Good Counsel beat Dublin south by two goals

Good Counsel, New Ross 2-12 Dublin South 0-1: Leinster Post Primary Hurling: Good Counsel, New Ross laid the foundation for victory over Dublin South in the opening half of this Leinster Post Primary SHC A quarter-final at Pairc Ui Bhriain, Carlow, courtesy of two goals from Bob Whitty.

Dublin South started strongly and raced 0-6 to 0-2 ahead before Whitty struck for his first goal on 13 minutes. His 26th minute effort put Counsel ahead for the first time as the teams were deadlocked 0-10 to 2-4 at half time, the Dublin side having played with wind advantage. Good Counsel were very strong in defence where captain Donnacha O’Connor at full back, Darragh Joyce, who captained Kilkenny minors to All-Ireland success last year and right half back Ian Carty were particularly effective. Although they shot 14 wides, Good Counsel picked off sufficient points to win with some comfort, with substitute Ciarán O’Connor picking off three pointed frees late in the game while midfielder Thomas O’Connor, Kevin Kelly and Bob Whitty were others to shine.

Scorers for Good Counsel: B Whitty 2-1, D Kelly 0-5, 0-4 frees, C O’Connor 0-3 frees, T O’Connor 0-2, S O’Gorman 0-1.

Scorers for Dublin South: C Hayes, T Fox (0-2 frees) 0-3 each, P Rigney (0-1f), C Bennett (frees) 0-2 each, J Byrne, C Brady (free) 0-1 each.

GOOD COUNSEL: J Dunne; S Bardon, D O’Connor, J Meyler; I Carty, D Joyce, S Ryan; B Quigley, T O’Connor; B Power, A Walsh, S O’Gorman; D Kelly, B Whitty, M Dwyer.

Subs: E Porter for Ryan (h/t); A Mansfield for Meyler (41); C O’Connor for Kelly (49).

Dublin South: D O’Neill; J O’Neill, G Kenny, L Mulroney; L Dowling, C Brady, D Ryan; P Rigney, T Fox; C Hayes, J Byrne, C Bennett; A Considine, M McDwyer, J McVeigh. S

Subs: R Doyle for Kenny (43); A Coffey for Fox (53); D Flannery for Rigney (53); R Leddy for J O’Neill (56).

Referee: D Hickey (Carlow).

More in this section

Sport Newsletter

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up