Ruthless Knocknagree get the job done early

Knocknagree advanced to a Munster Club JFC final with Dromid Pearses yesterday after defeating Waterford’s Sliabh gCua St Mary’s in impressive fashion at Mallow.

Ruthless Knocknagree get the job done early

Munster Club JFC semi-final

Knocknagree (Cork) 2-16

Sliabh gCua St Mary’s (Waterford) 1-7

The outcome was decided well before the interval as the Cork side dismissed their provincial opponents with a first-half masterclass that saw them lead by 13 points at the break (1-12 to 0-2).

Manager John Fintan Daly was pleased with the win but insists more will be required in the provincial final.

He explained: “we weren’t clinical enough. We didn’t take enough scores — we will have to be much more clinical the next day but it is a long season and you are not going to do everything right every day.

“But, overall, we are happy with the result and now we can look to a Munster final.

“Dromid Pearses will be a tough test. It is another Cork v Kerry final and we carry the county’s hopes with us. Cork haven’t beat Kerry in I think 20 visits including the Mallow v An Ghaeltacht game last week. This will be number 21 and we will try to change what has been a very boring pattern.”

Despite the first half exhibition, Knocknagree were slow to get going, registering three wides before managing to hit the target just shy of the 10-minute mark. A goal from Paul O’Connor on 13 minutes settled the Cork side as they went about dismantling a Sliabh gCua St Mary’s side that had few answers.

More of the same after the interval saw Knocknagree push on again. However, the visitors battled well and a responded to the victor’s second goal (Fintan O’Connor) with Jason Sheehan’s converted penalty in the 38th minute.

However, Knocknagree ultimately cruised to victory.

Scorers for Knocknagree:

F O’Connor 1-4 (two frees); P O’Connor 1-0; JF Daly, E McSweeney (two frees), M Dilworth 0-3 each; D Cooper 0-2; J Dennehy 0-1.

Scorers for St Mary’s:

J Sheehan 1-5 (1-0 pen; four frees); E Kearns, A Fitzpatrick 0-1 each.


P Doyle; P O’Connor, S Daly, G O’Connor; M Mahoney, K Buckley, D Moynihan; D Cooper, P Collins; j Dennehy, JF Daly, E McSweeney; M Dilworth, C White, F O’Connor.


T Cooper for P Collins (32)(inj), K Daly for M Mahoney (50), T Long for C White (51), A Sheehan for K Buckley (55), D O’Connor for E McSweeney (56), J Carroll for S Daly (58).


D Flynn; R Gleeson, JJ Coffey, G Hallihan; D McCarthy, B McGourty, S Fitzpatrick; E Kearns, S Coffey; C Tobin, M Kearns, D Coffey; D Tobin, J Sheehan, K Sheehan.


D Whelan for G Hallinan (18)(inj), A Fitzpatrick for J Sheehan (bs)(26)(Reversed Half Time), A Fitzpatrick for D Tobin (half time), E Walsh for S Coffey (54).


Sean Joy (Kerry)

More in this section

Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Sport Push Notifications

By clicking on 'Sign Up' you will be the first to know about our latest and best sporting content on this browser.

Sign Up

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Cookie Policy Privacy Policy FAQ Help Contact Us Terms and Conditions

© Irish Examiner Ltd