Thurles up the ante after the break

Dr Harty Cup Round 1 - CBS Thurles 3-17 De La Salle Waterford 1-8: An indifferent first-half pockmarked by frustrating wides was followed by a much more clinical second period for CBS Thurles in which they outscored De La Salle 2-13 to 0-2.
Thurles up the ante after the break

The Harty Cup champions of two seasons ago looked impressive once they found their feet, with a nice sprinkling of scores across the forward line and eye-catching defensive displays from Killian O’Dwyer, Eddie O’Gorman and Michael Purcell.

Anthony McKelvey ended up with 1-5 from play, while Darragh Woods complemented his five placed scores with a fine goal, doubling on a nice ball from McKelvey midway through the second-half

Physically powerful throughout the field, De La Salle went in 1-6 to 1-4 ahead, with influential centre-back Harry Redmond successful with three long-range placed balls while the tricky Cian Wadding fired over two from play, with Ryan Croke getting their other point.

Their goal came from a penalty, with Sean Power fouled and Thomas Doughlas blasting a low shot home.

Thurles got back in it when Conor Bowe saw a speculative effort from the right wing fly straight in. And CBS demonstrably upped their game in the second period.

A third quarter in which they notched up a tally of 1-6 to 0-2, followed by another 1-7 in the fourth quarter, were proof of their superiority on the day.

Scorers for CBS:

A McKelvey (1-5); D Woods (1-5, 4 frees, 1 ’65’); C Bowe (1-2); C Bourke (0-2); B O’Mara (0-1); S Ryan (0-1); O Quirke (0-1);

Scorers for De La Salle:

T Doughlas (1-1, 1 pen, 1 free); H Redmond (0-4, 3 frees, 1 ’65’); C Wadding (0-2); R Croke (0-1)


E Bourke, D Carew, E O’Gorman, K O’Dwyer, J Ryan, M Purcell, S Ryan, B O’Mara, M Nally, A McKelvey, D Woods, C Bowe, E Barry, TJ Butler, C Bourke.


J Fallon for E Barry (35m), O Quirke for TJ Butler (45m), J Ryan for J Ryan (53m), A Ryan for M Nally (55m), J Jordan for K O’Dwyer (58m).


L Power, P Boylan, D Hogan, R Duke, C Giles Doran, H Redmond, T Foley, S Kennedy, D Walsh, K Hennessy, S Flynn, C Wadding, S Power, T Doughlas, R Croke.


L Walsh for C Giles Doran (30m), D Finn for R Croke (35m), S Jones for S Flynn (41m), S Carton for R Duke (46m), M Hutchinson for S Power (51m).


Noel Cosgrove (Tipperary).

More in this section

Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Sport Push Notifications

By clicking on 'Sign Up' you will be the first to know about our latest and best sporting content on this browser.

Sign Up

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Cookie Policy Privacy Policy FAQ Help Contact Us Terms and Conditions

© Irish Examiner Ltd