Reds win all-Cork decider

Cork Reds 1-14 Cork Whites 1-5

Reds win all-Cork decider

Cork dominated the Munster U15 Football Tournament providing optimism for the future after Cork Reds won the Humphrey Kelleher Memorial Cup with a comfortable victory over Cork Whites in Millstreet on Saturday.

Eight teams from across the province competed and it speaks volume for the work of the Rebel Óg development squad that the county provided the two finalists.

Cork coach James McCarthy said: “We had the work undertaken, our objective was to win one game at a time, the lads showing great heart and togetherness. At management level, we’ve got former Cork players such as Noel O’Leary involved. It’s been a great day’s work to overcome stiff tests. The development squads are working a treat, clubs are committed and importantly, the players are coming through the system.”

Greasy conditions made this game difficult for the players, with inconsistency from frees and play causing the wides tally to build before a point from captain Mark Keane helped Cork Reds lead 0-3 to 0-2 at the interval. The standard of play improved significantly after the resumption, and with Cork Reds driven on by Keane, Jack Murphy and Charlie Lyons, they enjoyed a productive passage with points from Blake Murphy, Mark Cronin and Conor Russell.

Cork Whites rallied and flags risen by Seán Desmond and Liam Twohig helped cut the gap to the minimum. The Reds kept their heads to wrestle back the initiative, Murphy and Cronin points put daylight between the teams. But their opponents refused to surrender and were rewarded with a Niall Murphy goal. The Reds response proved calm and effective, James O’Mullane and Keane split the uprights before Darragh McElhinney found O’Mullane to blast to the net to complete a rewarding afternoon for Rebel sides.

In the Shield Final, Clare boosted by a key goal from Gearóid Cahill, overcame Tipperary 1-6 to 0-5.

Scorers for Cork Reds:

M Cronin: 0-5(0-2f), J O’Mullane (1-2), M Keane (0-2), B Murphy (0-2), C Lyons, C Russell 0-1 each.

Scorers for Cork Whites:

N Murphy (1-0), A Hennessey, C Crowley, S Desmond, L Twohig, D McElhinney(f) 0-1 each.


J O’Keeffe (Newmarket); O Carroll(Douglas), D Twomey(Éire Óg), J Corcoran(Nemo Rangers); J Murphy(Éire Óg), C Lyons(Valley Rovers), C Crowley(Aghinagh); M Keane(Mitchelstown), B Murphy(Na Piarsaigh); M Bushe(Ilen Rovers), M Cronin(Nemo Rangers), C Walsh(Cullen); K Murphy(Glanmire), C Russell(Douglas), R Dalton(Nemo Rangers).


F Herlihy(Sam Maguires), D Lardner(Fermoy), P O’Shea(Granard Gaels), B Murphy(Boherbue), D O’Neill(Castlehaven); J O’Mullane(Kilmurry), G Lardner(Fermoy), R O’Driscoll(Bandon), C McManus(Kilshannig).


S Masterson(Glanworth); D O’Mahony(Knocknagree), O Carroll(Mallow), J Kelleher(Glanmire); J Collins(Ilen Rovers), S Desmond(Clondrohid), N Murphy(Nemo Rangers); N O’Sullivan(Adrigole), C Crowley(Glanmire); A Hennessey(St. Michaels), T Downes(Mallow), D McElhinney(Glengarriffe); S Curtin(Croke Rovers), G O’Connell(Bandon), L Twohig(Aghinagh).


C O’Donoughue(Clonakilty), C Harrington(Kildorrery), C O’Brien(Glanmire), J O’Neill(Urhan), R O’Sullivan(Adrigole), C Lankford(Killavullen), E Connolly(O’Donovan Rossa), M O’Riordan(Grenagh), C Smith(Aghabullogue).


M Moynihan(Grenagh).

More in this section

courtsgaafootballplace: millstreetperson: james mccarthyperson: noel o’learyperson: mark keaneperson: keaneperson: jack murphyperson: charlie lyonsperson: blake murphyperson: mark croninperson: conor russellperson: sean desmondperson: liam twohigperson: murphyperson: niall murphyperson: james o’mullaneperson: darragh mcelhinneyperson: o’mullaneperson: gearóid cahillperson: m croninperson: j o’mullaneperson: m keaneperson: b murphyperson: c lyonsperson: c russellperson: n murphyperson: a hennesseyperson: c crowleyperson: s desmondperson: l twohigperson: dperson: mcelhinneyperson: j o’keeffeperson: o carrollperson: d twomeyperson: j corcoranperson: j murphyperson: m busheperson: c walshperson: cullenperson: k murphyperson: douglasperson: r daltonperson: f herlihyperson: sam maguiresperson: d lardnerperson: fermoyperson: p o’sheaperson: granard gaelsperson: boherbueperson: d o’neillperson: kilmurryperson: g lardnerperson: r o’driscollperson: bandonperson: c mcmanusperson: kilshannigperson: corkperson: s mastersonperson: glanworthperson: d o’mahonyperson: knocknagreeperson: mallowperson: j kelleherperson: glanmireperson: j collinsperson: clondrohidperson: n o’sullivanperson: adrigoleperson: st. michaelsperson: t downesperson: d mcelhinneyperson: glengarriffeperson: s curtinperson: g o’connellperson: c o’donoughueperson: c harringtonperson: kildorreryperson: c o’brienperson: j o’neillperson: urhanperson: r o’sullivanperson: c lankfordperson: killavullenperson: e connollyperson: o’donovan rossaperson: m o’riordanperson: grenaghperson: c smithperson: aghabullogueperson: m moynihanevent: memorial cupevent: munster u15 football tournamentevent: humphrey kelleher memorial cuporganisation: redsorganisation: corkorganisation: cork redsorganisation: cork whitesorganisation: humphrey kelleherorganisation: rebel óg development squadorganisation: croninorganisation: newmarketorganisation: éire ógorganisation: nemo rangersorganisation: valley roversorganisation: aghinaghorganisation: mitchelstownorganisation: na piarsaighorganisation: ilen roversorganisation: castlehavenorganisation: croke roversorganisation: bandon

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up

Discover the

Install our free app today

Available on


Have the Irish Examiner delivered to your door. No delivery charge. Just pay the cover price.