Limerick face Cork without captain

Today's glamour clash in Division 1B features the visit of Limerick to Páirc Uí Chaoimh to take on the might of All-Ireland champions Cork.

Today's glamour clash in Division 1B features the visit of Limerick to Páirc Uí Chaoimh to take on the might of All-Ireland champions Cork.

Cork will be without five of their starting All-Ireland-winning team for the clash - a repeat of last year's Munster championship first round clash.

The Rebels are without Wayne Sherlock, Brian Murphy, John Gardiner, Kieran Murphy and Brian Corcoran for the clash against the Shannonsiders.

Sherlock is nursing a groin injury, Corcoran is being rested and Gardiner and the two Murphys are involved with their colleges.

John Browne takes Sherlock's corner-back berth, Pat Mulcahy replaces Brian Murphy in the other corner and Graham Callinan moves to right wing-back in place of Gardiner.

In attack, Jonathan O'Callaghan replaces Kieran Murphy at top of the right and Ballyhea's Neil Ronan moves to full-forward in place of Corcoran.

Meanwhile, former Limerick captain Mark Foley is a late withdrawal from the Limerick side named last Wednesday night.

The Adare club man was named at full-forward, but is nursing a groin injury. He will be replaced by Tournafulla's John Paul Sheehan.

Mark Keane, who opted out of the panel in favour of football, also returns after a two-year absence and lines out at top of the left.

Former full-back TJ Ryan moves to the heart of defence with Brian Geary taking

over the full-back berth.

The match was switched from Páirc Uí Rinn to Páirc Uí Chaoimh due to ongoing refurbishments at the Douglas ground.

Wexford boss Seamus Murphy has named five league newcomers for the Slaneysiders' trip up north today to face Antrim at Loughiel.

Eoin Quigley, Kevin Kavanagh, Nigel Higgins, Redmond Barry and Des Mythen all make their league debuts for the Leinster champions.

All Star 'keeper Damien Fitzhenry has recovered from a shoulder injury and returns between the sticks.

Antrim boss Dinny Cahill is missing Niall Reynolds, Aiden Delargy, Gavin Bell and Sean Kelly, who have opted off the panel this season.

The northerners are also without Liam Watson and Conor Cunning, who are returning from cruciate knee ligaments and are not expected to play a part in Antrim's League campaign.

Tipperary manager Ken Hogan has named five newcomers as the Premier County host Down in Thurles.

Drom-Inch's Damien Young replaces Brendan Cummins between the sticks - Cummins is being rested.

Tadhg Slevin comes into midfield, while Ballingarry's Donal Shelly and Loughmore duo Michael Webster and Evan Sweeney get their chance in attack.

Eddie Enright and Diarmuid Fitzgerald are ruled out through injury.

Down boss John Crossey has opted for a blend of youth and experience for this tough assignment at Semple Stadium.

The Mourne men are without the services of Paul Braniff, who is nursing a cruciate knee ligament injury, while Mick Braniff, Emmett Trainor and Aiden Brown are on holidays.

Portaferry club man Gerard Adair is also out after fracturing a cheekbone.

CORK (SH V Limerick): D Og Cusack; J Browne, D O'Sullivan, P Mulcahy; G Callinan, R Curran, S Og O hAilpin; T Kenny, J O'Connor; B O'Connor, N

McCarthy, T McCarthy; J O'Callaghan, N Ronan, J Deane.

LIMERICK (SH v Cork): J Cahill; D Reale, B Geary, M Cahill; O Moran, TJ Ryan, P Lawlor; D O'Grady, P Tobin; D Ryan, P Cahill, N Moran; A O'Shaughnessy, JP Sheehan, M Keane.

ANTRIM (SH v Wexford): D Quinn; A O'Caireallain, K Kelly, J Campbell; M McCambridge, K McKeegan, C Herron; B Herron, C McGuckian; M Herron, P Richmond, M Scullion; B Quinn, J McIntosh, K Steward.

