Milford make it four on the bounce

Milford (Cork) 5-18 Newmarket-on-Fergus (Clare) 1-9: Milford maintained their firm grip on the Munster Senior Camogie Club Championship with a comprehensive victory over Newmarket-on-Fergus to complete a four-in-a-row of titles in Ballyagran, Limerick on Sunday.

Milford make it four on the bounce

With the fixture being postponed by 24 hours due to the inclement weather, the holders wasted no more time in putting the newcomers to the sword as Maria O’Neill’s brace of goals pushed her side into a third minute lead that they would never look like relinquishing.

The eight--time Clare champions did hit back with a goal through Ann Marie Hayes three minutes later but it was only a brief reprieve as Emer Watson added 1-6 to ensure that the Cork champions held a 3-10 to 1-5 advantage by the break, despite playing against the wind.

Any glimmer of hope Newmarket harboured of a fightback on the restart was quickly quashed as Milford continued their rampage with 1-3 without reply in the opening six minutes, with Cork dual star Deirdre O’Reilly claiming the goal.

A superb move led to their fifth in the 40th minute for Maria Watson, a score which allowed the back-to-back All-Ireland champions to empty their bench and still ease up to another bite at national honours despite a strong finish from Newmarket.

Scorers for Milford:

E Watson (1-7, 5 frees); M O’Neill (2-2); D O’Reilly, M Watson (1-1 each); L Stack (0-3); A Thompson (0-2); A Dillon, E O’Friel (0-1 each).

Scorers for Newmarket-on-Fergus:

R McMahon (0-6, 6 frees); AM Hayes (1-0); R Kelleher, I Kaiser, J Kelly (0-1 each).


R Finn; D Hayes, K Galvin, L Healy; E O’Riordan, A Watson, A Geary; O O’Mahony, A Thompson; L Stack, D O’Reilly, M Walsh; M O’Neill, E Watson, M Watson.


C O’Connor for Galvin (half-time), E O’Friel for O’Reilly (44), L Hanley for A Watson (47), A Dillon for M Watson (50), S Sexton for O’Riordan (53).


C Kaiser; J O’Leary, L McMahon, A Keogh; A McInerney, R McMahon, A Griffin; R Kaiser, C O’Leary; R Kelleher, I Kaiser, J Walsh; AM Hayes, N Kaiser, J Kelly.


G McInerney for Keogh (18), A Kilmartin for Walsh (42), A Feehily for Hayes (55), K O’Flanagan for A McInerney (57), M McMahon for Kelleher (59).


Kevin O’Brien (Limerick).

More in this section

Sport Newsletter

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up