Ian Maguire to make return to Cork football panel

Ian Maguire will make his first senior football appearance for Cork in almost a year in Sunday’s McGrath Cup opener against Limerick in Mallow (2pm).

Ian Maguire to make return to Cork football panel

St Finbarr’s midfielder Maguire hasn’t played for the county since the league game against Monaghan last February, having been troubled by a back injury which prevented him from taking any part in the 2015 U21 campaign.

He is partnered at midfield by Ruairí Deane, another who has suffered with injury, having been hit with a cruciate ligament injury in 2014. In a largely experimental side, Colm O’Driscoll is selected at right corner-back while there are two Mark Collinses selected, with the O’Donovan Rossa wing-back joining his Castlehaven rival, who is picked at number 10.

Alan O’Donovan is rewarded for his good performances in Nemo Rangers’ county SFC win by being chosen at left half-back. Cork’s sub goalkeeper is Brendan O’Connell of Glanmire, better known as an Irish amateur soccer player.

William Egan returns as Cork hurlers begin their Munster SHL campaign on Sunday, travelling to Sixmilebridge to play Clare, a game which also begins at 2pm.

Egan last featured for the Rebels as a sub in the 2014 Munster final win over Limerick and opted off the panel last year, but he is selected at left half-back. County champions Glen Rovers stars Brian Moylan and Dean Brosnan are picked at right half-back and left half-forward respectively, with Bill Cooper at full-forward.

Meanwhile a leading GAA official believes it is only a matter of time before players seek compensation for the intrusion into their lives by social media.

Long-serving Roscommon official Michael Fahey, who recently stepped down after completing five years as county board chairman, reckons that GAA players will seek compensation from the association for the massive increase in the scrutiny of their lives.

Fahey said the advent of social media like Twitter and Facebook has left players open to more criticism, while the sale of TV rights to Sky Sports has also ramped up the pressure on players.

“The arrival of Sky Sports as one of our broadcast platforms has introduced pay per view to our games,” he said.

“Social media, Twitter, Facebook are now a source of information to the general public while YouTube can provide instant video on events and incidents that occur on and off the field.

“These are changes on and off the field that have increased pressure on players at all level and can be very intrusive into the lives of people who are amateurs.

“How long will players, especially high profile players, whose lives are open to continuous scrutiny, allow this to happen without compensation for living in this environment?

“It is something that needs to be looked at and our players have to be protected from intrusion into player’s private lives.”

Fahey, who was replaced as Roscommon chairman by Seamus Sweeney after his completion of a maximum five years in the position, admitted it was a different world when he took the role.

“A lot has changed in the GAA world. We have seen changes in the way our games are played, in particular football and to a lesser extent hurling,” he said.

“We as an association have faced challenges in the past and will continue to do so in the future. We must however ensure that we have a product that is enjoyable to watch, well organised and run in a proper manner that appeals to the public.

“If we do this, then we can face the future with confidence that our games will continue to be something we as members and supporters of the GAA love and enjoy.”

CORK (SF v Limerick):

M Martin (Nemo); C O’Driscoll (Tadhg Mac Cárthaigh), C Dorman (Bishopstown), J Davis (Douglas); M Collins (O’Donovan Rossa), T Clancy (Fermoy), A O’Donovan (Nemo Rangers); I Maguire (St Finbarr’s), R Deane (Bantry Blues); M Collins (Castlehaven), L Connolly (Nemo Rangers), K O’Driscoll (Tadhg Mac Cárthaigh); D Mac Eoin (Ilen Rovers), D Goulding (Éire Óg), S Hickey (Rockchapel). Subs: B O’Connell (Glanmire), L Harrington (Castletownbere), B Daly (Newmarket), S Beston (Mitchelstown), B Coughlan (Kinsale), B Hurley (Castlehaven), D Hazel (O’Donovan Rossa).

