Joanne Casey the star as Inniscarra advance

Inniscarra 1-10 Inagh-Kilnamona 0-7: Just three days after securing a first Cork crown in five years, Inniscarra are only one game away from adding a Munster title after a strong second half showing to defeat newly crowned Clare champions Inagh-Kilnamona.

Joanne Casey the star as Inniscarra advance

The Cork champions started slowly before Joanne Casey registered the first point of her 1-8 tally. Inagh-Kilnamona had raced out of the traps to take a 0-4 to 0-1 lead with 15 minutes gone.

Inniscarra responded with a goal from Casey and another point from Aileen Sheehan. Amy Keating was the chief scorer on the Clare side getting four points along with Claire Commane. At half time, the scoreline was 0-5 to 1-3 in Inniscarra’s favour.

Inniscarra began to get a grip of the game after the interval as Casey and Niamh McCarthy caused huge problems for the Clare champions scoring seven points between them.

They failed to convert goal opportunities in the final minutes but at the other end, Inagh-Kilnamona were equally unable to breach the Cork side’s defence and could only manage two points for the second half.

In the final 10 minutes, Inniscarra fired over four points to clinch victory and a Munster final date with Burgess-Duharra of Tipperary in a fortnight’s time.

Scorers for Inagh-Kilnamona:

A Keating 0-5 (3f, 1 ’45), C Commane 0-1, J Fitzgerald 0-1


J Casey 1-8 (3f, 1’45), N McCarthy 0-2, A Sheehan 0-1


R Keating, O Cotter, S Lafferty, M Wynne, T O’Keefe, C Hehir, L Ryan, S Quinn, A O’Keefe, A Keane, S O’Loughlin, J FitzGerald, L Rynne, A Keating, C Commane.


S Ní Riain, M Buckley, C Looney, C Cronin, A Sheehan, R O’Mahony, R Quigley, R Buckley, AKavanagh, R Keane, L Brennan, A Dineen, T McCarthy, N McCarthy, J Casey (capt).


P Dee (Limerick).

More in this section


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up