Emmet Óg march on with second-half points surge against Navan O’Mahony’s

Emmet Óg 0-11 Navan O’Mahony’s 1-06: Six second-half points in a row helped Longford champions Emmet Óg advance to the Leinster Club SFC semi-final.
Emmet Óg march on with second-half points surge against Navan O’Mahony’s

Despite taking an early lead, the Killoe side found themselves trailing to O’Mahony’s by two points at the break.

Ruairi Ó Coileain’s goal in the first half had given his side the lead in the 20th minute. They led by two at the break.

O’Mahony’s put three between them at the start of the second half but then Killoe came back, with Michael Quinn kicking over a fine point in the 35th minute.

Cousins Joe and Sean McCormack (two) hit over points while midfielder Simon Kiernan kicked over two excellent points to put his side ahead by three in the 43rd. ’Mahony’s cut the gap to one in the 52nd minute with points from Shane Gillespie and Ruairi O’Coileain.

Both sides then squandered chances. In stoppage time, Mark Hughes was fouled and Sean McCormack kicked over the free.

O’Mahony’s knew they needed a goal if they were to claim a dramatic win but the Killoe defence were resolute.

O’Mahony’s misery was compounded when Ó Coileain was sent off for striking Hughes.

Scorers for Emmet Óg: S McCormack (0-4, 2 frees), D McGoldrick (0-3, frees), S Kiernan (0-2), J McCormack, M Quinn (0-1 each).

Scorers for Navan O’Mahony’s: R O’Coileain (1-3, 3 frees), S Gillespie (0-2), C McGuinness (0-1)

EMMETT ÓG: C Burns; L Hughes, P McCormack (S Clarke 53), D Keogh; J McCormack, M Quinn, C Farrelly; P Thompson, S Kiernan; D McGoldrick (L Moran 60), D Mimnagh, P Kiernan; L Moran (E Clarke 34), S McCormack, M Hughes.

NAVAN O’MAHONY’S: M Brennan; J O’Reilly, N McKeigue (S MacGabhann 43), D Smyth; B Dillon, D Maguire, G O’Brien; C McGuinness, K Reilly; Ruairi O’Coileain, S Bray, Alan Forde; S Gillespie, D Bray (H Finnegan 45), J Regan (R Maguire 49).

Referee: B Cawley Kildare)

More in this section

Sport Newsletter

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up