WEXFORD (SH v Antrim): D Fitzhenry; C Kehoe, D O'Connor, K Rossiter; K Kavanagh, D Stamp, D Lyng; E Quigley, M Jacob; P Carley, W Doran, N Higgins; R Barry, M Jordan, D Mythen.

TIPPERARY (SH v Down): D Young; P Ormonde, P Maher, P Curran; D Fanning, D Kennedy, E Corcoran; C Morrissey, T Slevin; D Shelly, M Webster, M O'Leary; S Butler, E Kelly, E Sweeney.

DOWN (SH v Tipperary): Graham Clarke; L Clarke, S Murray, P Hughes; Gabriel Clarke, G Savage, P Monan; S Wilson, A Savage; B McGourty, G Johnston, S Clarke; J McCusker, M Coulter, E Clarke.

More in this section

courtsgaaallianz hurlingplace: páirc uí chaoimhplace: douglas groundplace: loughielplace: thurlesplace: semple stadiumplace: portaferryperson: wayne sherlockperson: brian murphyperson: john gardinerperson: kieran murphyperson: brian corcoranperson: sherlockperson: corcoranperson: gardinerperson: murphysperson: john browneperson: pat mulcahyperson: graham callinanperson: jonathan o'callaghanperson: ballyheaperson: neil ronanperson: mark foleyperson: tournafullaperson: john paul sheehanperson: mark keaneperson: tj ryanperson: brian gearyperson: seamus murphyperson: eoin quigleyperson: kevin kavanaghperson: nigel higginsperson: redmond barryperson: des mythenperson: damien fitzhenryperson: dinny cahillperson: niall reynoldsperson: aiden delargyperson: gavin bellperson: sean kellyperson: liam watsonperson: conor cunningperson: ken hoganperson: damien youngperson: brendan cumminsperson: cumminsperson: tadhg slevinperson: donal shellyperson: loughmoreperson: michael websterperson: evan sweeneyperson: eddie enrightperson: diarmuid fitzgeraldperson: john crosseyperson: paul braniffperson: mick braniffperson: emmett trainorperson: aiden brownperson: gerard adairperson: corkperson: d og cusackperson: j browneperson: d o'sullivanperson: p mulcahyperson: g callinanperson: r curranperson: s og o hailpinperson: t kennyperson: j o'connorperson: b o'connorperson: n mccarthyperson: t mccarthyperson: j o'callaghanperson: n ronanperson: j deaneperson: limerickperson: j cahillperson: d realeperson: b gearyperson: m cahillperson: o moranperson: p lawlorperson: d o'gradyperson: p tobinperson: d ryanperson: p cahillperson: n moranperson: a o'shaughnessyperson: m keaneperson: antrimperson: d quinnperson: a o'caireallainperson: k kellyperson: j campbellperson: m mccambridgeperson: k mckeeganperson: c herronperson: b herronperson: c mcguckianperson: m herronperson: p richmondperson: m scullionperson: b quinnperson: j mcintoshperson: k stewardperson: fitzhenryperson: c kehoeperson: d o'connorperson: k rossiterperson: k kavanaghperson: d stampperson: d lyngperson: e quigleyperson: m jacobperson: carleyperson: w doranperson: n higginsperson: r barryperson: jordanperson: d mythenperson: d youngperson: p ormondeperson: p curranperson: d fanningperson: d kennedyperson: e corcoranperson: c morrisseyperson: t slevinperson: d shellyperson: m websterperson: m o'learyperson: s butlerperson: e kellyperson: e sweeneyperson: graham clarkeperson: l clarkeperson: s murrayperson: p hughesperson: gabriel clarkeperson: g savageperson: p monanperson: s wilsonperson: a savageperson: b mcgourtyperson: g johnstonperson: s clarkeperson: j mccuskerperson: m coulterperson: e clarkeevent: all-irelandevent: munster championshiporganisation: limerickorganisation: corkorganisation: all-irelandorganisation: shannonsidersorganisation: adareorganisation: wexfordorganisation: slaneysiders'organisation: antrimorganisation: leinsterorganisation: drom-inchorganisation: ballingarryorganisation: shorganisation: tipperary
Sport Newsletter

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up