Scoil Mhaoiliosa atone for football heartbreak in Sciath na Scol

A round-up of yesterday's action from Cork IT.
Scoil Mhaoiliosa atone for football heartbreak in Sciath na Scol

Scoil Mhaoilíosa Knockavilla 3-1 St Mary’s Enniskeane 1-3

AFTER the heartbreak of losing the football final, Scoil Mhaoilíosa bounced back in tremendous fashion to take the Allianz Sciath na Scol Roinn DC4 title at Cork IT yesterday. Second-half goals from Aisling O’Donovan (2) and Kate Lynch helped them take control but outstanding goalkeeping from Ciara Taheny was also crucial.

St Mary’s surged four points clear after a lively opening half, Saoirse Fleming hitting a pair of points while Lauren Corcoran notched a goal for the Enniskeane side to lead at the break, 1-2 to 0-1. However, it wasn’t long before the Knoackavilla outfit put their stamp on proceedings.

They built on a great goal from Aisling O’Donovan after she connected with a Kate Lynch free three minutes after the restart and they pushed on thereafter to record a fine win.

Scorers for Scoil Mhaoilíosa: A O’Donovan (2-0), K Lynch (1-0), C Flynn (0-1).

Scorers for St Mary’s: L Corcoran (1-0), S Fleming (0-3).

Scoil Mhaoilíosa: C Taheny, S Kenny, H Twomey, E Ronan, Aisling O’Donovan, Aoife O’Donovan, C O’Sullivan, C Flynn, F Twohig, M Lynch, A Ryan, A Blennerhassett, K Lynch, H R O’Sullivan, M O’Kane, M McCarthy, M Kelleher, S Ullmann, A Cullinane.

St Mary’s: S O’Donovan, S Fleming, L Corcoran, L Cullinane, K Mannix, L Hennessy McCarthy, R Lordan, M O’Boyle, E O’Driscoll, O Moore, A Bradfield, E Corcoran, K Hurley, C Collins, A Hurley, C Hennessy, T Kenny, J Crowley, E Hurley, L O’Leary.

Bunscoil Chríost Rí 3-3 Ballinora 2-2

Joy for Buncsoil Chríost Rí in the Roinn C4 decider after a marvellous display against an equally hard-working Ballinora. Two goals from the superb Olivia Gibson and one from Orla O’Leary ensured victory.

The Bunscoil opened brightly courtesy of O’Leary’s goal but terrific work by Meabh Murphy handed the mid-Cork school a narrow advantage at the change of ends, 1-2 to 1-1.

While Ballinora battled bravely, Murphy - who nailed all of their scores - included, the winners had too much. Gibson, along with Ciara Hurley in defence, were key figures in an extremely polished team performance.

Scorers for Bunscoil Chríost Rí: O Gibson (2-2), O O’Leary (1-0), M Murphy (0-1).

Scorers for Ballinora: M Murphy (2-2).

Bunscoil Chríost Rí: C Cambridge, S Purcell, E Fitzgerald, K O’Connor, S Murphy, C Hurley, S Mealy, Z Waters, O Gibson, S Cotter, M Murphy, A Byrne O’Riordan, J Sampson, K Twohig, O O’Leary, D Meehan, P Cassells.

Ballinora: K Farrell, E Keohane, E O’Donoghue, J Doyle, K O’Riordan, A O’Driscoll, M Murphy, G Lenihan, E Mehigan, E Shinnick, S Treacy, C Buttimer, E Wolfe, E Murphy, C O’Brien, H Murphy.

Ballinora 4-9 Rathpeacon 2-4

Two goals and three points in the space of the opening four minutes went a long way to deciding the Roinn H6 final, as a slick Ballinora side turned around with a 2-4 to 1-2 interval lead. They went on the attack again in the second-half, despite the best efforts of plucky Rathpeacon.

Strong down the middle, full-forward Adam Twomey found the net three times while Michael Quirke scored six excellent points, and it was David Collins' green flag after just two minutes that set them on their way.

Goals in either half from Cian Barrett threw Rathpeacon a lifeline, and while they upped their game and worked hard defensively, they had to give way to the greater all-round strength of Ballinora.

Scorers for Ballinora: A Twomey (3-0), M Quirke (0-6), D Collins (1-0), S Kingston (0-2), L Lyons (0-1).

Scorers for Rathpeacon: C Barrett (2-1), A O’Donovan, S Downey and P O’Donovan (0-1 each).

