Pobalscoil Chorca Dhuibhne recover in fine style to progress

Pobalscoil Chorca Dhuibhne 2-10 Coláíste Chríost Rí 1-8: Pobalscoil Chorca Dhuibhne’s pulled off a remarkable recovery to keep their hopes of retaining their Corn Uí Mhuirí title alive at a sunny Fitzgerald Stadium yesterday.
Pobalscoil Chorca Dhuibhne recover in fine style to progress

The champions looked dead and buried at half-time, as Críost Rí were on top, with midfielder Mark O’Keeffe and forwards Mark Cronin and Cillian Myers-Murray running the show.

They led by 1-2 to a single Conchúir Ó Geibheannaigh free before Cronin teed up Mark Brosnan for a superb goal. Myers-Murray added three more points, with Shane Hurley and Mark Cronin also on target.

At the other end, the West Kerry School were restricted to a brace of frees from Ó Geibheannaigh and young keeper Deividas Uosis as they trailed by six points (1-7 to 0-4) at the break.

But Corca Dhuibhne stormed out on the restart with a superb goal from Kerry minor star Ó Geibheannaigh in the 34th minute.

Ó Geibheannaigh gave a masterclass in forward play from then on while manager Ciarán Ó Moráin some crucial substitutions. His first substitution, Cathal Feirtear, kicked a great score and Ó Geibheannaigh added two frees to level matters by the three-quarter mark.

Coláíste Chríost Rí had a few chances, but their scoring attempts drifted wide and their opponents kept growing in confidence.

Ó Geibheannaigh neatly drilled home a penalty after Tomás Mac an tSithigh was hauled down.

Sean Dennehy kicked a Críost Rí point, but a confident PS Chorca Dhuibhne closed it out with scores from Sean Ó Bambaire and sharpshooter Ó Geibheannaigh.

Scorers for PS Chorca Dhuibhne:

C. Ó Geibheannaigh (2-5, 5 frees), D. Uosis (0- 3, 3 frees), S. Ó Bambaire and C. Feirtear (0-1 each).

Scorers for Coláíste Chríost Rí:

M. Brosnan (1-1), C. Myers-Murray (0-4, 1 free), M. Cronin, S. Dennehy, S. Hurley (0-1 each).


D. Uosis; B. Ó Conchúir, T. Ó Suilleabháin, M. Ó Baoill; T. Breathnach, R. Ó Máinnín, P.P. Sauerland; S. Ó Luing, M. Agha; L. Ó Bambaire, T. Mac an tSithigh, P. Ó Sé; M. Ó Beolláin, C. Ó Geibheannaigh, S. Ó Bambaire.


C. Feirtear for S. Ó Bambaire (19), F. Sauerland for M. Ó Beolláin (ht), F. Ó Cúanaigh for P. Ó Sé (half-time).


M. O’Mahony; C. Scully, M. Crowley, E. O’Keeffe; B. Cripps, C. Dennehy, J. O’Brien; M. O’Keeffe, J. Ryan; M. Cronin, S. Dennehy, D. Lucey; M. Brosnan, S. Hurley, C. Myers-Murray.


C. Kiely for B. Cripps, (ht), J. Coughlan for M. Crowley, (57).


R. Moloney (Limerick).

More in this section


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Home Delivery


Have the Irish Examiner delivered to your door. No delivery charge. Just pay the cover price.