Slicker Templenoe set up final date with Coolmeen

Templenoe (Kerry) 0-16 Bandon (Cork) 1-10: Templenoe qualified for this year’s AIB Munster JFC decider after an intense battle with Bandon in Clonakilty on Saturday.
Slicker Templenoe set up final date with Coolmeen

The Kerry side proved too strong for a Bandon team that began without the services of injured trio Donough Lucey, Barry Collins and Joe Harrington.

A slicker Templenoe kept the scoreboard ticking over throughout the hour while Bandon relied heavily on star forward Mark Sugrue to stay in touch.

“We knew it was going to be tough and that we were in for a battle coming down to Clonakilty,” admitted Templenoe bainisteoir Mike Crowley.

“Winter conditions are never easy to play in but in fairness to our lads they started well before getting drawn into a bit of a dogfight. People talk about our forward line a lot but we have a fairly mean back division as well. They showed that when things got tough. Semi-finals are games you have to win and in fairness to Bandon, they put in some effort. They could have stolen a late goal to level it so we are just delighted to be in the Munster final.”

Despite the defeat, opposing manager Colm Aherne paid tribute to his team’s efforts and their commitment throughout a long year.

“I’m immensely proud of the entire squad but sometimes you meet a team that’s better than you on the day,” said Crowley.

“Losing the three lads to injury didn’t help but the guys who came in did very well.

“Templenoe got off to a very good and start and we found it hard to claw them back. We just couldn’t reel them in during the closing stages.”

An attendance of over 1,000 witnessed a thrilling finale in which Bandon emptied their substitute’s bench and reduced the deficit to a goal with time ticking down.

Templenoe’s impressive defence stood firm and ensured their progress to a Munster final against Coolmeen (Clare).

Scorers for Templenoe:

C Hallissey 0-5 (4 frees), K Spillane 0-4 (1 free), D Cahalane and T Doyle (1 45’) 0-2 each, P Clifford, B Crowley and S Sheehan 0-1 each.

Scorers for Bandon:

M Sugrue 1-7 (0-6 frees), J Hickey 0-2, M McNamara 0-1.


A Sheehan; K O’Neill, T Morley, M Hallissey; P Clifford, J Spillane, G Crowley; S Sheehan, A Spillane; J Holland, B Crowley, D Cahalane; K Spillane, T Doyle, C Hallissey.


S O’Sullivan for B Crowley (29), S Cremin for J Holland (36).


P Prendergast; B Crowley, K Lucey, E O’Donovan; P O’Brien, P Murphy, J O’Donovan; J Hickey, J Walsh; P Crowley, A Johnson, D Aherne; D Crowley, R Crowley, M Sugrue.


C Dullea for B Crowley (9, bc), M Prendergast for J O’Donovan (24), M McNamara for D Aherne (32), J Mulcahy for R Crowley (48), C O’Mahony for P Crowley (48), B Collins for A Johnson (59).


Sean Lonergan (Tipperary).

More in this section

Sport Newsletter

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up