UL claim Irish Examiner O’ Connor Cup

University of Limerick 3-16

UL claim Irish Examiner O’ Connor Cup

Two second-half goals from Aine Tighe eased UL to a second successive O’Connor Cup title this afternoon.

The Leitrim half-forward, set-up by Niamh O’Dea and Caroline McCarthy, puncture the top left corner of Aislin Tarpey’s goal with a superb kick on 37 minutes. The contest’s second goal moved UL 2-10 to 0-6 clear and from there to the finish it was one-way traffic.

DCU’s Sarah Rowe, arguably their strongest final performer, kicked her third point in the subsequent action. It proved but brief respite.

On 41 minutes, Tighe pounced again to all but end the game as a contest. Gathering Niamh O’Dea’s delivery, she turned inside Sinead Green and blasted to the net.

Claire O’Sullivan, Roisin Leonard, Aileen Wall and Niamh O’Dea tallied six unanswered points in the closing stages to complete the rout.

The first-half had proven a much a tighter affair. UL returned to the dressing room 1-9 to 0-7 to the good, Limerick's Roisin Leonard inflicting the majority of damage in front of goal.

The Corofin corner-forward kicked 1-3 in the opening period, clinically dispatching a penalty on 15 minutes after DCU’s Deirdre Murphy picked the ball illegally off the floor inside the square.

Lorraine Scanlon, Caroline McCarthy, Aine Tighe, Aileen Wall and Julia White all contributed in swelling the UL tally, White particularly impressive in a dominant Limerick half-back line.

DCU had started with plenty of intent, but failed to convert a host of early chances. Lindsay Peat and Sarah Rowe both kicked wide, Limerick full-back Laurie Ryan twice getting the better of Peat in the ensuing passages.

Carol Hegarty opened their account, with Lorraine O’Shea, Brid O’Sullivan and Rowe splitting the posts to ensure Limerick never moved out of sight. They were powerless to this regard at the change of ends.

Scorers for UL: R Leonard (1-5, 1-0 pen, 0-3 frees); A Tighe (2-1); N O’Dea (0-3, 0-3 frees); C O’Sullivan A Wall (0-2 each); J White, L Scalon, A Galvin (0-1 each).

Scorers for DCU: S Rowe (0-4); C Hegarty, L O’Shea (0-2 each); B O’Sullivan (0-1 each).

UL: Elaine Murphy (Kerry); S Condon (Tipperary), L Ryan (Clare), B McManus (Cork); J White (Cork), N Richardson (Limerick), C Cooney (Galway); L Scanlon (Kerry), J Grant (Tipperary); A Tighe (Leitrim), N O’Dea (Clare), A Wall (Waterford); C McCarthy (Kerry), A Galvin 9Kerry), R Leonard (Galway).

Subs: C O’Sullivan (Kerry) for McCarthy (40 mins), E Buckley (Tipperary for Cooney (46), A Considine (Clare) for Condon (49), S Everard (Tipperary) for Leonard (50), Edel Murphy (Mayo) for Elaine Murphy (54).

DCU: A Tarpey (Mayo); A Bell (Mayo), S Greene (Cavan), L Caffrey (Dublin); K Murray (Dublin), L Collins (Dublin), D Murphy (Dublin); C McManamon (Mayo), L O’Shea (Tipperary); B O’Sullivan (Cork), S Woods (Dublin), L McEnaney (Monaghan); C Hegarty (Mayo), L Peat (Dublin), S Rowe (Mayo).

Subs: E Rutledge (Dublin) for Hegarty (36), A O’Reilly (Dublin) for McManamon (48), L Fleming (Roscommon) for O’Sullivan (50), G O’Loughlin (Sligo) for Collins (55).

Referee: J Niland (Sligo).

More in this section

CourtsGaaULfootball. dcuPlace: LeitrimPlace: TipperaryPlace: DublinPlace: MonaghanPlace: RoscommonPlace: SligoPerson: Aine TighePerson: Niamh O’DeaPerson: Caroline McCarthyPerson: Aislin TarpeyPerson: Sarah RowePerson: TighePerson: Sinead GreenPerson: Claire O’SullivanPerson: Róisín LeonardPerson: Aileen WallPerson: Deirdre MurphyPerson: Lorraine ScanlonPerson: Julia WhitePerson: WhitePerson: Lindsay PeatPerson: Laurie RyanPerson: PeatPerson: Carol HegartyPerson: Lorraine O’SheaPerson: Bríd O’SullivanPerson: RowePerson: R LeonardPerson: N O’DeaPerson: C O’SullivanPerson: WallPerson: J WhitePerson: L ScalonPerson: A GalvinPerson: S RowePerson: C HegartyPerson: L O’SheaPerson: B O’SullivanPerson: Elaine MurphyPerson: S CondonPerson: L RyanPerson: B McManusPerson: N RichardsonPerson: C CooneyPerson: L ScanlonPerson: J GrantPerson: A TighePerson: A WallPerson: C McCarthyPerson: A Galvin 9KerryPerson: McCarthyPerson: E BuckleyPerson: CooneyPerson: CondonPerson: S EverardPerson: LeonardPerson: Edel MurphyPerson: A BellPerson: S GreenePerson: L CaffreyPerson: K MurrayPerson: L CollinsPerson: D MurphyPerson: C McManamonPerson: S WoodsPerson: L McEnaneyPerson: L PeatPerson: E RutledgePerson: HegartyPerson: A O’ReillyPerson: McManamonPerson: L FlemingPerson: O’SullivanPerson: G O’LoughlinPerson: CollinsPerson: J NilandEvent: Connor CupEvent: O’Connor CupOrganisation: ULOrganisation: IrishOrganisation: University of LimerickOrganisation: Dublin City UniversityOrganisation: LeitrimOrganisation: DCUOrganisation: LimerickOrganisation: CorofinOrganisation: KerryOrganisation: TipperaryOrganisation: ClareOrganisation: CorkOrganisation: GalwayOrganisation: WaterfordOrganisation: Dublin
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Visit our brain gym where you will find simple and cryptic crosswords, sudoku puzzles and much more. Updated at midnight every day. PS ... We would love to hear your feedback on the section right HERE.


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Visit our brain gym where you will find simple and cryptic crosswords, sudoku puzzles and much more. Updated at midnight every day. PS ... We would love to hear your feedback on the section right HERE.