Tralee CBS and Coláiste Na Sceilge crash out but free-scoring St Flannan’s reach quarter-finals

Corn Uí Mhuirí round-up: Despite beating CBS HS Clonmel in Group A, Tralee CBS exited the Corn Uí Mhuirí yesterday.
Tralee CBS and Coláiste Na Sceilge crash out but free-scoring St Flannan’s reach quarter-finals

Trailing by 2-6 to 0-6 at half-time — Shane O’Meara with both of the Clonmel goals — the Kerry school mounted a second-half fightback to triumph by 0-18 to 2-10, with Oisín O’Brien, Mikey Kelliher, Tomás O’Connor and Micheál Reidy all among the points. That result meant that Tralee, Clonmel and St Francis College, Rochestown, all finished on four points, but Tralee were the unlucky side to miss out on the quarter-finals on scoring difference.

In Group B, St Flannan’s College’s claimed a 6-8 to 3-9 win over Abbey CBS to finish on three points, the same as Coláiste na Sceilge. While head-to-head record is used when two sides are level, the schools had drawn when they met so scoring difference was employed and the eight-point win, combined with St Brendan’s big win over Sceilge, was enough to turn things Flannan’s way.

They led by 3-3 to 0-1 after the first quarter and 3-4 to 0-5 at half-time. While Abbey did bring the deficit back to four points at one stage, Flannan’s pushed on again. Gavin Cooney finished with 2-3 for the Ennis school, while Conor Lynch got two goals and Killian Mullins and Gearoid Cahill also raised green flags.

Tralee’s Mercy Mounthawk mounted a late comeback to claim a draw against Skibbereen’s St Fachtna’s De La Salle, but both sides bowed out of the competition.

Ryan Foley’s goal gave Fachtna’s a 1-4 to 0-4 half-time lead and they looked set to secure victory when Seán Minihane and Stephen Leonard raised further green flags in the second half. However, Ferdia O’Brien and Ryan Dolan both netted for Mounthawk late on and, while David Whelton did put Fachtna’s 3-6 to 2-8 in front, Gearóid Savage levelled.

More in this section

Sport Newsletter

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up