Ballincollig to face St Finbarr’s in Cork SFC opener

Cork football champions Ballincollig open the defence of their first title with a repeat of their opening fixture in this year’s competition.

Back in May, Ballincollig produced a rejuvenated second-half performance to see off St Finbarr’s, and yesterday’s draw paired the sides together again.

With four of this year’s semi-finalists seeded, many heavyweights were kept apart. Premier Intermediate winners Valley Rovers will have to play the side Ballincollig beat in the senior final, Carbery Rangers, while 2012 and 2013 winners Castlehaven meet Clyda Rovers.

In hurling, Sarsfields begin their quest for back-to-back titles against Newtownshandrum. Sars have won four of the last seven SHCs but each previous defence has fallen short. On two occasions, the 2009 final and 2011 quarter-final, they lost to Newtown.

Glen Rovers, defeated in October’s final, meet Ballymartle, who they beat in the quarter-final this year. Midleton, 2013 champions, have a derby with Killeagh, a repeat of this year’s second-round clash.

SHC first round: A) Douglas v St Finbarr’s, B) Ballyhea v Blackrock, C) Na Piarsaigh v Youghal, D) Midleton v Killeagh, E) Glen Rovers v Ballymartle, F) Carrigtwohill v Erin’s Own, G) Sarsfields v Newtownshandrum, H) Bride Rovers v Bishopstown; Second round: A v B, C v D, E v F, G v H.

SHC (Divisions/Colleges) first round: A) Duhallow v Carbery, B) Muskerry v Carrigdhoun, C) UCC v CIT, D) Imokilly v Avondhu; Second round: A v B, C v D.

SFC first round: A) Carbery Rangers v Valley Rovers, B) Clyda Rovers v Castlehaven, C) Bishopstown v O’Donovan Rossa, D) Newcestown v Clonakilty, E) Nemo Rangers v Ilen Rovers, F) St Nicholas v Douglas, G) Ballincollig v St Finbarr’s, H) Dohenys v Aghada; Second round: A v B, C v D, E v F, G v H.

SFC (Divisions/Colleges) first round: A) Duhallow v Avondhu, B) CIT v Muskerry, C) UCC v Carbery, D) Beara v Seandún; Second round: A v B, C v D.

Premier IHC first round: A) Cloyne v Watergrasshill, B) Mallow v Inniscarra, C) Castlelyons v Kanturk, D) Carrigaline v Ballinhassig, E) Fermoy v Valley Rovers, F) Blarney v Kilworth, G) Courcey Rovers v Bandon, H) Tracton v Newcestown; Second round: C v G, H v F, D v E, B v A.

Premier IHC first round: A) Béal Átha’n Ghaorthaidh v Macroom, B) Ballinora v Mallow, C) Castletownbere v Carrigaline, D) Naomh Abán v Grenagh, E) Bantry Blues v Éire Óg, F) Newmarket v Kiskeam, G) St Vincent’s v Na Piarsaigh, H) Nemo Rangers v St. Michael’s; Second round: H v A, G v E, D v F, C v B.

IHC first round: A) Barryroe v Aghada, B) Ballygarvan v Éire Óg, C) Milford v Fr. O’Neills, D) Dripsey v Meelin, E) Argideen Rangers v Charleville, F) Kildorrery v Castlemartyr, G) Ballincollig v Kilbrittain, H) Grenagh v Aghabullogue; Second round: F v H, B v E, G v A, D v C.

IFC first round: A) Glanworth v Adrigole, B) Mayfield v Glanmire, C) Kildorrery v Kinsale, D) Ballydesmond v Kanturk, E) Aghabullogue v Mitchelstown, F) Millstreet v Glenville, G) Rockchapel v Youghal, H) Cill na Martra v Fermoy; Second round: C v H, A v E, D v F, G v B.

More in this section

CourtsGaaFootballOrganisation: BallincolligOrganisation: St FinbarrOrganisation: CorkOrganisation: Valley RoversOrganisation: Carbery RangersOrganisation: CastlehavenOrganisation: Clyda RoversOrganisation: SarsfieldsOrganisation: NewtownshandrumOrganisation: SarsOrganisation: NewtownOrganisation: Glen RoversOrganisation: BallymartleOrganisation: MidletonOrganisation: KilleaghOrganisation: SHCOrganisation: DouglasOrganisation: St Finbarr’sOrganisation: BallyheaOrganisation: BlackrockOrganisation: Na PiarsaighOrganisation: Youghal, DOrganisation: Ballymartle, FOrganisation: CarrigtwohillOrganisation: Erin’s Own, GOrganisation: Bride RoversOrganisation: BishopstownOrganisation: BOrganisation: COrganisation: DOrganisation: EOrganisation: FOrganisation: GOrganisation: H.Organisation: DuhallowOrganisation: CarberyOrganisation: MuskerryOrganisation: CarrigdhounOrganisation: UCCOrganisation: CIT, DOrganisation: ImokillyOrganisation: AvondhuOrganisation: AOrganisation: B,Organisation: D.Organisation: SFCOrganisation: Castlehaven,Organisation: O’Donovan RossaOrganisation: NewcestownOrganisation: ClonakiltyOrganisation: Nemo RangersOrganisation: Ilen RoversOrganisation: St NicholasOrganisation: Douglas,Organisation: DohenysOrganisation: AghadaOrganisation: CITOrganisation: BearaOrganisation: SeandúnOrganisation: IHCOrganisation: CloyneOrganisation: WatergrasshillOrganisation: MallowOrganisation: InniscarraOrganisation: CastlelyonsOrganisation: Kanturk,Organisation: CarrigalineOrganisation: BallinhassigOrganisation: FermoyOrganisation: BlarneyOrganisation: Kilworth,Organisation: Courcey RoversOrganisation: Bandon,Organisation: TractonOrganisation: HOrganisation: E, BOrganisation: A.Organisation: Beal Atha’n GhaorthaidhOrganisation: Macroom,Organisation: BallinoraOrganisation: CastletownbereOrganisation: Naomh AbanOrganisation: Grenagh,Organisation: Bantry BluesOrganisation: Éire Óg, FOrganisation: NewmarketOrganisation: Kiskeam,Organisation: St Vincent’sOrganisation: St. Michael’sOrganisation: B.Organisation: BarryroeOrganisation: BallygarvanOrganisation: Éire ÓgOrganisation: MilfordOrganisation: Fr. O’NeillsOrganisation: DripseyOrganisation: MeelinOrganisation: Argideen RangersOrganisation: CharlevilleOrganisation: CastlemartyrOrganisation: KilbrittainOrganisation: GrenaghOrganisation: AghabullogueOrganisation: C.Organisation: IFCOrganisation: GlanworthOrganisation: AdrigoleOrganisation: MayfieldOrganisation: Glanmire,Organisation: KildorreryOrganisation: Kinsale,Organisation: BallydesmondOrganisation: MitchelstownOrganisation: MillstreetOrganisation: GlenvilleOrganisation: RockchapelOrganisation: YoughalOrganisation: E, D
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Sport Push Notifications

By clicking on 'Sign Up' you will be the first to know about our latest and best sporting content on this browser.

Sign Up

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Cookie Policy Privacy Policy FAQ Help Contact Us Terms and Conditions

© Irish Examiner Ltd