Ballinora: C O’Flynn, N Davis, P O’Halloran, R Quirke, P Mayer, I Quirke, D Dineen, R Murphy, L Lyons, O Dineen, S Kingston, M Quirke, A Twomey, D Holmes, A McAllen, S Forde, D Collins, E Murphy, A Laverty, J Connolly.

Rathpeacon: R O’Mahony, P O’Connor, A O’Donovan, C O’Connell, D Murphy, R O’Connor, C Sexton, C Barrett, S Downey, L Dunlea, S Ring, P O’Donovan, C Clarke, G Walsh, C Crowley, G Harrington, J O’Sullivan, B O’Connell, C Cooke, D Murphy, A Murray, C Murphy.

Referee: Cathal Ó Murchú (Carrigtwohill BNS).

More in this section

GaaVideoHurlingPlace: Bunscoil Chríost RíPerson: Scoil MhaoiliosaPerson: Aisling O’DonovanPerson: Kate LynchPerson: Ciara TahenyPerson: Saoirse FlemingPerson: Lauren CorcoranPerson: APerson: K LynchPerson: C FlynnPerson: L CorcoranPerson: S FlemingPerson: C TahenyPerson: S KennyPerson: H TwomeyPerson: E RonanPerson: Aoife O’DonovanPerson: C O’SullivanPerson: F TwohigPerson: M LynchPerson: A RyanPerson: A BlennerhassettPerson: H R O’SullivanPerson: M O’KanePerson: M McCarthyPerson: M KelleherPerson: S UllmannPerson: A CullinanePerson: S O’DonovanPerson: L CullinanePerson: K MannixPerson: L Hennessy McCarthyPerson: R LordanPerson: M O’BoylePerson: E O’DriscollPerson: O MoorePerson: A BradfieldPerson: E CorcoranPerson: K HurleyPerson: C CollinsPerson: A HurleyPerson: C HennessyPerson: T KennyPerson: J CrowleyPerson: E HurleyPerson: L O’LearyPerson: Olivia GibsonPerson: Orla O’LearyPerson: O’LearyPerson: Meabh MurphyPerson: MurphyPerson: GibsonPerson: Ciara HurleyPerson: O GibsonPerson: O O’LearyPerson: M MurphyPerson: C CambridgePerson: S PurcellPerson: E FitzgeraldPerson: K O’ConnorPerson: S MurphyPerson: C HurleyPerson: S MealyPerson: Z WatersPerson: S CotterPerson: A Byrne O’RiordanPerson: J SampsonPerson: K TwohigPerson: D MeehanPerson: P CassellsPerson: K FarrellPerson: E KeohanePerson: E O’DonoghuePerson: J DoylePerson: K O’RiordanPerson: A O’DriscollPerson: G LenihanPerson: E MehiganPerson: E ShinnickPerson: S TreacyPerson: C ButtimerPerson: E WolfePerson: E MurphyPerson: C O’BrienPerson: H MurphyPerson: RathpeaconPerson: Adam TwomeyPerson: Michael QuirkePerson: David Collins'Person: Cian BarrettPerson: M QuirkePerson: D CollinsPerson: S KingstonPerson: L LyonsPerson: C BarrettPerson: O’DonovanPerson: S DowneyPerson: P O’DonovanPerson: C O’FlynnPerson: N DavisPerson: P O’HalloranPerson: R QuirkePerson: P MayerPerson: I QuirkePerson: D DineenPerson: R MurphyPerson: O DineenPerson: A TwomeyPerson: D HolmesPerson: A McAllenPerson: S FordePerson: A LavertyPerson: J ConnollyPerson: R O’MahonyPerson: P O’ConnorPerson: A O’DonovanPerson: C O’ConnellPerson: D MurphyPerson: R O’ConnorPerson: C SextonPerson: L DunleaPerson: S RingPerson: C ClarkePerson: G WalshPerson: C CrowleyPerson: G HarringtonPerson: J O’SullivanPerson: B O’ConnellPerson: C CookePerson: A MurrayPerson: C MurphyPerson: Cathal Ó MurchúEvent: na ScolEvent: Roinn C4Event: Roinn H6 finalEvent: BallinoraOrganisation: Sciath na ScolOrganisation: CorkOrganisation: St Mary’s EnniskeaneOrganisation: Allianz SciathOrganisation: St MaryOrganisation: EnniskeaneOrganisation: St Mary’sOrganisation: BuncsoilOrganisation: BallinoraOrganisation: BunscoilOrganisation: Bunscoil Chriost Ri
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Execution Time: 0.242 s