Louth back to winning ways over Clare

Allianz FL Division 3 Round 2: Louth 1-16 Clare 0-13: Yesterday’s surprise but thoroughly deserved Division Three win over Clare at Drogheda was Louth’s first in the league in two years.

Louth back to winning ways over Clare

It came on the back of a brilliant last 20 minutes, when a goal deficit was turned into a six-point lead, Clare failing to add to the score top marksman, David Tubridy, picked off eight minutes after the interval.

And while the visitors struggled up front, unable to find their composure after Gary Brennan was denied a rock-solid claim for a penalty, Louth could do no wrong in the latter stages.

The backs tackled like demons, while nearly every shot at goals was a winner, nine points in a golden period two more than the total for the 70 minutes in the previous week’s defeat away to Fermanagh.

Played in near perfect conditions, the game was keenly contested with an abundance of well-taken scores and outstanding defending. Referee Martin McNally opted against employing the black card until late on, and this might — just might — have contributed to the game being much better than the Division Three normal. That said, the big travelling Clare party didn’t agree with many of the Monaghan official’s decisions.

The visitors turned over one point to the good, a lead they trebled early in the second half. But after that it was all Louth, teenager Ryan Burns bringing his tally to five points, as the Clare forwards time and time again were left frustrated.

Scorers for Louth: R Burns 0-5, A Reid 1-1, C Judge, C Grimes 0-3 each, D Byrne 0-2, D Maguire, S O’Hanlon 0-1 each.

Scorers for Clare: D Tubridy 0-6, S McGrath 0-5, S Hickey 0-2,

LOUTH: N Gallagher; K Toner, P Reilly, P Rath; D Crilly, D Finnegan, D O’Hanlon; B Duffy, E O’Connor; A Reid, D O’Connor, D Byrne; R Burns, C Grimes, C Judge.

Subs: R Moore for E O’Connor; D Maguire for D O’Connor; A Williams for Crilly; J Stewart for O’Hanlon; S O’Hanlon for Reid (black card)..

CLARE: J Hayes; S Collins, D Ryan, M McMahon; C Russell, G Kelly, J Malone; G Brennan, C O’Connor; S Collins, S Hickey, S McGrath; D Tubridy, S Brennan, P Burke.

Subs: P Collins for Russell; K Sexton for O’Connor; C Dunning for S Collins; M O’Leary for Burke; S Haugh for Hickey.

Referee: M McNally (Monaghan).

More in this section

Sport Newsletter

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up