Philly McMahon shortlisted for player award

Dublin’s Philly McMahon is in line to pick up the 2015 footballer-of-the-year award, having been named on the all-Dublin three-person shortlist.

Philly McMahon shortlisted for player award

The 28-year old is one of 11 Dublin players to receive an All Star nomination and is a dead certainty for a first All Star at left corner-back. He didn’t even manage a nomination when Jim Gavin’s men won the All-Ireland in 2013.

Shortlisted alongside team-mates Jack McCaffrey and Bernard Brogan for footballer-of-the-year, it remains to be seen how much of an impact his off-the-ball exploits play on his chances of outright success.

Although a pivotal figure for Jim Gavin’s side in their third All-Ireland success in five years — he kicked 1-3 between the semi-final replay and final — his conduct has been called into question amid accusations he head-butted Mayo’s Aidan O’Shea and eye-gouged Kieran Donaghy in the decider.

Both O’Shea and Colm Cooper did not shake his hand after the semi-final and final, respectively, while it was reported at the weekend that McMahon was the initial choice for the RTÉ All-Ireland final man-of-the-match award, but was overlooked owing to his altercation with the Kerry captain.

For him, criticism from others or individual trinkets matter little.

“I go out to play football and, thankfully, the way I’ve played, people are talking about me getting man-of-the-matches and player-of-the-year awards. Those personal accolades don’t mean very much to me, unless I do my job for the team,” he told Sean O’Rourke on RTÉ Radio 1 yesterday.

The entire Dublin defence made the cut; Stephen Cluxton, Denis Bastick, Paul Flynn and Dean Rock the players overlooked.

Kerry managed eight nominations, with neither Colm Cooper nor Kieran Donaghy featuring. A less than convincing summer for the Kerry rearguard is reflected in the fact that Shane Enright and Jonathan Lyne are the only two defenders deemed worthy of a nomination.

Goalkeeper Brendan Kealy, Enright, Lyne, midfielder Anthony Maher and forward pair Paul Geaney and Donnchadh Walsh are all chasing a first gong.

Semi-finalists Mayo and Tyrone both picked up seven nominations and there are well-deserved nods for Peter Harte, Mattie Donnelly, Diarmuid O’Connor and Aidan O’Shea.

Michael Murphy is the sole Donegal forward listed from their five nominations, ditto Conor McManus of the Monaghan quartet.

Fermanagh, Westmeath and Laois are represented through forwards Seán Quigley, Kieran Martin and Donie Kingston, the latter’s performances earning recognition even though they arrived in late May and early June.

Diarmuid O’Connor (Mayo), Ryan McHugh (Donegal), Ryan Wylie (Monaghan) are the three nominees for the young footballer of the year.

Meanwhile, All-Ireland camogie champions Cork have received 13 All Star nominations. The two members of the starting team from the final win over Galway to miss out are newcomers Méabh Cahalane and Hannah Looney.

Among those to make the 45-person shortlist are goalkeeper Aoife Murray, centre-back Gemma O’Connor, All-Ireland final player-of-the-match Orla Cotter and history-making dual pair Briege Corkery and Rena Buckley.

Defeated finalists Galway garnered 11 nominations, including half-forward Emma Kilkelly, who did not feature in the decider having torn her ACL in the semi-final.

Semi-finalists Wexford had six players on the list, with five Kilkenny women selected.

Dave Cuddy (Laois), Seán Fleming (Waterford) and Paudie Murray (Cork) are among the nominees for manager-of-the-year.

The 12th annual All Stars camogie banquet will take place at Citywest Hotel on Saturday, November 7.

2015 All Star football nominations

Goalkeepers (3): B Kealy (Kerry), P Durcan (Donegal), R Beggan (Monaghan).

Defenders (18): J Cooper, Rory O’Carroll, P McMahon, J McCarthy, C O’Sullivan, J McCaffrey (all Dublin), S Enright, J Lyne (both Kerry), K Higgins, L Keegan, C Barrett (all Mayo), C McCarron, R McNamee, R McNabb (all Tyrone), V Corey, K O’Connell (both Monaghan), F McGlynn, R McHugh (both Donegal).

Midfielders (6): B Fenton (Dublin), A Maher, D Moran (both Kerry), T Parsons (Mayo), N Gallagher (Donegal), C Cavanagh (Tyrone).

