Good start lays the foundation for 14-man Pobalscoil Chorca Dhuibhne

Pobalscoil Chorca Dhuibhne 1-11 De La Salle, Macroom 1-3: Holders Pobalscoil Chorca Dhuibhne are still alive in this season’s Corn Ui Mhuiri, after proving far too strong for De La Salle, Macroom at Lewis Road, Killarney, despite playing almost the entire second half with 14 players.

Good start lays the foundation for 14-man Pobalscoil Chorca Dhuibhne

Tactically, Corca Dhuibhne have changed from previous years, as they now play very defensively, using a mix of the fast break and the long ball to Kerry minor star Conor Geaney.

DSL Macroom were never able to deal with a blanket defence and found Geaney a handful, despite having corner-forward Brian Hinchion sweeping in front of the Dingle sharpshooter.

Corca Dhuibhne laid the foundations for this crucial win in the opening 20 minutes when they raced 0-7 to 0-1 in front, as Macroom turned the ball over with alarming regularity or were stripped of possession by a phalanx of Dingle defenders.

Geaney was drawing fouls and kicked 0-3, including a fine effort from play in the third minute. Tomas Sheehy kicked two superb points from distance, while the industrious Padraig Oigi Ó Se and keeper Devidas Usosis converted frees.

For Macroom, Chris Óg Jones looked a threat, but got poor supply, though he kicked an eighth-minute beauty. Macroom did not score again until first half injury-time, a Mark Healy free.

Macroom enjoyed their only spell of dominance during the opening 10 minutes of the second period. In the 36th minute, Corca Dhuibhne lost centre back Ryan Manning to a second yellow, before John O’Mullane crossed for Cathal Foley to finish.

Macroom sub Greg Fitton also struck the post with a bullet drive and they also had two wides in this period. But PS Chorca Dhuibhne regained control with Sean Ó Bambaire and Tomás Breathnach outstanding at the back and Conor Geaney kicking three more points. And the game was up when sub Fergal Cooney collected from Geaney and drilling to the net. There was more delight for PS Chorca Dhuibhne when they heard Sliabh Luachra had beaten Críost Rí.

Scorers PS Chorca Dhuibhne:

C O Geibheannaigh (0-6, 4 frees); F O Cuanaigh (1-0), T Mac a ’tSithigh (0-2), D Usosis (f), P Oigi O Se (f), S O Cathain (0-1 each)

Scorers De La Salle Macroom:

C Foley (1-0), A Quinn, C Og Jones, M Healy (f) (0-1 each).

PS Chorca Dhuibhne:

D Usosis, B O Conchuir, T L O’Sullivan, M Boyle, T Breathnach, R Manning, P P Sauerland, S O Lúing, M Aghas, L O Breathnach, T Mac a ‘tSithigh, P Oigi O Se, M O Beolain, C O Geibheannaigh, S O Bambaire:


C Firtear for P Oigi O Se ( 40), S O Cathain for P P Sauerland ( 54), F O Cuanaigh for M O Beolain (54), N O Geibheannaigh for T L O Suilleabhain ( B/C 58):

De La Salle Macroom:

J Aynsley, J Cronin, L Wall, K Murphy, T Tobin, K Kelliher, J O Mullane, A Quinn, C Foley, B O Gorman, C Dineen, E O’Gorman, B Hinchion, M Healy, C Og Jones: Subs:

L O’Sullivan for T Tobin (h/t), C Fitton for C Dineen (H/T):


P Hayes (Kerins O’Rahilly’s)

More in this section

courtsgaafootballplace: lewis roadplace: killarneyperson: corn uí mhuiríperson: macroomperson: kerryperson: conor geaneyperson: geaneyperson: brian hinchionperson: tomás sheehyperson: padraig oigi ó seperson: devidas usosisperson: chris óg jonesperson: mark healyperson: corca dhuibhneperson: ryan manningperson: john o’mullaneperson: cathal foleyperson: greg fittonperson: seán ó bambaireperson: tomás breathnachperson: fergal cooneyperson: sliabh luachraperson: críost ríperson: c ó géibheannaighperson: f ó cuanaighperson: t mac a ’tsithighperson: p oigi o seperson: s o cathainperson: c foleyperson: quinnperson: c óg jonesperson: m healyperson: b o conchuirperson: t l o’sullivanperson: m boyleperson: t breathnachperson: r manningperson: p p sauerlandperson: s ó lúingperson: m aghasperson: l o breathnachperson: t mac a ‘tsithighperson: m o beolainperson: s o bambaireperson: pperson: óigí o séperson: sauerlandperson: n ó géibheannaighperson: t l o suilleabhainperson: de la salle macroomperson: j aynsleyperson: j croninperson: l wallperson: k murphyperson: t tobinperson: k kelliherperson: j o mullaneperson: a quinnperson: b o gormanperson: c dineenperson: e o’gormanperson: b hinchionperson: l o’sullivanperson: c fittonperson: p hayesperson: kerins o’rahillyorganisation: pobalscoil chorcaorganisation: pobalscoil chorca dhuibhneorganisation: de la salleorganisation: corca dhuibhneorganisation: dslorganisation: dingleorganisation: ps chorca dhuibhneorganisation: chorca dhuibhne

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up