Aidan Ryan makes surprise return as JBM reshapes Cork for league final clash

Aidan Ryan is a surprise inclusion as Cork make three changes for Sunday’s Allianz HL Division 1 final against Waterford in Semple Stadium (3.30pm).

Aidan Ryan makes surprise return as JBM reshapes Cork for league final clash

Midleton’s Ryan is selected at full-back as the Rebels hunt a first league title in 17 years, while Mark Ellis and Cormac Murphy both return to the half-back line after missing the semi-final win over Dublin a fortnight ago.

Ryan last lined out competitively for Cork in the 2010 league, when he started against Dublin and came off the bench against Limerick. Recent impressive performances against Laois and Kilkenny have persuaded Jimmy Barry-Murphy to opt for him at No.3 in a direct switch with Damien Cahalane.

William Kearney is on the bench, allowing Stephen McDonnell to drop to corner-back. The other starter against the Dubs to miss out is attacker Luke O’Farrell, with his replacement by Ellis causing a chain reaction of switches. The Millstreet man slots in in at centre-back, freeing Aidan Walsh to return to midfield alongside Daniel Kearney. Rob O’Shea is at left half-forward, with Conor Lehane now taking the No.14 shirt from clubmate O’Farrell.

Waterford are expected to name their team tomorrow night.

Meanwhile, New York’s team for Sunday’s Connacht SFC clash with Galway (Gaelic Park, 8pm Irish time) includes JJ Mathews (Longford), PJ Banville (Wexford), Niall McFeeley (Derry) and Darren Freeman (Monaghan).

Tipperary are unchanged for their Under-21 football final with Tyrone.

CORK (SH v Waterford):

A Nash (Kanturk); S O’Neill (Bishopstown), A Ryan (Midleton), S McDonnell (Glen Rovers); L McLoughlin (Kanturk), M Ellis (Millstreet), C Murphy (Mallow); D Kearney (Sarsfields), A Walsh (Kanturk); B Cooper (Youghal), S Harnedy (St Ita’s), R O’Shea (Carrigaline); A Cadogan (Douglas), C Lehane (Midleton), P Horgan (Glen Rovers). Subs: P Collins (Ballinhassig), D Cahalane (St Finbarr’s), K Burke (Midleton), W Kearney (Sarsfields), B Lawton (Castlemartyr), P Cronin (Bishopstown), D McCarthy (Ballymartle), P O’Sullivan (Cloyne), S Moylan (Douglas), L O’Farrell (Midleton), J Coughlan (Newtownshandrum).

NEW YORK (SF v Galway):

G Joyce (Down); R McGinley (Tyrone), G McCartan (Down), K Quinn (Down); B Gibbons (Mayo), K Scally (Westmeath), C Maginn (Down); A Hope (Dublin), B Connor (Offaly); R Wherity (Donegal), N McFeeley (Derry), D Freeman (Monaghan); JJ Mathews (Longford), PJ Banville (Wexford), G O’Driscoll (Kerry).

TIPPERARY (U21F v Tyrone):

E Comerford (Kilsheelan-Kilcash); K Fahey (Clonmel Commercials), J Feehan (Killenaule), C O’Shaughnessy (Ardfinnan); R Mulcahy (Moyle Rovers), L Boland (Moyle Rovers), B Maher (Kilsheelan-Kilcash); S O’Brien (Ballina), C O’Riordan (JK Brackens); J Lonergan (Clonmel Commercials), I Fahey (Clonmel Commercials), L Casey (Cahir); K O’Halloran (Portroe), J Keane (Golden Kilfeacle), P Maher (Kilsheelan Kilcash)

More in this section

CourtsGaaHurlingAidan RyanCorkWaterfordPlace: Semple StadiumPlace: ParkPlace: New YorkPerson: Aidan RyanPerson: RyanPerson: Mark EllisPerson: Cormac MurphyPerson: Jimmy Barry-MurphyPerson: Damien CahalanePerson: William KearneyPerson: Stephen McDonnellPerson: Luke O’FarrellPerson: EllisPerson: Aidan WalshPerson: Daniel KearneyPerson: Rob O’SheaPerson: Conor LehanePerson: O’FarrellPerson: JJ MathewsPerson: PJ BanvillePerson: Niall McFeeleyPerson: Darren FreemanPerson: CorkPerson: A NashPerson: S O’NeillPerson: A RyanPerson: S McDonnellPerson: L McLoughlinPerson: M EllisPerson: C MurphyPerson: D KearneyPerson: A WalshPerson: B CooperPerson: YoughalPerson: S HarnedyPerson: R O’SheaPerson: A CadoganPerson: DouglasPerson: C LehanePerson: P HorganPerson: P CollinsPerson: D CahalanePerson: K BurkePerson: W KearneyPerson: B LawtonPerson: P CroninPerson: D McCarthyPerson: P O’SullivanPerson: CloynePerson: S MoylanPerson: L O’FarrellPerson: J CoughlanPerson: G JoycePerson: R McGinleyPerson: G McCartanPerson: K QuinnPerson: B GibbonsPerson: K ScallyPerson: C MaginnPerson: A HopePerson: B ConnorPerson: R WherityPerson: N McFeeleyPerson: D FreemanPerson: G O’DriscollPerson: E ComerfordPerson: K FaheyPerson: J FeehanPerson: C O’ShaughnessyPerson: R MulcahyPerson: L BolandPerson: B MaherPerson: S O’BrienPerson: C O’RiordanPerson: JK BrackensPerson: J LonerganPerson: I FaheyPerson: L CaseyPerson: CahirPerson: K O’HalloranPerson: J KeanePerson: P MaherPerson: Kilsheelan KilcashEvent: HL Division 1Event: Connacht SFCEvent: Under-21 football finalOrganisation: JBMOrganisation: CorkOrganisation: WaterfordOrganisation: DublinOrganisation: LimerickOrganisation: LaoisOrganisation: KilkennyOrganisation: DubsOrganisation: MillstreetOrganisation: GalwayOrganisation: LongfordOrganisation: WexfordOrganisation: DerryOrganisation: MonaghanOrganisation: TipperaryOrganisation: TyroneOrganisation: SHOrganisation: KanturkOrganisation: BishopstownOrganisation: MidletonOrganisation: SarsfieldsOrganisation: St Ita’sOrganisation: CarrigalineOrganisation: Glen RoversOrganisation: BallinhassigOrganisation: St Finbarr’sOrganisation: CastlemartyrOrganisation: BallymartleOrganisation: NewtownshandrumOrganisation: DownOrganisation: MayoOrganisation: WestmeathOrganisation: OffalyOrganisation: DonegalOrganisation: KerryOrganisation: U21FOrganisation: KilsheelanOrganisation: Clonmel CommercialsOrganisation: KillenauleOrganisation: ArdfinnanOrganisation: Moyle RoversOrganisation: BallinaOrganisation: PortroeOrganisation: Golden
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Execution Time: 0.265 s