'Sullivan, C O'Connor; G

Callinan, J Gardiner, S Óg Ó hAilpín; T Kenny, J O'Connor; N Ronan, P

Mulcahy, N McCarthy; B O'Connor, B Corcoran, J Deane.

More in this section

courtsgaaheathrowplace: wexford parkplace: pearse stadiumplace: cusack parkperson: jacobperson: carleyperson: seamus murphyperson: michael jacobperson: paul carleyperson: barry lambertperson: mitch jordanperson: redmond barryperson: brian codyperson: michaelperson: henry shefflinperson: shefflinperson: ken hoganperson: david kennedyperson: diarmuid fitzgeraldperson: fitzgeraldperson: eamonn corcoranperson: colin morrisseyperson: paul kellyperson: conor o'mahoneyperson: pat mulcahyperson: mulcahyperson: brian murphyperson: graham callinanperson: tom kennyperson: brian corcoranperson: joe deaneperson: bannerperson: murphyperson: cian o'connorperson: callinanperson: john gardinerperson: ronan curranperson: kennyperson: paul tierneyperson: neil ronanperson: niall mccarthyperson: ben o'connorperson: deaneperson: kieran murphyperson: garvin mccarthyperson: jonathan o'callaghanperson: anthony dalyperson: darragh clancyperson: alan markhamperson: seanie mcmahonperson: fitzhenryperson: m traversperson: d o’connorperson: k rossiterperson: d ruthperson: d stampperson: r mccarthyperson: w doranperson: b lambertperson: e quigleyperson: m jordanperson: n higginsperson: r jacobperson: mythenperson: cumminsperson: p curranperson: maherperson: h moloneyperson: d fanningperson: e corcoranperson: c morrisseyperson: p kellyperson: m o'learyperson: j devaneperson: b dunneperson: e kellyperson: m websterperson: p o'brienperson: corkperson: d og cusackperson: b murphyperson: d o'sullivanperson: c o'connorperson: g callinanperson: j gardinerperson: s og o hailpinperson: t kennyperson: j o'connorperson: n ronanperson: p mulcahyperson: n mccarthyperson: b o'connorperson: b corcoranperson: j deaneevent: national hurling leagueevent: u21 championshiporganisation: wexfordorganisation: kilkennyorganisation: cats’organisation: all-organisation: corkorganisation: galwayorganisation: tipperaryorganisation: premier countyorganisation: clareorganisation: newtownshandrumorganisation: st finbarrorganisation: sh

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up

Discover the

Install our free app today

Available on


Have the Irish Examiner delivered to your door. No delivery charge. Just pay the cover price.