Tipp too strong for Rebels

Tipperary 2-11 Cork 0-9

Tipperary 2-11 Cork 0-9

Goals from Deirdre Hughes and skipper Joanne Ryan in either half saw Tipperary to a fifth Foras na Gaeilge All-Ireland Camogie championship title in six years as they dismissed Cork at Croke Park.

Ryan became the first Drom-Inch player to lift the O'Duffy Cup as, watched by 24,567, the Premier girls added to their 2004 league title in the sport's centenary year.

Wing forward Claire Grogan was the scoring star as she proved the difference between the Munster sides, scoring nine points, including seven frees.

Tipp managed to score the same tally as they did 12 months ago when they regained their crown from 2002 winners Cork in a 2-11 to 1-11 victory.

Eimear McDonnell struck 1-4 that day and clipped over the final point of the first half today as Tipp established a 1-6 to 0-4 half-time lead.

Cork's Jennifer O'Leary set up Emer Dillon for the first score of the game after three-and-a-half minutes.

Eighteen-year-old Grogan, who became one of the youngest holders of an All-Ireland medal in 2000, levelled two minutes later and again on 13 minutes after Gemma O'Connor had pointed for Cork.

By that time lively Toomevara attacker Hughes had won a ninth minute penalty, but McDonnell's weak effort was batted away by net minder Aoife Murray.

Grogan's third free was cancelled out by Dillon, who rounded Ciara Gaynor to lift over after 17 minutes, but seconds later a long dink into Cork territory saw Murray off her line and Hughes reacted quickest to collect the loose ball and smack home for 1-3 to 0-3.

Two more Grogan frees and McDonnell's late effort saw Tipp to their five-point break lead, with O'Leary tagging on a Cork '45.

The Rebelettes upped the urgency in the second half, but Tipp full back Una O'Dwyer was in commanding form.

O'Leary mustered two early frees with 2002 winning captain Una O'Donoghue adding another on 40 minutes to keep Cork in the hunt.

Cork indeed had it back to a 0-7 to 1-7 deficit.

Two minutes later though a crossed ball deflected by Rosarie Holland saw Ryan in for Tipp's second goal, beating Murray with a low drive to the right corner of the net.

Gemma O'Connor rallied Cork with a subsequent free but another placed ball from O'Leary, her fourth with four minutes remaining, was not enough for John Considine's side.

Grogan pointed Tipp's tenth chance from 16 opportunities on 47 minutes, offloaded for McDonnell to add another and fired over two more scores on 52 and 55 minutes for a 2-11 to 0-8 advantage.

O'Leary was caught in two minds at the death as her right-wing free, when Cork desperately needed a goal, flew over Jovita Delaney's crossbar.

A second title in his second year in charge for former Tipp hurler Raymie Ryan, and he hailed the heart of his squad.

"A team wins a game, but a panel wins a championship for you. I can't speak more highly of the panel, every one of the 28, for their performances this year," he said.

"Things didn't go too well for the U21s last night in Nowlan Park so hopefully this win instills a bit of pride back into Tipperary GAA."

CORK: A Murray; J O'Callaghan, S Dunlea (Capt), R Holland; P O'Connor, M O'Connor, R Buckley; G O'Connor, V Harris; R Moloney, E Dillon, J O'Leary; U O'Donoghue, E Watson, C Desmond.

Subs used: E Burke for Watson (37 mins), A Geary for Desmond (41)

TIPPERARY: J Delaney; S Kelly, U O'Dwyer, J Kirwan; S Nealon, C Gaynor, T Brophy; A McDermott, P Fogarty; N Kennedy, J Ryan (Capt), C Grogan; E McDonnell, D Hughes, J Horan.

Subs used: P Bulfin for Fogarty (57 mins), G Kinane and E Hayden for Horan and Hughes (60)

More in this section


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up