St Brendan’s hold their nerve to claim Kerry glory

St Brendan’s 1-16 PS Chorca Dhuibhne 2-12: St Brendan’s College Killarney escaped to victory by a single point in the Kerry Colleges final, after Pobalscoil Chorca Dhuibhne had showed scant regard for the Hogan Cup holders’ pedigree at Austin Stack Park.
St Brendan’s hold their nerve to claim Kerry glory

‘The Sem’ can thank Cian Gammell at the back, David Shaw when moved to midfield, Dara Moynihan, with three second-half points, and Donnchadh O’Sullivan who worked tirelessly to bring his side back into the game.

Despite the West Kerry side’s first-half dominance, St Brendan’s led at the break when Ciaran Flynn finished to the net in first-half injury time, sending them in at the break 1-7 to 1-6 up against the run of play.

Soon after the resumption, Cathal Ferriter goaled for PCD, then kicked two magnificent points in the 47th and 49th minutes to help his side to a one-point lead (2-10 to 1-12).

Sem substitute Niall McCarthy levelled after a quick free from the excellent David Shaw.

St Brendan’s were a point down again by the 53rd minute, but Pobalscoil’s wide count was seven in the second half.

And the Sem held their nerve and points from David Shaw and Niall McCarthy (2) steered them to victory.

Scorers for St Brendan’s:

C Flynn (1-2); B Courtney (0-4); D Moynihan (0-3); D Shaw and N McCarthy (0-2 each); D O’Sullivan, J Griffin, M Harnett (0-1 each;

PS Chorca Dhuibhne:

L Ó Bambaire (1-5, 1 ’45), C Firtéar (1-2, 1 free), N Ó Géibheannaigh (0-2 frees); R Mac Cárthaigh, N Ó Flanúra and C Failbhe (0-1 each)


R Osborne; M Fitzgerald, C O’Donoghue, C Gammell; N Donoghue, C Callaghan, S O’Leary; B Courtney, M O’Shea; D Moynihan, J Griffin, D O’Sullivan; B Keane, D Shaw, C Flynn.


M Harnett ( 0-1) for B Keane ( 37), N McCarthy ( 0-2) for M Fitzgerald ( 43), B Slattery for S O’Leary ( 52), M Devlin for J Griffin ( 56).


E Ó Brosnachain; G Ó Leidhinn, C Ó Muircheartaigh, F Ó Cúanaigh; M Ághas, B Ó Conchuir, F Sauerland; P Pól Sauerland, R Mac Cárthaigh; T Ó Dubhain, C Firtéir, M Ó Beoláin; N Ó Géibheannaigh, N Ó Flanúra, L Ó Bambaire


C Failbhe ( 0-1) for M Ó Beoláin ( 37), R Ó Beaglaoich for M Ághas ( 56), D Uosis for N Ó Géibheannaigh ( 58).

Referee: G Kerins (Austin Stacks).

More in this section

Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Sport Push Notifications

By clicking on 'Sign Up' you will be the first to know about our latest and best sporting content on this browser.

Sign Up

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Cookie Policy Privacy Policy FAQ Help Contact Us Terms and Conditions

© Irish Examiner Ltd