John Cronin makes Cork league debut

John Cronin makes his league debut as one of five Cork changes for tonight’s Allianz HL Division 1A clash with Kilkenny at Páirc Uí Rinn (7pm).
John Cronin makes Cork league debut

Lisgoold clubman Cronin (no.11 above), holder of an All-Ireland JFC medal, partners Paul Haughney in a new-look midfield while Patrick Collins comes in in goal and Shane O’Neill and Lorcan McLoughlin are included in midfield. Anthony Nash, the injured Mark Ellis, Cormac Murphy, Daniel Kearney and Patrick Cronin are the players to miss out.

Brian Cody’s son Diarmuid comes into the Kilkenny team at midfield while Paul Murphy and Conor Martin are also additions. Lester Ryan, Jackie Tyrrell and James Maher drop to the bench.

Tipperary, who face Galway, have three changes following the loss to Waterford. Kieran Bergin and Adrian Ryan get their first start in this season’s league, Bergin lines out at centre forward having returned to action as a substitute last week while Ryan is picked at right corner forward. The other change sees Niall O’Meara getting the nod at top of the left.

CORK (HL v Kilkenny):

P Collins (Ballinhassig); K Burke (Midleton), D Cahalane (St Finbarr’s), S McDonnell (Glen Rovers); S O’Neill (Bishopstown), C Joyce (Na Piarsaigh), L McLoughlin (Kanturk); P Haughney (Midleton), J Cronin (Lisgoold); B Lawton (Castlemartyr), B Cooper ( Youghal), C Lehane (Midleton); L O’Farrell (Midleton), S Harnedy (St Ita’s), P Horgan (Glen Rovers).


A Nash (Kanturk), S Murphy (Blackrock), C O’Sullivan (Sarsfields), W Egan (Kilbrin), C Murphy (Mallow), N Cashman (Blackrock), D Kearney (Sarsfields), C Cormack (Blackrock), P O’Sullivan (Cloyne), S Moylan (Douglas), W Leahy (Aghada).


R Reid (Ballyhale Shamrocks); Paul Murphy (Danesfort), J Holden (Ballyhale Shamrocks), S Prendergast (Clara); P Walsh (Tullaroan), K Joyce (Rower-Inistioge), C Buckley (Dicksboro); C Fogarty (Erin’s Own), D Cody (James Stephens); C Fennelly (Ballyhale Shamrocks, TJ Reid (Ballyhale Shamrocks), C Martin (Emeralds); W Walsh (Tullogher-Rosbercon), R Hogan (Danesfort), K Kelly (St Patrick’s).

TIPPERARY (HL v Galway):

D Gleeson (Portroe); C Barrett (Holycross-Ballycahill), T Hamill (Moyne-Templetuohy), M Cahill (Thurles Sarsfields); B Heffernan (Nenagh Éire Óg), R Maher (Thurles Sarsfields), Pádraic Maher (Thurles Sarsfields); B Maher (Borrisoleigh), M Breen (Ballina); N McGrath (Loughmore-Castleiney), K Bergin (Killenaule), Patrick Maher (Lorrha-Dorrha); A Ryan (Templederry Kenyons), J McGrath (Loughmore-Castleiney), N O’Meara (Kilruane MacDonaghs).


B Hogan (Lorrha-Dorrha), J Barry (Upperchurch-Drombane), S Callanan (Drom & Inch), D McCormack (Borrisoleigh), L McGrath (Loughmore-Castleiney), K Morris (Moycarkey-Borris), C O’Brien (Éire Óg Annacarty), J O’Dwyer (Killenaule), D Quinn (Nenagh Éire Óg), G Ryan (Templederry Kenyons), W Ryan (Clonakenny).

WATERFORD (HL v Dublin):

S O’Keeffe (Ballygunner); S Fives (Tourin), B Coughlan (Ballygunner), N Connors (Passage); A Gleeson (Mount Sion), D Fives (Tourin), P Mahony (Ballygunner); J Barron (Fourmilewater), T Devine (Modeligo); K Moran (De La Salle), S Bennett (Ballysaggart), M Walsh (Stradbally); P Curran (Dungarvan), J Dillon (De La Salle), C Dunford (Colligan).