CORK (SH v Clare):

P Collins (Ballinhassig); C Twomey (Newtownshandrum), P O’Mahony (Midleton), C Spillane (Castlelyons); B Moylan (Glen Rovers), D Cahalane (St Finbarr’s), W Egan (Kilbrin); P Haughney (Midleton), M Ellis (Millstreet); W Leahy (Aghada), P O’Sullivan (Cloyne), D Brosnan (Glen Rovers); S Moylan (Douglas), B Cooper (Youghal), T Horgan (Newcestown). Subs: D Dalton (Fr O’Neills), N Cashman (Blackrock), D Browne (Kanturk), P O’Rourke (Na Pairsaigh), C Cormack (Blackrock), L Meade (Newcestown), T O’Mahony (Newcestownshandrum), S O’Neill (Bishopstown), C Murphy (Mallow), P Horgan (Glen Rovers), A Cadogan (Douglas).

MAYO (v NUI Galway, squad only in alphabetical order by surname):

C Boyle (Davitts), G Cafferkey (Ballina Stephenites), C Crowe (Garrymore), J Doherty (Burrishoole), A Farrell (Killala), M Flanagan (Balla), J Gibbons (Ballintubber), B Harrison (Aghamore), R Hennelly (Breaffy), K Higgins (Ballyhaunis), K Keane (Westport), D Kenny (Aghamore), C Loftus (Crossmolina), D McHale (Knockmore), S McHale (Knockmore), K McLoughlin (Knockmore), S Nally (Garrymore), P O’Hora (Ballina Stephenites), T Parsons (Charlestown), M Ronaldson (Shrule-Glencorrib), K Ruttledge (Knockmore), J Stretton (Claremorris), M Sweeney (Kiltane).

More in this section

CourtsGaaFootballIan MaguirePlace: MallowPlace: GlanmirePlace: SixmilebridgePerson: Ian MaguirePerson: MaguirePerson: Ruairi DeanePerson: Colm O’DriscollPerson: Mark CollinsesPerson: O’Donovan RossaPerson: Alan O’DonovanPerson: Brendan O’ConnellPerson: William EganPerson: EganPerson: Brian MoylanPerson: Dean BrosnanPerson: Bill CooperPerson: Michael FaheyPerson: FaheyPerson: Seamus SweeneyPerson: CorkPerson: M MartinPerson: C O’DriscollPerson: Tadhg Mac CárthaighPerson: C DormanPerson: J DavisPerson: DouglasPerson: M CollinsPerson: T ClancyPerson: A O’DonovanPerson: I MaguirePerson: R DeanePerson: L ConnollyPerson: K O’DriscollPerson: Mac CarthaighPerson: D Mac EoinPerson: D GouldingPerson: S HickeyPerson: B O’ConnellPerson: L HarringtonPerson: B DalyPerson: S BestonPerson: B CoughlanPerson: B HurleyPerson: D HazelPerson: P CollinsPerson: C TwomeyPerson: P O’MahonyPerson: C SpillanePerson: B MoylanPerson: DPerson: W EganPerson: P HaughneyPerson: M EllisPerson: W LeahyPerson: AghadaPerson: P O’SullivanPerson: CloynePerson: D BrosnanPerson: S MoylanPerson: BEvent: McGrath CupEvent: 2015 U21Event: Munster SHLEvent: 2014 Munster finalOrganisation: CorkOrganisation: LimerickOrganisation: St FinbarrOrganisation: MonaghanOrganisation: CastlehavenOrganisation: Nemo Rangers’Organisation: ClareOrganisation: Glen RoversOrganisation: GAAOrganisation: TwitterOrganisation: FacebookOrganisation: Sky SportsOrganisation: YouTubeOrganisation: RoscommonOrganisation: SFOrganisation: NemoOrganisation: BishopstownOrganisation: FermoyOrganisation: Nemo RangersOrganisation: St Finbarr’sOrganisation: Bantry BluesOrganisation: TadhgOrganisation: Ilen RoversOrganisation: ÉireOrganisation: RockchapelOrganisation: GlanmireOrganisation: CastletownbereOrganisation: NewmarketOrganisation: MitchelstownOrganisation: KinsaleOrganisation: SHOrganisation: BallinhassigOrganisation: NewtownshandrumOrganisation: MidletonOrganisation: CastlelyonsOrganisation: CahalaneOrganisation: KilbrinOrganisation: Millstreet
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Sport Push Notifications

By clicking on 'Sign Up' you will be the first to know about our latest and best sporting content on this browser.

Sign Up

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Cookie Policy Privacy Policy FAQ Help Contact Us Terms and Conditions

© Irish Examiner Ltd