Forwards (18): C Kilkenny, D Connolly, P Andrews, B Brogan (all Dublin), D Walsh, J O’Donoghue, P Geaney (all Kerry), D O’Connor, C O’Connor, A O’Shea (all Mayo), M Donnelly, P Harte, S Cavanagh (all Tyrone), M Murphy (Donegal), C McManus (Monaghan), S Quigley (Fermanagh), K Martin (Westmeath), D Kingston (Laois).

County breakdown: Dublin 11, Kerry 8, Mayo 7, Tyrone 7, Donegal 5, Monaghan 4, Fermanagh 1, Westmeath 1, Laois 1.

Footballer of the year (3): Jack McCaffrey, Bernard Brogan, Philly McMahon (all Dublin).

Young footballer of the year (3): Diarmuid O’Connor (Mayo), Ryan McHugh (Donegal), Ryan Wylie (Monaghan).

More in this section

CourtsGaaFootballPlace: DublinPlace: FermanaghPlace: WestmeathPlace: DonegalPlace: MonaghanPlace: Citywest HotelPerson: Philly McMahonPerson: Jim GavinPerson: Jack McCaffreyPerson: Bernard BroganPerson: MayoPerson: Aidan O’SheaPerson: Kieran DonaghyPerson: O’SheaPerson: Colm CooperPerson: McMahonPerson: Sean O’RourkePerson: Stephen CluxtonPerson: Denis BastickPerson: Paul FlynnPerson: Dean RockPerson: KerryPerson: Shane EnrightPerson: Jonathan LynePerson: Brendan KealyPerson: EnrightPerson: LynePerson: Anthony MaherPerson: Paul GeaneyPerson: Donnchadh WalshPerson: TyronePerson: Peter HartePerson: Mattie DonnellyPerson: Diarmuid O’ConnorPerson: Michael MurphyPerson: DonegalPerson: Conor McManusPerson: Sean QuigleyPerson: Kieran MartinPerson: Donie KingstonPerson: Ryan McHughPerson: Ryan WyliePerson: Meabh CahalanePerson: Hannah LooneyPerson: Aoife MurrayPerson: Gemma O’ConnorPerson: Orla CotterPerson: Briege CorkeryPerson: Rena BuckleyPerson: Emma KilkellyPerson: Dave CuddyPerson: Sean FlemingPerson: Paudie MurrayPerson: KealyPerson: P DurcanPerson: R BegganPerson: J CooperPerson: Rory O’CarrollPerson: P McMahonPerson: J McCarthyPerson: C O’SullivanPerson: J McCaffreyPerson: S EnrightPerson: J LynePerson: K HigginsPerson: L KeeganPerson: C BarrettPerson: C McCarronPerson: R McNameePerson: R McNabbPerson: V CoreyPerson: K O’ConnellPerson: F McGlynnPerson: R McHughPerson: B FentonPerson: A MaherPerson: D MoranPerson: T ParsonsPerson: N GallagherPerson: C CavanaghPerson: D ConnollyPerson: P AndrewsPerson: B BroganPerson: D WalshPerson: J O’DonoghuePerson: P GeaneyPerson: D O’ConnorPerson: C O’ConnorPerson: A O’SheaPerson: M DonnellyPerson: P HartePerson: S CavanaghPerson: M MurphyPerson: C McManusPerson: S QuigleyPerson: K MartinPerson: D KingstonEvent: All-IrelandEvent: IrelandEvent: All Stars camogieOrganisation: RTÉ Radio 1Organisation: CorkOrganisation: GalwayOrganisation: WexfordOrganisation: KilkennyOrganisation: LaoisOrganisation: WaterfordOrganisation: DonegalOrganisation: DublinOrganisation: MayoOrganisation: TyroneOrganisation: KerryOrganisation: MonaghanOrganisation: Fermanagh
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Visit our brain gym where you will find simple and cryptic crosswords, sudoku puzzles and much more. Updated at midnight every day. PS ... We would love to hear your feedback on the section right HERE.


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Visit our brain gym where you will find simple and cryptic crosswords, sudoku puzzles and much more. Updated at midnight every day. PS ... We would love to hear your feedback on the section right HERE.