More in this section

GaaHurlingPlace: LoughmorePlace: Mount SionPerson: John CroninPerson: CroninPerson: Paul HaughneyPerson: Patrick CollinsPerson: Shane O’NeillPerson: Lorcan McLoughlinPerson: Anthony NashPerson: Mark EllisPerson: Cormac MurphyPerson: Daniel KearneyPerson: Patrick CroninPerson: Brian CodyPerson: DiarmuidPerson: Paul MurphyPerson: Conor MartinPerson: Lester RyanPerson: Jackie TyrrellPerson: James MaherPerson: Kieran BerginPerson: Adrian RyanPerson: BerginPerson: RyanPerson: Niall O’MearaPerson: P CollinsPerson: K BurkePerson: D CahalanePerson: S McDonnellPerson: S O’NeillPerson: C JoycePerson: Na PiarsaighPerson: L McLoughlinPerson: P HaughneyPerson: J CroninPerson: B LawtonPerson: B CooperPerson: YoughalPerson: C LehanePerson: L O’FarrellPerson: S HarnedyPerson: P HorganPerson: A NashPerson: S MurphyPerson: C O’SullivanPerson: W EganPerson: KilbrinPerson: C MurphyPerson: MallowPerson: N CashmanPerson: D KearneyPerson: C CormackPerson: P O’SullivanPerson: CloynePerson: S MoylanPerson: DouglasPerson: W LeahyPerson: AghadaPerson: KilkennyPerson: R ReidPerson: J HoldenPerson: S PrendergastPerson: ClaraPerson: P WalshPerson: K JoycePerson: Rower-InistiogePerson: C BuckleyPerson: C FogartyPerson: D CodyPerson: James StephensPerson: C FennellyPerson: TJ ReidPerson: C MartinPerson: W WalshPerson: R HoganPerson: K KellyPerson: D GleesonPerson: C BarrettPerson: T HamillPerson: Moyne-TempletuohyPerson: M CahillPerson: B HeffernanPerson: Nenagh Éire ÓgPerson: R MaherPerson: Pádraic MaherPerson: B MaherPerson: M BreenPerson: N McGrathPerson: K BerginPerson: Patrick MaherPerson: Lorrha-Person: A RyanPerson: Templederry KenyonsPerson: J McGrathPerson: N O’MearaPerson: Kilruane MacDonaghsPerson: B HoganPerson: Lorrha-DorrhaPerson: J BarryPerson: Upperchurch-DrombanePerson: S CallananPerson: Drom & InchPerson: D McCormackPerson: BorrisoleighPerson: L McGrathPerson: Loughmore-CastleineyPerson: K MorrisPerson: Moycarkey-BorrisPerson: C O’BrienPerson: Eire Og AnnacartyPerson: J O’DwyerPerson: KillenaulePerson: D QuinnPerson: G RyanPerson: W RyanPerson: ClonakennyPerson: S O’KeeffePerson: S FivesPerson: TourinPerson: B CoughlanPerson: N ConnorsPerson: PassagePerson: A GleesonPerson: D FivesPerson: P MahonyPerson: BallygunnerPerson: J BarronPerson: T DevinePerson: K MoranPerson: La SallePerson: S BennettPerson: BallysaggartPerson: M WalshPerson: StradballyPerson: P CurranPerson: J DillonPerson: De La SallePerson: C DunfordPerson: ColliganEvent: CorkOrganisation: CorkOrganisation: KilkennyOrganisation: GalwayOrganisation: WaterfordOrganisation: HLOrganisation: BallinhassigOrganisation: MidletonOrganisation: St Finbarr’sOrganisation: Glen RoversOrganisation: BishopstownOrganisation: LisgooldOrganisation: CastlemartyrOrganisation: St Ita’sOrganisation: BlackrockOrganisation: SarsfieldsOrganisation: Ballyhale ShamrocksOrganisation: DicksboroOrganisation: Erin’s OwnOrganisation: EmeraldsOrganisation: TullogherOrganisation: RosberconOrganisation: DanesfortOrganisation: St Patrick’sOrganisation: PortroeOrganisation: HolycrossOrganisation: Thurles SarsfieldsOrganisation: BorrisoleighOrganisation: BallinaOrganisation: De
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Visit our brain gym where you will find simple and cryptic crosswords, sudoku puzzles and much more. Updated at midnight every day. PS ... We would love to hear your feedback on the section right HERE.


Sat, Nov 27

Courcey Rovers v Castlelyons


Páirc Uí Chaoimh

Sun, Sept 26

Clyda Rovers

SAFC Round 2



Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Visit our brain gym where you will find simple and cryptic crosswords, sudoku puzzles and much more. Updated at midnight every day. PS ... We would love to hear your feedback on the section right HERE.